We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“good food, local place”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Pioneer Cafe

Pioneer Cafe
Ranked #13 of 66 Restaurants in Ketchikan
Cuisines: American, Cafe, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Emmons, Minnesota
Level Contributor
37 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“good food, local place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013 via mobile

Ate at Pioneer once for fish and chips and next morning for breakfast. Food was good as was the service. Will eat there again next year when we are in Ketchikan. It can be a little busy when the ships are in port so plan for that.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank princesspigfarmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    76
    30
    5
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Anacortes, Washington
Level Contributor
44 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“PLEASE DON'T GO HERE!!!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2013

Terrible experience! I wish we had actually walked out while waiting for the food instead of sticking it out for the 30 minutes it took to receive it. We ordered the fresh halo it fish and chips. They were described as being local, hand-breaded, fresh halibut with fries and 1 condiment. The only "plus" is that they came with 2: tartar sauce and cocktail sauce -- not sure that's a plus. The fish was dry, and there may have been 5 bites. The fries weren't worth even finishing. There was some garlic toast on top that appeared to have been dipped in a vat of butter and baked dry -- not sure how they got so mucho butter in there. The wait staff disappeared for so long that our meal had actually been sitting on the counter for at least 10 minutes before being brought to us. I'm not sure that it would have tasted any better had we gotten it right away.
Total ripoff too: $18 for something that I wouldn't feed my dog.
Like I said, my experience would have been much better had I left while waiting for the food. No one to complain to, since everyone ran off before I could even say anything.
It's a mystery how they stay in business.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TotalFoodSnob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tennessee
Level Contributor
63 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Reindeer Hot Dog Anyone?”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2013

I had breakfast for lunch - French toast - was pretty basic but good. Husband had the reindeer hot dog and really enjoyed it. Reminds me of the diners I'm used to seeing in northern Michigan - local place with friendly service. We enjoyed it!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank douglas_s00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, NV
Level Contributor
50 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Mom and Pop place”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2013

Route 66 theme, and in the tourist area for convenience, the food is canned and everything is breaded but the owners were very nice. It is obviously a locals hangout and when we walked in, everyone turned to stare.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jenna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ketchikan, Alaska, United States
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Many generations of good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

between me, my niece, and grandfather, we might as well have a designated seat with our names on them. I have been coming here since I was a little girl when it was just called the Pioneer on front street right next to their competition Jimbo's. And the company is great every time we are here!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jessica L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pioneer Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Pioneer Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing