We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Whales, Seals, and Bears. . .oh my!!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Zachar Bay Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kodiak Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Zachar Bay Lodge
Alma, Michigan
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Whales, Seals, and Bears. . .oh my!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2013

My husband and I stayed for nearly two weeks at Zachar Bay Lodge in July/August of 2012 and couldn't be happier with our whole trip. We started with an exciting float plane ride around the island (instead of overland) because of the land fog. We saw bears before we even touched down at the Lodge! While there, my husband hiked up the Zachar River, getting to see his first Kodiak bear up close. Both he and the bear caught some fish. We also went ocean fishing several times. One day the whales decided to give us show--three different kinds of them near the boat breaching!! One breached only 30 feet away! We also went wildlife viewing and saw seals, sea otters, bald eagles, puffins, and many other birds. And we picked up a load of beach glass, which is now a memento of our trip in my kitchen window with the sun shining through it. The service was excellent, the food was fantastic, and we made great memories. It was so nice to be in a family friendly place too! I had a great time talking with Linda and Andy and their two children, all of whom are very knowledgeable about the local flora, fauna, rocks, and shells. It was the trip of a lifetime!

Room Tip: The room was great, but we really didn't spend much time in it!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
9
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Edina, Minnesota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013

My husband and I topped off our latest of many trips to Alaska with a 3 day stay at Zachar Bay Lodge. It was the experience of a life time. Wonderful vistas of scenery and wild life from the float planes, many sightings of otters, eagles, deer, bear, seals and an exciting day of salmon fishing with a mother bear and her cub at close range, (at least until a huge male bear chased after them).
Zachar Bay Lodge was created from a Cannery built in the 1920's. The ingenuity and energy it has taken to create this special place gives cause for admiration of the entire Eaton family and their many talents.
John and Bonnie Crouch,

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bonnie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

We took a family vacation to Zachar Bay Lodge. Had an amazing float plane ride to get there seeing mountain goats, deer and bears from afar. Went hiking with Andy while my husband and father were down the river catching salmon. He pointed out arnica flowers and other local flora as we walked. He took us to a beautiful spot with a gorgeous waterfall and then out comes a mother bear that started catching fish for her cub . Seeing the beautiful and HUGE bears in their natural setting was such a special experience. The next day we went out halibut fishing with Marty and my father pulled in a HUGE halibut that was nearly as tall as he was. While out there we saw puffins, sea lions, otters AND a pod of orcas feeding. One orca came up very close to the boat and checked us out. It was literally a foot away from us. It made eye contact with us. AMAZING. Back at the lodge our rooms were always kept very tidy. The food was amazing a lot of which is home grown or fresh caught. Every night you sit down for a family dinner and you really get to know the Eaton family. Just an overall great experience that I will never forget.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dorianne E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longmont, Colorado, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

my parents and i spent about a week with the Eaton family. we got our limits of halibut and silver salmon each day. we also got to see fin whales, puffin, seals, otters and a few energetic Kodiak bears playing in the river. and as a side bonus all you can eat raspberries. the cabins are nice but we didnt spend much time in them.The history of the cannery is very interesting, especially the resident bears.Marti and Lindsay are great hosts as are Linda and Andy. We left with them being family, i think that says it all. As for the food,its five star all the way and i daught anyone could find better anywhere.If you are looking for an experience that will keep you wanting to return, Zachar Bay Lodge is the place to go. Eric Dirks

Room Tip: date not correct, and pool cold.lol but the rooms on top of the hill are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eric D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annecy, France
Level Contributor
130 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

Charming host family; best chef of the entire vacation; quaint lodging; excellent fishing; bear viewing best done when salmon run; float plane transfer with Kingfisher gives an opportunity to see gorgeous scenery and some wild life.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lorraine2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolfenbüttel
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

I spent 3 days at this lodge of Kodiak Island. It was an old cannery build up by Lindsay and Marti.
Though the wether was a little instabile a good "program" was offered. Halibut-fishing, hiking , bear watching. the whole family is anxious around one without press to want. The rooms are pleasant, the meal very rich and alternating. I only can recommend a visit at this nice place.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wolf B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013

My son and I spent a great five days a Zachar Bay Lodge with the Eaton family. We limited out on halibut and silver salmon each day. We spent two days hiking up the Zachar River for salmon fishing, which was tremendous. They flew us out to Geographic Harbor at Katmai National Park and had unbelievable bear encounters. The family took great care of us. The food was often home-grown and each meal was spectacular. The old cannery was a fascinating property that the Eatons have turned into a wonderful lodge. My son, who is 20, said this was the best trip he has ever been on. We also saw wildlife ranging from whales to bald eagles to sea otters and two types of puffins. This is a great place and we would not hesitate to return.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kodiak Island hotels
52.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Kodiak Inn and Convention Center
47.7 mi away
Comfort Inn Kodiak
Comfort Inn Kodiak
#4 of 5 in Kodiak Island
3.5 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
53.4 mi away
Cranky Crow Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zachar Bay Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zachar Bay Lodge

Property: Zachar Bay Lodge
Address: Kodiak Island, AK 99615-2609
Location: United States > Alaska > Kodiak Island
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 20 Specialty Lodging in Kodiak Island
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Zachar Bay Lodge our guests enjoy the remote wilderness of Alaska's Kodiak Island while relaxing in accommodations that are both welcoming and comfortable. Our lodge offers a variety of different options for daily excursions ranging from sport fishing trips on both fresh and saltwater, to other outdoor activities such as wildlife viewing, sea kayaking, and hiking. We would love nothing more than to show you a Bear, help you catch a Halibut, and share with you for a short while the pleasure that is life on the Kodiak Island. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing