We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay anywhere else!”
Review of Super 8 Ketchikan

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Super 8 Ketchikan
Ranked #9 of 10 Hotels in Ketchikan
Reviewed September 6, 2007

My family stayed in Room 402 and the cleaning person, or someone with access to the room, took a brand new jacket off the sofa on September 1, 2007. The manager Kerry Anderson was not available on that day, but when reached by phone, he said no lost items were entered into the lost and found, so we are out of luck. He probably treats the staff as poorly as the customers. Your room is NOT secure at the Super 8. Don't leave anything of value in the room.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SnowyUsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (237)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

226 - 232 of 237 reviews

Reviewed August 24, 2007

Management was flawless, room was flawless, great DSL speed, and the corner room over the water was worth the extra $$.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank TraveLand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2007

Alaska Airline placed me there after my flight to Wrangel got cancelled because of the weather conditions.

Pros:
Check-in was smooth.
safe with the key in the room
breakfast is included (but it was very simple - cerial, oatmil, coffe)

Cons:
Carpet in the room was sticky
Stains on the walls
Bathroom had hair in the tub (so i didn't shower)

I cannot comment on the price since i didn't have to pay for it.

bottom line - i would not stay there if i'd have to pay for it out of my own pocket.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aleksandrc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2007

Absolutely horrible. DO NOT STAY HERE. I have never been more mistreated by a service person than I was by Kerry Anderson (manager). I requested my pet deposit of $10 back because the room was not clean, trash was not taken out, non-smoking room smelled of strong smoke as the night went on and in the end he did not refund my deposit but added $40 to my bill when it showed up on my credit card. I have my receipt documenting the difference. I felt so sorry for the desk person when this manager got in my face and chewed me out telling me things he said he told me when he had not, everything he said was a complete lie. I had been very friendly about it but decided to say something because it was the third time we had stayed there since Christmas and every time it was terrible. We have regularly stayed at this hotel for 10 years but will not again. I lost my temper with Kerry, a first for me in 40 years of consuming products and services.

  • Stayed: March 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank SEAlaska104Alaska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2006

Most horrible experience I have ever had arrived at the airport called the hotel and the front desk person told me the hotel shuttel was free and they would be to the airport to pick me up..I had never been to Ketchikan before and had no idea that I was on a different island (gravina) waited one hour in the rain with two kids called the hotel back and they where very rude about telling me how to get to Ketchikan. Caught the ferry and waited another hour in the rain and wind just to be picked up by a rude drver. checked in hairs in the tub, urine on the toilet and could clearly tell the floor hadnt been cleaned in the bathroom. had to wait another hour for room to be remade because there where no other rooms available. many drunks and very loud fights and what not from the bar next door and kids screaming in the parking lot from 11pm till 2am. and to top it all off we all got bed bugs in all of our belongs and they only offered to wash our clothings and accused us of bringing the bed bugs. I will NEVER stay in this hotel again.

  • Stayed: July 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank trevorjoseph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2006

We have never had a problem with any Super 8 hotels we have stayed in, so we booked this one for our trip to Alaska.

We got off the airport ferry and called the front desk for the free shuttle and waited about 10 minutes for it to arrive. There was construction on Tongass Avenue so the trip back to the hotel was a little rough.

The hotel is about one mile from the cruise ships and shopping but it was an easy walk to downtown.

We used the free shuttle three times and each time had a different driver that was on-time, friendly, and talkative. We asked one of them where a good place to eat was and she suggested Annabelle's. It turned out to be a nice restaurant that serves great jumbo king crab legs.

Take note however, that this hotel is located on the water which is right on the air taxi "runway" for the air taxi floatplanes.

It did seem to be in a "fix up" mode but we can't complain about the conditions for only staying one night.

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IA_Hawks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2006

Over-priced, very noisy, no amenities

  • Stayed: August 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank morganlefey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ketchikan hotels
0.9 mi away
The Landing Hotel
The Landing Hotel
#2 of 10 in Ketchikan
382 reviews
1.3 mi away
Inn at Creek Street
Inn at Creek Street
#1 of 10 in Ketchikan
347 reviews
1 mi away
My Place Hotel-Ketchikan, AK
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Rodeway Inn Edgewater
Rodeway Inn Edgewater
#6 of 10 in Ketchikan
113 reviews
1 mi away
Gilmore Hotel
Gilmore Hotel
#8 of 10 in Ketchikan
173 reviews
1.3 mi away
Cape Fox Lodge
Cape Fox Lodge
#5 of 10 in Ketchikan
265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Ketchikan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Ketchikan

Address: 2151 Sea Level Dr, Tongass Development Center W, Ketchikan, AK 99901-6000
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alaska > Ketchikan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 10 Hotels in Ketchikan
Price Range: $112 - $170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Ketchikan 2*
Number of rooms: 82
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Super 8 Ketchikan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super Eight Ketchikan
Ketchikan Super 8
Ketchikan Super Eight
Super 8 Ketchikan Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing