We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Historic feel in the Gilmore, old.”
Review of Gilmore Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Gilmore Hotel
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in Ketchikan
Reviewed August 16, 2007

Stayed at the Gilmore on the way to Wrangell Is. for a few days. Stairs, stairs, stairs & lot’s of em’. If you have luggage I hope your in shape no bell hop here. The lack of an elevator is a factor. Front desk was just ok, not very friendly, un-Alaskan in my opinion. Not bad, but not very helpful compared to other hotels. Rick the van driver was the exception.

Rooms are really small and baths are dated. Noise can be factor especially when the Totem Bar lets out in the wee hours of the morning. You can’t close the window with the lack of ac. There are better places in Ketchikan to spend the night.
You get what you pay for.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank JerseyJohnnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (170)
There are newer reviews for Gilmore Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

156 - 162 of 170 reviews

Reviewed January 6, 2007

Family run. Friendly staff. The shuttle driver is one of the owners.
Very clean. They vacuumed and dusted every day while we were there--even the banisters and pictures.
We were the only hotel guests who ate breakfast. (Most didn't get up before 9 a.m.) But the hotel spread out the whole deal every day--different cereals, bagels, yogurt, cream cheese, muffins, tarts, butter, juices and coffee every day. They served it at Annabelle's which is the restaurant attached to the hotel.
No bathtub. Just a shower. Rooms were small. New bedspreads.
The heater knob was stuck; they fixed it. The sink clogged up;they fixed it. They offered to move us to another room.
On the first stairway landing, they offered free computer and internet access.
No elevator. No bell hop to carry your bags. The rooms are on the 2nd and 3rd floors.
Inspite of the noisy radiator and water heater, we enjoyed our stay. Found it so charming and quaint. The place reminded us of European hostels.
Best of all, they gave us two nights free for staying the whole week.

  • Stayed: December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank spiritwheels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2006

I travel to Ketchikan all the time. This is where I stay. It has the most convenient location. Yes, the rooms are small and, yes, no elevator is an issue. Cannot deny that. But, it is the right room at the right price.

Those that do not like the Gilmore have not had the experience of staying somewhere else in Ketchikan. Other locations are either in an inconvenient location, are overpriced even more, or are not as well kept.

  • Stayed: October 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank wlidster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2006

Very disappointing stay. We reserved for 3 nights at a 'special winter rate' advertised on their website, which they say they would not honor as the website was being changed the next day (it never was). We did get a discounted rate but were put in what I'm sure was the smallest room possible. Hard to get to the other side of the bed even! Ran out of hot water, lousy bed & pillows, people drunk and yelling in the hall all night. Don't stay here if you expect any rest or comfort!

  • Stayed: December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank blueeyes1001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Belmont, NH
47
Reviewed September 22, 2005

The Gilmore is a beautiful OLD hotel right in downtown Ketchikan. The Gilmore offers a shuttle van and is home to Annabell's Restaurant (beautiful atmosphere & great food), but the hotel itself has small rooms, best to upgrade and go for the view, or you will be looking at the wall of the building next door. Hotel staff very friendly and accommodating.

1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
13
Reviewed August 24, 2004

Stayed a Sunday night and a Saturday night 1 week later in August 2004. Both nights, there was constant LOUD music and shouting/screaming until 3 am from the Totem & Sourdough Bars just below and on the corners. The rooms are fine, the location is perfect, and Annabelle's Restaurant and the shuttle service are great, but with the noise you won't get a good night's sleep. Definitely not worth $150 a night.

  • Stayed: August 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Cumberland, MD
15
Reviewed December 7, 2003

Rooms were very small but where clean and well taken care of. I can't say that for many places I visited in Alaska. The owner and ladies at the desk were most helpful. No elevator and a second story room with 7 weeks of luggage was a challenge. But we had help and didn't even have to ask. Most helpful with directions making reservations etc. Resturant I felt was expensive but what wasn't in Alaska. The breakfast was a nice addition. All in all I would stay again and consider the visit very positive.

5  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ketchikan hotels
0.3 mi away
Inn at Creek Street
Inn at Creek Street
#1 of 10 in Ketchikan
339 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Landing Hotel
The Landing Hotel
#2 of 10 in Ketchikan
378 reviews
3.4 mi away
Rodeway Inn Edgewater
Rodeway Inn Edgewater
#6 of 10 in Ketchikan
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Cape Fox Lodge
Cape Fox Lodge
#4 of 10 in Ketchikan
259 reviews
2.0 mi away
My Place Hotel-Ketchikan, AK
1.0 mi away
Super 8 Ketchikan
Super 8 Ketchikan
#9 of 10 in Ketchikan
235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gilmore Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gilmore Hotel

Address: 326 Front St, Ketchikan, AK 99901-6418
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alaska > Ketchikan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in Ketchikan
Price Range: $94 - $148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Gilmore Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A deluxe property with Alaskan charm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your Gilmore Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gilmore Hotel Ketchikan, Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing