We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good place with good staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Best Western Kodiak Inn And Convention Center
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Kodiak Island
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
113 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“A good place with good staff”
Reviewed November 1, 2009

My wife and I stayed here two times recently and have stayed here on previous occasions when we go to Kodiak Island. The rooms are good but the staff were excellent and it is in a very good location. The complimentary breakfasts are very good. We shall continue to stay here when we visit Kodiak in the future.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DIKTHAI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    80
    65
    24
    2
See reviews for
38
48
21
85
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
St. Peters, MO
Level Contributor
40 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2009

Upon check-in the person ahead of us was having trouble with a confirmed reservation not being in their computer. Our room was on the third floor and the elevator only went to the second floor--not so bad if you don't have heavy luggage, but we did. The room was less than clean. When I was looking for an electrical outlet to plug in a battery recharger I noticed an old apple behind the TV console. I would have to rate the room shabby at best. The topper was when they gave someone else a keycard to our room and a man walked into our room at about 10:30 at night. Fortunately, he was another guest who was as embarrassed as I was alarmed. I now know why there's a security lock on those doors. Apparently they had checked us out of the hotel that day in their computer. The breakfast was so-so. Their internet site states that they have a "harbor view"--what it doesn't say is that that view is partially obstructed by the rooftop of a building between the hotel and the harbor. Of course, when you're one of only two hotels in town I guess you don't have to try too hard.

Our primary reason for staying here was that we had an extra day in Kodiak and wanted to explore the town without having to rent a car. If we had it to do over again we'd probably stay at the Comfort Inn at the airport and take the shuttle to town, or rent a car.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EagleGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR
Level Contributor
51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2009

This is said to be the "best in town", but it leaves a lot to be desired. I got a room on the third floor of the "new" wing, but they didn't say when it was new. The 80's by my guess. The disappointment started when I discovered that the elevator only went to the second floor. I then had to go down several stairs, up several stairs, down a short hallway, and then up a long flight of stairs to a long hallway to my room...all while dragging luggage.
Upon entering, I found that the room had only been given a cursory once over by the maid service. The bathroom was filthy and unsanitary...new towels, so I knew the maid had been in, but the tub, sink, and toilet had obviously not been touched by the maid. The "Murphy" bed was another surprise.
After spending some time in the area, I found out that the "K I", as they call it, doesn't have a good reputation among the locals, especially for the restaurant.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heywoodya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kotzebue, Alaska
1 review
Reviewed March 24, 2009

I was very impressed at everything the Kodiak Inn had to offer. The restaurant served excellent food. The amenities in the room as well as available to guests were great compared to other similarly priced hotels I've stayed at in Alaska. There was a power outage during the night, and my alarm clock had battery back up! I didn't over-sleep as many of my colleagues did. The breakfast room has an outstanding view, hot gravy and biscuits, and great coffee!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hullady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2009

Spent one night in Kodiak and booked this hotel through Costco travel.

The shuttle picked us up from the airport and even though we arrived before check-in, the front desk allowed us to check in early. It probably helped that it is off season.

The room was on the second floor, and was clean with new-looking carpet. The bed was so comfortable! The breakfast buffet was so-so - I enjoyed the toast and orange juice more than the eggs and breakfast meat.

We didn't eat at the restaurant for dinner - it was Valentine's day and they were booked. But other restaurants are in easy walking distance.

We did enjoy the hot tub, located outside in a enclosed gazebo and made use of the business center to check in for our return flight and print boarding passes.

I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AkFishinQueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aliso Viejo, California
Level Contributor
208 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2008

A very convenient place to stay, right in town. I also liked the restaurant but dinner there is expensive. Free internet access and free breakfast make this an OK deal. It is expensive for what you get by mainland standards but the costs of doing business in Kodiak are high. The staff is very friendly. You do hear some noise from adjacent rooms. Very clean. Very good van service to and from the airport.

  • Liked — Internet access, room well supplied
  • Disliked — noise, but not bad
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank JLDCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta Georgia
Level Contributor
322 reviews
119 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 625 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2007

We spent a night here on our way to the Afognak Wilderness Lodge.

The van from the airport to the motel is very prompt. Just call when you get off your plane and they will be there in 10 minutes. The Van only carries 7 people, though, and in prime season you might be among a larger group of guests trying to get to the lodge. So, you might have to wait for a second trip. A suggestion for those of you who check luggage, why don’t you be courteous and let those people who don’t check luggage go first and not have to sit around and wait for your luggage to be unloaded from the plane. Or better yet, learn not to over pack and carry on your own luggage. Travel is much more fun when you pack light. Rule to live by: if it doesn’t fit in a single carryon, you really don’t need it.

The included breakfast is great.

At night the place is so quiet, it is almost eerie. There is no HVAC running in the summer like we lower 48ers are used to and the walls are so thick you can’t hear anything from the room next door.

The motel is ideally located in Kodiak. There really is no place else to stay.

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kerwin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kodiak Island hotels
4.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Kodiak
Comfort Inn Kodiak
#4 of 5 in Kodiak Island
53 reviews
0.2 mi away
Shelikof Lodge
Shelikof Lodge
#5 of 5 in Kodiak Island
27 reviews
1.4 mi away
Cranky Crow Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Kodiak Inn And Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Kodiak Inn And Convention Center

Property: Best Western Kodiak Inn And Convention Center
Address: 236 W Rezanof Drive, Kodiak Island, AK 99615-6044 (Formerly BEST WESTERN Kodiak Inn and Convention Center)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alaska > Kodiak Island
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Kodiak Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Kodiak Inn And Convention Center 3*
Number of rooms: 81
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Best Western, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Kodiak Inn And Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Kodiak Island
Kodiak Island Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing