We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Okay” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Super 8 Ketchikan

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Super 8 Ketchikan
Ranked #9 of 11 Hotels in Ketchikan
Oregon
Level Contributor
90 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Okay”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2009

A friend and I have been coming to Ketchikan for our anuual fishing trip for the past 15 years and have seen lots of changes. The hotel and staff had been going downhill over the years, and was under new management this last summer. The place looked a little better kept, but it's still a very basic room and hotel, and many of the previous amenities that we've enjoyed are not longer available: removed fold out sofa for third bed in suites; shuttle now on limited schedule instead of on demand; coffee in lobby moved or discontinued; The room rates are quite steep - for what you get - even for Ketchikan. However, there are still reasons we go back: early check in with no problems - we've been weathered in before, and were checked in with no problems at 10:00am; freezer in laundry room (keep your frozen groceries for departure or fish for return); close to float plane docks; convenient location across from shopping mall and groceries. Overall, a basic room to stay in transit - but wouldn't stay here if Ketchikan was your vacation destination.

Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Chestnutmash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    55
    57
    40
    23
See reviews for
54
36
30
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
British Columbia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2008

great location on the harbour with excellent staff. Couldn't have chosen a better place. Prompt shuttle service to and from the fferry was provided free. So too, for trips anywhere we wished to go in Ketchikan during our stay. Room had a marvellous view of the harbour, was clean and quiet. Breakfast is included although the hostess in this area tends to be a bit overwhelming with the non stop conversation. Front desk staff were helpful and efficient and the shuttle drivers more than pleasant..

  • Liked — free shuttle service throughout our stay
  • Disliked — a bit far from downtown
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank neverstayhome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SoCal
Level Contributor
87 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2008

Went to Ketchikan for some fishing with my family. Decided to stay at the Super 8 Motel. Not sure I would stay here again.

Check in was ok, room was pretty basic, two double beds, small desk area, did not think there were enough lamps, kind of dark. Bathroom was also pretty basic with very small bars of soap and paper items, ran out of kleenex, did not get replaced. Room is heated, but you have to ask front desk to turn on the heat. No screen on the windows, fortunately, the Alaskan mosquitos did not figure it out, as we had to keep windows open at night. No refrigerator.

Location is OK, next to McDonalds and Safeway grocery store, but can be loud in morning. Fairly close to the ferry to get to the airport. Not the quietest hotel around

Breakfast is minimal--store bagels, coffee, juice, cereal and microwave oatmeal in styrofoam bowls. Breakfast is included with price of room. They do have a freezer for storing fish you catch, but it was full before we got to use it. They have laundry facility and vending machines.

While I was there they seemed to be having some staffing problems--front desk people missing shifts, breakfast room people missing shifts. Felt kind of sorry for the poor lady who was there when we checked in at 4pm on Saturday and was in breakfast room when we ate breakfast at 7am on Sunday.

I would probably stay somewhere else next time.

  • Liked — Rooms in Ketchikan/price
  • Disliked — Rooms kind of dark, staff issues
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank onoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ketchikan hotels

Kasaan
Level Contributor
45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2008

I have been a customer of Super 8 Ketchikan many times in the last 2 years, and the motel now has a new manager, who is MUCH better than the last one, but too bad for Ketchikan guests, she will not be staying on. She's a very gracious lady, a true hostess. My room was clean, as was the hall carpeting, al-though it was not always so, as were some carpeting in some rooms was not always well cleaned. The previous manager accused me of spreading tales of their troubles with bed bugs, but no doubt that story went all over town before it came to my ears! I didn't even know they had once had a bug problem, else I may not have stayed there! ( I suspect one of the disgruntled former staff told that story all over the place! ) I never saw any bugs there, in the last two years, so it was an isolated incedent, and dealt with quickly and well. The daytime front desk man, Victor is also a very hospitable and gracious host, but alas he will be moving back to California in the fall. The staff were all very nice to me, so no complaints there. It's true there is FAR too much noise in the summer months for those wanting peace and quiet, with seaplanes taking off literally dozens of times per day! No naps possible then, unless you bring shooters ear muffs on your trip to Ketchikan! I suggest the company reduce room rates in summer, since it can't offer the quietness so many come to Alaska for. The location is good, right close to the bus line, Safeway store and mall. I like to dine in my room on deli food out of the Safeway store, and with the microwave oven in the lobby, I can eat it hot. The breakfasts have im-proved, but are not yet deluxe.

Stayed January 2008
Helpful?
Thank Super8KetchikanGuest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2007

My family stayed in Room 402 and the cleaning person, or someone with access to the room, took a brand new jacket off the sofa on September 1, 2007. The manager Kerry Anderson was not available on that day, but when reached by phone, he said no lost items were entered into the lost and found, so we are out of luck. He probably treats the staff as poorly as the customers. Your room is NOT secure at the Super 8. Don't leave anything of value in the room.

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SnowyUsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moses Lake, Washington
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2007

Management was flawless, room was flawless, great DSL speed, and the corner room over the water was worth the extra $$.

  • Liked — the view from the room
  • Disliked — only stayed one night
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank TraveLand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, NY
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2007

Alaska Airline placed me there after my flight to Wrangel got cancelled because of the weather conditions.

Pros:
Check-in was smooth.
safe with the key in the room
breakfast is included (but it was very simple - cerial, oatmil, coffe)

Cons:
Carpet in the room was sticky
Stains on the walls
Bathroom had hair in the tub (so i didn't shower)

I cannot comment on the price since i didn't have to pay for it.

bottom line - i would not stay there if i'd have to pay for it out of my own pocket.

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank aleksandrc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ketchikan hotels
0.9 mi away
The Landing Hotel
The Landing Hotel
#1 of 11 in Ketchikan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 351 reviews
1.3 mi away
Inn at Creek Street
Inn at Creek Street
#2 of 11 in Ketchikan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
1.0 mi away
Gilmore Hotel
Gilmore Hotel
#8 of 11 in Ketchikan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Rodeway Inn
Rodeway Inn
#5 of 11 in Ketchikan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
1.2 mi away
Cape Fox Lodge
Cape Fox Lodge
#3 of 11 in Ketchikan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
1.0 mi away
My Place Hotel - Ketchikan
My Place Hotel - Ketchikan
#6 of 11 in Ketchikan
5.0 of 5 bubbles 5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Ketchikan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Ketchikan

Property: Super 8 Ketchikan
Address: 2151 Sea Level Drive, Tongass Development Center W, Ketchikan, AK 99901-6071
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alaska > Ketchikan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 11 Hotels in Ketchikan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Ketchikan 2*
Number of rooms: 82
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Super 8 Ketchikan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super Eight Ketchikan
Ketchikan Super 8
Ketchikan Super Eight
Super 8 Ketchikan Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing