We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“orca's cove” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Southeast Sea Kayaks

Southeast Sea Kayaks
Book In Advance
More Info
$94.79*
and up
Ketchikan Kayaking Tour
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Ketchikan's local kayak company. Sea kayak tours of Ketchikan, Orcas Cove and kayak/hike at Icehouse Cove. Small groups and fun, friendly guides. First time kayakers welcome!
Useful Information: Lockers / storage, Activities for older children
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“orca's cove”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

This was our second adventure with Southeast Sea Kayaks. After a quick, beautiful boat trip to Orca's cove we were quickly in our kayaks and out exploring. These guys do everything right-from the guides to the equipment, everything is top-notch. If you aren't an experienced kayaker don't worry they will help you get comfortable and out paddling really fast. If you are a kayaker this is the company you want to paddle with. If you have the time make sure you do the Orca's cove trip, if not the Ketchikan harbor trip is great too. If you can only do one thing in the Ketch, make sure you book a trip with these guys!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank lisa a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

444 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    402
    27
    9
    6
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Puebla, Mexico
Level Contributor
57 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Excellent water tour of the Tongass Narrows.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013 via mobile

I've lived here for two years and this was a very unique way to experience the waterways. It was really nice to see Pennock Island and the history or the area. My advice is if it looks like rain take the rain gear. And make sure the person in the rear seat either knows what they're doing with a rudder or can follow the instructions of the guides. I loved this tour and I'd recommend it to anyone who wants a unique experience.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank offdisplay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Orcas Cove Kayak trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

We booked online and were met at the quayside in Ketchikan, had a lovely boat trip out to the cove then almost 3 hours of kayaking. The weather was amazing, not a cloud in the sky (very lucky as apparently it rains almost every day) and really warm. Stephan our guide was great company and very informative, and reassuring to my wife who was a little nervous. We covered 6-7 miles and enjoyed every minute, then had snack of wild smoked salmon, beautiful, nothing like what we eat in the UK! I can thoroughly recommend this company, they are not linked to any ship-based tour package (a good thing in my opinion). Thanks :).

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Roger W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tobermory, Ontario, Canada
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Kayaking in Ketchikan”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

We had an absolutely fantastic time kayaking with Southeast Sea Kayaks in Ketchikan on Wednesday September 11, 2013. James took our small group out and showed us the ropes and was so relaxed and knowledgeable he immediately put us at ease. I'd never kayaked before and was amazed at how relaxing and serene it was. James pointed out wildlife to us and and talked about the area we were kayaking in. I am so glad we chose this excursion and would definitely recommend it to beginners and experienced kayakers.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Denise T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesa, Arizona
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Alaskan Kayaking”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

Southeast Sea Kayaks made our first adventure in Alaska an amazing experience. We paddled out into the Creek Street tide water among the jumping Salmon while a harbor seal swam alongside. We then turned and crossed the channel paddling around the point of the island seeing bald eagles and many other birds and sea stars. Our guide was great and we became great friend with the other couple - who was also on our cruise ship. We booked through Shore Excursions and I'm so glad we did. Thanks.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Molly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Southeast Sea Kayaks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing