We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well, it had a bed”
Review of Super 8 Ketchikan

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Super 8 Ketchikan
Ranked #9 of 10 Hotels in Ketchikan
Reviewed August 16, 2006

Over-priced, very noisy, no amenities

  • Stayed: August 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank morganlefey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (237)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

232 - 237 of 237 reviews

Reviewed February 17, 2006

From the few Super 8's I have stayed at in the past, this one seemed to be about on par with the rest, which for me is barely ok.

Here are my opinions:

Pros:
- Now has high speed Internet access which worked fine for me.
- Has more free TV and Movie channels than you can shake a stick at.
- Centrally located near Ketchikan's only shopping mall.
- Room furnishings, although somewhat Spartan feeling, where fairly new and in good condition.
- The room I had seemed reasonably clean and well kept.

Cons:
- Like several other Super 8s I have stayed at, the place has just a very slightly run down / uncared for feel - probably mainly due to the ugly, slightly soiled gray carpets and the lackluster front desk staff.
- The showerhead in my room was awful - it did little more than dribble out.
- As with all hotels in Ketchikan, it is overpriced compared to most U.S. hotels in the same class.

  • Stayed: February 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NV_guy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2005

We stayed at the Super 8 Motel in Ketchikan, Alaska on two separate nights. Both times we encountered unfriendly and unsmiling staff people at the front desk, who clearly hate their jobs and/or have not been trained in customer service. They did not make eye contact or greet us upon arrival. They just continued to work at the computer, and after 30 seconds or so they uttered "Need to check in?" They even criticized one another in front of us. The morale in that hotel must be at rock bottom. In addition, we called for their complimentary shuttle service and had to call back three more times, and wait a total of 45 minutes for the shuttle to pick us up at a location that was 5 minutes away from the hotel. This was at 8:00 at night and the hotel did not appear to be busy at all. The front desk staff did not know where the driver was. No one offered any explanation about the delay. The shuttle driver didn't utter a single word to us --- not one! We noticed a beer bottle in the little trash can he kept beside the driver's seat. Maybe that explains what took him so long to get there. And when we arrived at the hotel he was irritable towards the front desk staff. Our room was okay for economy lodging. It was good-sized, fairly clean, and very plainly furnished. But we would never stay here again because of the poor staff morale.

  • Stayed: July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NLFLWR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Daniele G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ambient02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013 via mobile
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PEPA_BRASIL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ketchikan hotels
0.9 mi away
The Landing Hotel
The Landing Hotel
#2 of 10 in Ketchikan
382 reviews
1.3 mi away
Inn at Creek Street
Inn at Creek Street
#1 of 10 in Ketchikan
347 reviews
1 mi away
My Place Hotel-Ketchikan, AK
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Rodeway Inn Edgewater
Rodeway Inn Edgewater
#6 of 10 in Ketchikan
113 reviews
1 mi away
Gilmore Hotel
Gilmore Hotel
#8 of 10 in Ketchikan
173 reviews
1.3 mi away
Cape Fox Lodge
Cape Fox Lodge
#4 of 10 in Ketchikan
265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Ketchikan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Ketchikan

Address: 2151 Sea Level Dr, Tongass Development Center W, Ketchikan, AK 99901-6000
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alaska > Ketchikan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 10 Hotels in Ketchikan
Price Range: $112 - $170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Ketchikan 2*
Number of rooms: 82
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Super 8 Ketchikan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super Eight Ketchikan
Ketchikan Super 8
Ketchikan Super Eight
Super 8 Ketchikan Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing