We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“High class in a magnificent setting” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cape Fox Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Cape Fox Lodge
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Ketchikan
Certificate of Excellence
Mexico City
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“High class in a magnificent setting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013

Perched atop a beautiful hill overlooking the town, this impeccably clean, totally modern hotel has great views to the mountain and the ocean. Friendly people, very good restaurant and free continental breakfast in the winter are a plus.
Excellent access by car with ample parking and easy access to town via a free scenic tram/elevator.
A great place to stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mdommdom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    86
    39
    13
    6
See reviews for
41
64
14
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Kearney, Nebraska
Level Contributor
536 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 230 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2013

A week end in Ketchican in the winter can be bleak, but this hotel makes up for it. Good rooms, good meals, accomadating staff with recommendations to local sights. The mountain view rooms are cheaper than the ocean view and that's important if it's not raining. The fanicular takes you down to Creek Street with all it's shops, etc. Nice park at the end of the street with fish hatchery, totum center, and fountain.
Caution about the resturant! Portion sizes are huge (and delicious)!

Room Tip: Moutain view rooms are a better value
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank skiNebraska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2013 via mobile

This was the third time I have stayed at the Cape Fox, all times on business. Before the last time I stayed there I had a bad opinion. This time, I was pleasantly surprised. The front desk staff were very friendly and helpful. They gave me a toothbrush and toothpaste for free, followed through on a wake-up call and were generally helpful. I also found the restaurant staff to be friendly and helpful when they uncorked a bottle of wine and offered me wine glasses in addition to just taking the cork out. The housekeeping staff cleaned my room well and in a timely fashion but they left the dirty restaurant dishes outside my door which didn't get picked up for two days and was rather unsightly. Not a biggie. The Cape Fox also now has a continental breakfast and free coffee which is a major improvement for the hotel. Overall, it was an enjoyable stay. I would mention to everyone to keep an eye on some restaurant staff who bring room service to your room. Last spring I stayed here and ordered room service and when the kid brought it to my room I paid in cash and asked for change so I could tip him. He had to go back to the restaurant to get change and when he came back I tipped him 20%. Later, I looked more closely at the bill and they had already charged me 18% gratuity. Not cool. Moral of the story-they add gratuity to the room service bill! All in all, this stay was very nice and I will stay at the Cape Fox again. They also have toiletries that smell awesome!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Youwinsome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
capefoxlodge, General Manager at Cape Fox Lodge, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Thank you for your comments. We listen and improve. We're happy your recent experience at Cape Fox Lodge was a good one. The contenintal breakfast is new and just for the winter season, through your feedback we know it's sucessful.
Sincerely,
The Staff and Managment at Cape Fox Lodge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Metlakatla, Alaska
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2013

Excellent stay and very helpful staff. We stayed in one of the brand new remodeled rooms. The beds were very comfortable and the rooms were clean and comfortable. The only critique of the remodeled room is the bathroom floors probably should have been done when the remodel was done. They are still in good shape but very dated.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank armymajdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
capefoxlodge, General Manager at Cape Fox Lodge, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Thank you for your comments. We're glad you enjoyed our new look we are always striving to make our rooms comfortable and modern. I hope you will stay with us again and see all the new changes to Cape Fox Lodge.
From the Managment and Staff at Cape Fox Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
94 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2012

I was brought to Ketchikan to lecture and curate about art from Nunavut. Great reception in the town of Ketchikan..lodge staff, museum staff and schools.
Loved the king crab at the lodge, the restaurant manager was very helpful making suggestions.
Fun location --- an elevator down a few floors to the town level.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank arctic09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ketchikan, Alaska
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2012

I love the Front Desk workers they are so nice and helpful. Sandra Wiks, Verna Edenshaw and Tina. Clyde is the most wonderful cook and I had the best experience while staying at the Cape Fox. I strongly recomend people to stay there:)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marvell N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012

Cape Fox is just the most beautiful Lodge ever.So friendly,just like being at home ,only better!! The staff are like family,the scenery unbeatable ,and , the foods great too! Has a little cable car from Creek Street up to lobby for undisrupted views of Ketchikan and the Tongass Straits.highly recommend a spray here,you will NOT be disappointed.

Room Tip: They are all good
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carolentx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ketchikan hotels
0.1 mi away
Inn at Creek Street
Inn at Creek Street
#2 of 11 in Ketchikan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Landing Hotel
The Landing Hotel
#1 of 11 in Ketchikan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 351 reviews
0.3 mi away
Gilmore Hotel
Gilmore Hotel
#8 of 11 in Ketchikan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Rodeway Inn
Rodeway Inn
#5 of 11 in Ketchikan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
0.1 mi away
Waterfall Resort Alaska
Waterfall Resort Alaska
#4 of 11 in Ketchikan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
4.8 mi away
Black Bear Inn
Black Bear Inn
#1 of 18 in Ketchikan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cape Fox Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Fox Lodge

Property: Cape Fox Lodge
Address: 800 Venetia Way, Ketchikan, AK 99901-6561
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alaska > Ketchikan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Ketchikan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Cape Fox Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located downtown Ketchikan, within the heart of the Tongass National Forest, Cape Fox is set amidst this country's last frontier and offers the warmth of a north woods mountain cabin, reminiscent of a ski lodge. We have spacious guest rooms and suites with spectacular views of the forest, Deer Mountain or the waterfront community of Ketchikan. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Cape Fox Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cape Fox Hotel Ketchikan
Cape Fox Lodge Ketchikan, Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing