We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Zachar Bay Lodge
Nearby Hotels
Comfort Inn Kodiak(Kodiak Island)
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Kodiak Inn And Convention Center(Kodiak Island)(Great Value!)
$136
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Shelikof Lodge(Kodiak Island)(Great Value!)
$90
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (37)
Filter reviews
37 results
Traveler rating
34
3
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
34
3
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbear watchinghalibutgreat hostsocean fishinggreat guidefishing tripeatonlindabearswhaleszacharyaccommodationslodgealaskaland
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
27 - 32 of 37 reviews
Reviewed September 9, 2013

The trip to Zachar Bay was amazing from beginning to end! The float planes we took to and from there were flown by two great pilots from Kingfisher Air and the scenery from the planes was spectacular! Zachar Bay itself has very majestic views, and we were very lucky to have a weeks worth of gorgeous weather. We loved the remoteness of the lodge because it also had the amenities of a nice hotel. The people who work there are wonderful - from the guides to the official photographer Linda. :-) The Eaton's are very gracious hosts. The food was fantastic, the wildlife plenty, and the fishing was very profitable! Both my husband and son caught halibut and the process by which the employees clean and package your catch for you is so streamlined and efficient! Thank you for making this week so memorable! Diane Z

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diane Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2013

Wow! What an adventure! The Halibut fishing at Zachar Bay Lodge waters was incredible. Our guide, Andy, found several hot spots for our fishing pleasure. Nothing like hooking a fish that bends the rod to its max and agressively fights as it is reeled to the surface. This kind of fishing leaves me wanting more and yes I will return to enjoy the Lodge again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mark p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2013

My husband and I stayed for nearly two weeks at Zachar Bay Lodge in July/August of 2012 and couldn't be happier with our whole trip. We started with an exciting float plane ride around the island (instead of overland) because of the land fog. We saw bears before we even touched down at the Lodge! While there, my husband hiked up the Zachar River, getting to see his first Kodiak bear up close. Both he and the bear caught some fish. We also went ocean fishing several times. One day the whales decided to give us show--three different kinds of them near the boat breaching!! One breached only 30 feet away! We also went wildlife viewing and saw seals, sea otters, bald eagles, puffins, and many other birds. And we picked up a load of beach glass, which is now a memento of our trip in my kitchen window with the sun shining through it. The service was excellent, the food was fantastic, and we made great memories. It was so nice to be in a family friendly place too! I had a great time talking with Linda and Andy and their two children, all of whom are very knowledgeable about the local flora, fauna, rocks, and shells. It was the trip of a lifetime!

Room Tip: The room was great, but we really didn't spend much time in it!!!
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sarah A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013

My husband and I topped off our latest of many trips to Alaska with a 3 day stay at Zachar Bay Lodge. It was the experience of a life time. Wonderful vistas of scenery and wild life from the float planes, many sightings of otters, eagles, deer, bear, seals and an exciting day of salmon fishing with a mother bear and her cub at close range, (at least until a huge male bear chased after them).
Zachar Bay Lodge was created from a Cannery built in the 1920's. The ingenuity and energy it has taken to create this special place gives cause for admiration of the entire Eaton family and their many talents.
John and Bonnie Crouch,

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bonnie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We took a family vacation to Zachar Bay Lodge. Had an amazing float plane ride to get there seeing mountain goats, deer and bears from afar. Went hiking with Andy while my husband and father were down the river catching salmon. He pointed out arnica flowers and other local flora as we walked. He took us to a beautiful spot with a gorgeous waterfall and then out comes a mother bear that started catching fish for her cub . Seeing the beautiful and HUGE bears in their natural setting was such a special experience. The next day we went out halibut fishing with Marty and my father pulled in a HUGE halibut that was nearly as tall as he was. While out there we saw puffins, sea lions, otters AND a pod of orcas feeding. One orca came up very close to the boat and checked us out. It was literally a foot away from us. It made eye contact with us. AMAZING. Back at the lodge our rooms were always kept very tidy. The food was amazing a lot of which is home grown or fresh caught. Every night you sit down for a family dinner and you really get to know the Eaton family. Just an overall great experience that I will never forget.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dorianne E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews