We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect end to a perfect trip”
Review of Cape Fox Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cape Fox Lodge
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Ketchikan
Certificate of Excellence
Connecticut
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Perfect end to a perfect trip”
Reviewed July 12, 2014

We stayed here at the end of our Alaska Dream cruise. We were in Room 234 which has a wonderful view over Ketchikan. The room was lovely. The hotel is easily accessed from the town via the funicular which is free when you show a room key from the hotel. The decor is "mountain lodge". This is the probably the most luxurious hotel in Ketchikan.

Room Tip: Room 234 has two queen sized beds and a wonderful view of Ketchikan.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CT_Granny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    92
    40
    13
    7
See reviews for
42
70
14
64
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
132 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2014

Stayed one night at the Cape Fox Lodge before a Uni Cruise trip. The room was comfortable with a wonderful view over Ketchikan. The hotel is done a disservice by it's staff and food. Our check in was appalling - we were at the front of a group of 50+ arriving at the same time; surely the hotel was expecting us? Instead the front desk was manned by a young person who really wasn't coping. The next morning breakfast was included - it was woeful - nothing arrived together e.g the toast came out burnt and cold, the butter and spread much later; the coffee was yuk. If the Hotel got it's act together it would rate more highly.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travellover077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
131 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2014

We were booked in here for a couple of nights with part of our Un-Cruise tour who use it as their Gateway Hotel.Bed rooms were comfortable with super views and access to the Deer Mountain Trail is very close by. Reception Staff were very variable but one lady in particular was very friendly and most helpful. We did have an evening meal which was rather a disappointment the fish and chips was minimalist despite the fact that there were fish swimming in the sea just near by. The waiter was clearly bored and only brightened up with the presentation of our bill and his hoped for fat tip - our tip matched the size of our fish - minimalist. I have rated this hotel as very good as I think it probably was but they need to get their staff sorted out and attending customer care courses - perhaps there are not many in Ketchikan ? The lift will take you down to the town proper where there are some lively restaurants with staff who have attended customer care courses.

Room Tip: Overlooking the harbour
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HappyChappy70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montesano, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2014

The Cape Fox Lodge is the very nicest property in Ketchikan and the great deal is that it is located downtown. Some of the other properties are a few miles out of town and with summer traffic that is at least a 20+ minute drive. I always get a kick out of reading other reviews and when someone states a different hotel with a phone number to boot I usually take a look at who is sending it and realize they just may have a friend or two at their 'suggested' hotel. My choice is the Cape Fox and whenever I am in town for business this is the hotel I choose to stay at. Period. Why? Because overall it is the nicest, even on a bad day!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LTontravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mayaguez, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
233 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2014

We were not hotel guests but our group of 6 were strolling the streets and my parents decided to get tickets to ride up in the tram. My husband and I were not ready to go up so we stayed behind. When we were ready an hour later we approached the lady at the bottom of the tram. She didn't aknowledge us as she was talking to her cousin. When she finally paid attention we told her we already had tickets that were purchased earlier, she then accused us of recycling someone else's tickets! Of course we have not and we felt so offended we decided not to ride the tram and not give the place our business. This was the only one person that did not deliver a good experience in Alaska. It may have been an isolated incident but a rather uncomfortable one!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staunton, Virginia
Level Contributor
82 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2014

It seemed like a good idea to book the family suite, instead of two rooms. My elderly father came up with my sister to move me. We could have booked two rooms, but opted on the suite so that we could visit. The living room area is huge, with a couch and two chairs. The view of the harbor was amazing, but what we most appreciated, was the large bedroom for Papa. The bathroom was very elegant and was accessible from the bedroom or the living room.

My sister and I ordered up two roll-aways instead of folding out the couch. This made for a better sleeping arrangement ($15 each). They loved the hotel, as it sits above the tourist sites in Ketchikan and my father could take the tram down to look around. Very nice. Thanks for a great two days with my family!

Room Tip: Harbor view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Never-Lost4good
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
75 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2014

We arrived at Cape Fox Lodge at 9.00 in the morning on completion of an Un-cruise adventure cruise. We were able to get an early check-in which we really appreciated. Our room was huge with fabulous views over Ketchikan and the waterfront marred only by the oversized cruise ships which dwarf Ketchikan. We ate both lunch and dinner and both times the food was good, the staff were extremely friendly and the service was great. There is a wonderful display of Native history and art on the 1st floor which is well worth a look as are the totem poles outside the back entrance of the hotel. Don't miss a ride on the cable car - it is free for guests and is a 2 min ride down the hill to the town of Ketchikan. Ketchikan is a great little town but unfortunately the waterfront is dominated by tacky tourist shops but walk beyond and you will be rewarded by its history. Creek Street which used to be the haunt of prostitutes and criminals in the 1800s and early 1900s is an interesting collection of historical houses which have been renovated and now operate as galleries.

Room Tip: Rooms on top floor of the main lodge have great views over Ketchikan.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VAS2112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ketchikan hotels
0.1 mi away
Inn at Creek Street
Inn at Creek Street
#2 of 10 in Ketchikan
311 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Landing Hotel
The Landing Hotel
#1 of 10 in Ketchikan
359 reviews
3.7 mi away
Rodeway Inn Edgewater
Rodeway Inn Edgewater
#6 of 10 in Ketchikan
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Gilmore Hotel
Gilmore Hotel
#7 of 10 in Ketchikan
157 reviews
2.3 mi away
My Place Hotel-Ketchikan, AK
0.2 mi away
Waterfall Resort Alaska
Waterfall Resort Alaska
#4 of 10 in Ketchikan
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cape Fox Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Fox Lodge

Property: Cape Fox Lodge
Address: 800 Venetia Way, Ketchikan, AK 99901-6561
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alaska > Ketchikan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Ketchikan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Cape Fox Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located downtown Ketchikan, within the heart of the Tongass National Forest, Cape Fox is set amidst this country's last frontier and offers the warmth of a north woods mountain cabin, reminiscent of a ski lodge. We have spacious guest rooms and suites with spectacular views of the forest, Deer Mountain or the waterfront community of Ketchikan. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Cape Fox Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cape Fox Hotel Ketchikan
Cape Fox Lodge Ketchikan, Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing