We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Black Bear Inn
Nearby Hotels
Cape Fox Lodge(Ketchikan)
$260
$245
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Inn at Creek Street(Ketchikan)(Great Value!)
$125
$119
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
My Place Hotel-Ketchikan, AK(Ketchikan)
$198
$192
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$279
$195
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rodeway Inn Edgewater(Ketchikan)(Great Value!)
$100
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$142
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Gilmore Hotel(Ketchikan)
$99
$96
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
Reviews (151)
Filter reviews
151 results
Traveler rating
133
8
4
4
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
133
8
4
4
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshot tubblack beansb bplace to stayeagles nestperfect hostsself serve breakfasthire carfun things to dotongass narrowsother guestsgreat place to watchoutdoor patiowaters edgedining tableeach morningfelt like home
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
67 - 72 of 151 reviews
Reviewed July 13, 2014

Yes,we were greeted with keeping our shoes off, but being the typical wet day, we totally understood. Nicole may seem a bit like a Mama bear, but it's truly in your best interest. She definitely wants to make your trip to Ketchikan a time to remember. Nicole and Jim are wonderful hosts, aiding in any adventure you wish to do. Jim's great stories of the area just add to the thrill of being in Alaska. The kitchen was wonderfully stocked with many thoughtful choices for breakfast! Our room was very comfortable with a beautiful view. Nicole has definitely tried to provide all things that you could possibly need. The Black Bear Inn is definitely a gem,

Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Jujiigirl21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2014

We stayed in the Bunkhouse, a comfortable room with its own kitchenette. We were very happy to cook our own breakfasts with the ingredients provided by Nicole and to visit the local supermarket, about five minutes drive away, for our evening dinners. We really enjoyed the 4th July parade in the town and Nicole was most helpful in suggesting local places to visit including Herring Cove where we saw a black bear trying to catch a salmon. All in all a lovely place to stay with lovely views over the water.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stonellas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2014

Spent two nights at this fine B & B and we're very pleased. Quiet (2-3 miles north of town and right on the water). Hosts were gracious, helpful in advance of our arrival making car rental and Misty Fjord boat trip, and informed about places to see. Breakfast was do-it-yourself with many choices. Room was fine but quite small and a bit "cluttered" with knick-knacks , with virtually no place to put our travel stuff. Noisy (depending on the tides) creaking pier 100 feet way sounded like braying donkey! Overall experience very good and we would heartily recommend it to others.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bloody44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Msdetail, Owner at Black Bear Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2014

Thank You for staying with us and for your kind comments.
I do believe you stayed in our smallest room. It is a beautiful room but, you are right, it is small. We always hope that it’s covered porch overlooking the ocean and it’s large bathroom with sunken tub and double sinks will make up for the size of the bedroom. It is probably best suited for one person of a short stay. I always upgrade guests, who choose that room, to a larger room at no additional charge, if one is available. Unfortunately the Inn was full when you were with us.
I was also sorry to learn that the creaking from the dock kept you up at night. A new ramp was being added and the new metal piling was banging against the old dock, when the wind blew from the Northwest. The work has now been completed and the noise is gone.
Being on the Ocean brings lots of great advantages like whales, seals, eagles, and gorgeous sunsets but sometimes it also brings unexpected noises.
If your plans bring you back to Ketchikan in the future, I will make sure you get to stay in one of our largest rooms. Nicole

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2014

My family just had one night to spend in Ketchikan, and after spending time at the Black Bear Inn, we wish we would have had longer. We booked our rooms to follow a cruise that ended in Ketchikan, and Nicole was very helpful and accommodating through our entire process. We stayed in two separate rooms figuring we wanted to be able to stretch out a bit after tiny cruise ship cabin living. The rooms were incredibly spacious with very cozy décor. Everything we could possibly need was provided, right down to a coffee maker & drinking water dispenser in each room. The beds were incredibly comfortable and the rooms overlooked the water with great views. Nicole sat down with us when we arrived and gave us suggestions of sights to see, things to do, and places to eat & shop. Her suggestions were spot on - we had run into some people from our ship that had hit a couple of the more "touristy" spots and had been disappointed, where Nicole was very good at suggesting which places were better to avoid and why, and letting us know what made her suggestions the better choice - especially since we were pressed for time. If we ever make it back to Ketchikan again, we will not hesitate to make reservations here again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amy U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2014

When you stay here you will feel like you are living in Alaska not just visiting.Nicole helped us choose our excursions and booked them prior to our arrival including a fishing trip with Rand R Adventures where my wife caught her very first fish, a 38 in King Salmon.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CSGSR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews