We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best places to dine with a view.”

Kodiak Hana Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Formerly served as Old Powerhouse Restaurant, now we serve seafood, Sushi and other Japanese dishes, and stakes. We are locating on water. Come and enjoy our dishes and view.
Reviewed August 23, 2015

Japanese style food with an American twist. Good food at a slightly elevated prices; lunch is cheaper. Prompt service with a great view; if you are there on a sunny day, enjoy it by sitting outside overlooking the shipping channel. Walkable to from most places near the harbor.

Date of visit: July 2015
Thank Ken P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldPowerhouseKodiak, Director of Sales at Kodiak Hana Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2018

Thanks a lot for your great review of our restaurant. May I post your review on our website?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (206)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

92 - 96 of 206 reviews

Reviewed August 16, 2015

I really can't speak for the food but the service was horrendous! We were seated right away and then totally forgotten about. We were never acknowledged even though wait staff walked by us a dozen times. We waited 20 minutes and no one even said "we'll be right with you"....Left and went somewhere else. I heard the food is good but we were not given the opportunity to try it...we did have a menu and it looked a bit pricey!

Date of visit: July 2015
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Pakrugg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2015

Make sure you book - this place is very popular! Was here for dinner as part of a group booking. Good variety of meals to choose form, and I really appreciated the picture menus to help explain what each meal was.

Date of visit: August 2015
Thank mlgAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldPowerhouseKodiak, Director of Sales at Kodiak Hana Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2018

Thanks a lot for your great review of our restaurant. May I post your review on our website?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2015 via mobile

Filet mignon excellent. All vegetables fresh and cooked well. Sushi was also excellent. Fried fish was tasty and not greasy.
Food came out at different times so that was not ideal.

Date of visit: August 2015
Thank DaveNranford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2015

Last year we were in Kodiak waiting to go out to Katmai for a stay on Kittywake photographing bears. That's when we discovered this magic eatery right on the harbour.
Joon and the team welcomed us back again as our team of picsters had been dreaming of the Alaskan crab for 12 months.
The menu is extensive and a combination of Asian and seafood dishes. I'm missing the place as I write.

Date of visit: July 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank jake69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldPowerhouseKodiak, Director of Sales at Kodiak Hana Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2018

Thanks a lot for your great review of our restaurant. May I post your review on our website?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kodiak Hana Restaurant also viewed

 
Kodiak, Kodiak Island
 

Been to Kodiak Hana Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing