We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Adventure in Kiliuda Bay!!!!!”

Kodiak Adventures Lodge Fishing Charters
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Kodiak Adventures lodge is a remote fishing and hunting destination.We offer 3-6 day trips to remote Kodiak Island, AlaskaWildlife veiwing includes,Brown bears and whales along with lots of birding to be done. Our hunting oportunities are Blacktail deer,goats and sea ducks.
Anchorage, Alaska, United States
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Adventure in Kiliuda Bay!!!!!”
Reviewed November 27, 2011

The lodge and service was great. It was nice to come back after bear hunting and deer hunting to a nice shower and meal. On those bad weather days { there are plenty of } it is nice to be on the inside of the window looking out. Shelly was great and cooked spectacular meals. Larry had great knowledge of the area and was very reliable on transportation to and from the hunt. Staying at the lodge is the only way to go while visiting Kiliuday Bay. I plan to go back for a deer hunt. It is an adventure in so many ways!!!!!!

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Patrick R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    2
    0
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
544 reviews
101 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
“Outstanding Alaskan Adventure”
Reviewed November 15, 2011

My business partner and I spent a week with the Carroll family fishing and enjoying the Kodiak scenery. We saw whales and bears.We caught tons of fish --- every kind of salmon and some nice halibut. The Carrolls are a great family and will take care of you very well.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank George Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Destination for an Unguided Sitka Blacktail Hunt”
Reviewed November 14, 2011

Four of us stayed at the lodge for a week hunting sitka blacktails. Service, accomodations, food, and daily drop-off & pick-up, were top notch. We had the entire bay to ourselves, saw many deer and we all had success. If you are looking for larger bucks, be prepared to hunt hard and be persistant before the snow has them pushed lower. We took a day to fish as well and added some halibut and to take home. Bears, seals, river otters, deer, sea lions, whales, fox, mountain goats, and an amazing amount of watefowl call the bay home. Nice set-up for prepping meat for the trip home as well. Coming back to a hot shower and great meal after a long day out in often wet weather was sure nice.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
4 Thank Don W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing Fishing Experience on Kiluda Bay”
Reviewed October 12, 2011

This was my third trip to Kodiak Alaska with my fishing buddy - but our first to Kiluda Bay. On our other trips we fished on charters out of the town of Kodiak and Road Zone river fishing - we were looking a more "authentic" Kodiak experience for our next trip. It began with an incrededible float plane flight to Kiluda Bay where we had a birds eye view of the beauty and majesty of the "Emerald Island" of Kodiak. Upon landing (smoothest take off and landing ever experienced in flight!) we were greeted by all members of the Carrol family including their 3 dogs. We were lucky enough to have the lodge to ourselves for the next 4 nights. We were able to do everything we had hoped for - achieved our limits for Halibut in the morning and trolled for pinks & silvers in the bay during the afternoon. While waiting for dinner we surf fished right off their beach. The major advantage of Kiluda Bay is that after setting out in the boat from the dock, you are literally fishing (and catching) within 15 min - 30-40lb halibut, Black Bass (rock fish) and Pacific Cod - all keepers and excellent eating. I would say the highlight of the trip was our last morning which we devoted to river fishing (Lonesome River) which we boated to, 15 min off the Lodge's dock. A 45 min walk through high brush to a bend in the river perfect for the beginner fly fisherman. We caught Pink Salmon and Dolly Varden until our arms were exhausted. A perfect end to a wonderful vacation experience.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank David K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coleman, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great adventure at a resonable price”
Reviewed September 30, 2011

Only lodge on Kiliuda Bay, well managed, neat and clean with excellent food. Larry knew the bay well and would put us on the type fish we were after. I caught pinks, silvers, cod, pollock and halibut. I wanted to catch more silvers, but I came too early. As an extra, Larry brought us to an area teaming with 5 and 6 pound black sea bass. We filled our limit of 5 fish in less than a half hour - great fun. I returned home with two 50 pound boxes of presure sealed fillets.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
3 Thank Bill S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kodiak Adventures Lodge Fishing Charters also viewed

 

Been to Kodiak Adventures Lodge Fishing Charters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing