We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good hotel, convienient and friendly.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Kodiak Inn And Convention Center
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Kodiak Island
Little Rock, Arkansas
Level Contributor
148 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Very good hotel, convienient and friendly.”
Reviewed June 8, 2012

Very good hotel, convenient and friendly. Come on snobs, this is not NYC, the hotel was clean, comfortable, friendly. Kodiak is a working island not really a tourist trap - thank goodness. The restaurant was excellent the night I was there, I was quite surprised, I was expecting a good meal, but got a great one. You could walk to virtually the whole town, they had a free shuttle to the Ferry Terminal and/or the airport.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    77
    64
    23
    2
See reviews for
37
46
21
77
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
69 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2012

Excellent service for Kodiak. Nice and simple complimentary breakfast overlooking the harbor. Rooms are adequate. "it aint the Ritz"

Room Tip: ask for the haunted room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bearscat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
102 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2012

Maybe it's because I look forward to annual business trips to Alaska's Emerald Isle, but I always find this hotel to be very welcoming and comfortable. Great front desk staff. It's Kodiak's best for comfort, convenience and reliable wi-fi everywhere on the premises. It's also conveniently located to much of the business I need to tend to, All the rooms have thermostats that allow the occupant to choose how hot or cold they want to be, plus all those amenities that I never take for granted: coffee and tea pot, microwave, hair dryer, refrigerator, radio alarm clock and cable TV. All these make for a cozier stay when it rains in Kodiak, and folks, it rains a LOT. The hotel's restaurant has a good menu and also serves a complimentary buffet breakfast on the second floor, a great networking area overlooking Kodiak's beautiful harbor with fishing boats, and our incredible eagles flying overhead.

Room Tip: If you have a lot of luggage, ask for a room where you won't have to do a lot of hauling down lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hookedonBristolBay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valdez, Alaska
Level Contributor
210 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2012

I stayed at the Best Western Kodiak Inn, during a business trip. I enjoyed the welcoming Alaskan decor of the lobby. Staff was friendly and efficient. The rooms were clean and in good condition, but the bathrooms are uncomfortably small.

Parking is horrible. I visited during the off-season and found that parking near the hotel to be a rare commodity; I would dread staying here during tourist season.

I would also strongly recommend that if you stay here, that you should request a room away from the hot tub... I had a few nights with zero rest.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AmericanOdyssey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
1 review
Reviewed March 3, 2012

We stayed here for two nights and both nights the noise was really awful. We complained every half hour (until 4 am) to the attendant and nothing was done. The walls seem paper thin and the staff seem totally unconcerned about loud guests. If you want to party without limitations, this may be your place. If you want to sleep, book elsewhere.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2012

Only stayed one night before leaving Kodiak after a trip to visit family on Afognak Island. What we liked most was that we could walk right accross the street and down to the harbor area, and then walk the harbor area to the shops & restaraunts. Rooms were definitely clean & well kept for a hotel in this price point. Breakfast in the am was perfect for us...
I would stay there again for sure if we ever need another room in Kodiak. Also...really liked the wildlife in the lobby area...great theme for the area.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RespectIsEarned
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2012

I have stayed at this hotel many times over the past 10 years, mainly as a stopover for a fishing or hunting trip. The staff is excellent. The entire hotel is in the need of a makeover. It is showing its age. The restaurant was once one of the best in town, but now is only fair.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank njbearhunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Best Western Kodiak Inn And Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Kodiak Inn And Convention Center

Property: Best Western Kodiak Inn And Convention Center
Address: 236 W Rezanof Drive, Kodiak Island, AK 99615-6044 (Formerly BEST WESTERN Kodiak Inn and Convention Center)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alaska > Kodiak Island
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Kodiak Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Kodiak Inn And Convention Center 3*
Number of rooms: 81
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Best Western, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Priceline, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Kodiak Inn And Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Kodiak Island
Kodiak Island Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing