We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor value”
Review of Black Bear Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Black Bear Inn
Ranked #1 of 18 Ketchikan B&B and Inns
Augusta, Ga
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Poor value”
Reviewed July 24, 2012

Stayed for 4 days. 70's style middle-class home converted to rooms to rent. Brkst disappointing. We went out rather than eat paltry offering of walnut bread and melon and strawberries. Scolded rudely and at length by matron/ owner for using wash machine to wash VERY foul smelling towels in our bathroom. It was very weird and awkward. Would never recommend to friends.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JimAE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Msdetail, Owner at Black Bear Inn, responded to this review, July 26, 2012
We have been told by other Inn owners to expect a poor review once and a while. Even so, I am surprised by yours. We built our property in 2005 as a private Inn at a cost of way over a million and a half dollars. It is not a 70’s conversion. The beds, linens and furnishings are very high quality and we maintain superior cleanliness standards throughout the Inn. Our room charges are very reasonable and quite a bit less than the hotels in the area.

As for your towels they were freshly washed and put in your room just before you arrived. I am sorry but we live in a rain forest and things often have a damp smell due to the weather. You took it upon yourself to take all of your towels into my laundry room and use the washer at a time when I needed to be washing the linens for other guest rooms. I am sure you would not go into a hotels laundry and start washing your own towels. If you had told me that you wanted your towels rewashed, I would have happily done so and given you new towels right then. You rented a room in a B&B not the entire Inn. The laundry room has a private sign on it because it is for staff use.

We make it clear that our breakfast is a self serve. We provide the following for our guests to use in preparing their breakfast; Dry cereal, oatmeal, rice, fresh fruit (4 or 5 different kinds), dried fruit, sweet rolls, nut bread, bread, English muffins, bagels, eggs, cottage cheese, cheese, milk, several fruit juices, yogurt, peanut butter, jams, coffee and tea. There is even pancake and waffle mix. We also tell you that you can bring in other thinks for your breakfast, if you are on a special diet.

Your group received my complete attention while you were here. I spent a great deal of time arranging for your activities and helping you plan your time. I even did the group’s laundry before you left so that your things would be clean when you arrived at your next stop. We try very hard to make sure that all of our guests are happy with us and their stay at the Black Bear. I am sorry that you were not.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    126
    8
    4
    4
    2
See reviews for
17
75
9
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Dripping Springs, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
58 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2012

This was our hands-down favorite place to stay in Alaska. Beds incredibly comfortable; had the run of the kitchen and made rhubarb pies for dinner and for our hosts. The breakfast and other foods available were incredibly generous. Location wonderful - not right in town with cruise ship tourists, but right on the water nonetheless. We loved watching the tide go in and out from the hot tub. Hosts Nicole and Jim went completely overboard making sure we caught the highlights, had excellent meals, and experienced local culture. Blackout curtains (a must in summer), huge tub in the bathroom, all amenities including tub salts, many towels, and our personal small fridge on the back deck. Very luxurious, very cozy, and home-like. Absolutely the best.

Room Tip: Upper floor has a deck from which the view of the narrows are better. Lower floor rooms extremely l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KLangsley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2012

We just got back from the Black Bear Inn in Ketchikan, AK. There were 8 of us staying there and we occupied the 4 bedrooms that were very comfortable. Extra bedding and blankets were provided which was appreciated as 1-2 of the nights were coolish. The bathrooms even had qtips and cotton balls in them. There were plenty of towels too and I loved the décor. They had a little porch you could sit out and it overlooked the ocean. There were lovely views of the ocean and you could see the bald eagles flying by. The kitchen was very large (well stocked with equipment) and connected to a wonderful living room with leather sofas. Very cozy and comfy; perfect for Alaska. The owners of the B&B were extremely helpful in every way. They helped arrange our Plane tour of the Misty fjords, fishing expedition and kayaking trip; all of which were just wonderful. If you are coming to Ketchikan, this is the way to do it, through the B&B. It was an overall excellent experience. We felt like family there.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank earthgirlNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2012

We stayed at the Black Bear in late May having completed a small boat cruise from Juneau to Ketchikan. Jim and Nicole were the perfect hosts and the place was immaculate. Jim even dropped us off at a restaurant on our first evening as it was raining! We saw a pod of Orca pass by whilst we were having breakfast and a couple of eagles came and sat in the tree just outside our room. It was so nice to be staying outside the centre of Ketchikan althogh we were glad when Nicole suggested a hire car to see a little more of the place. We would certainly recommend this place!

Room Tip: I guess all of the rooms will be of a similar quality but we stayed on the first floor which had a b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MGBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, CO
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2012

The Black Bear Inn is 2.5 miles north of the Ketchikan airport and a thousand miles from the hordes from the cruise ships. It's right on the water and very accessible. The protected outdoor hot tub is clean and set at 104 degrees (perfect). Nicole sets out breakfast fixings so you can do as you please. I had banana bread, juice, tea from 50 varieties, and scrambled eggs looking at water only 30 ft away. The rooms are large, nicely decorated, quiet and comfortable. Good beds and good showers. Now that I've stayed at the Black Bear, I don't need to keep experimenting in Ketchikan.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jim F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder
Level Contributor
54 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2012

Book time at the Black Bear Inn the next time you are in Ketchikan. Nicole and Jim made us feel like visiting friends. Both go out of their way to share local information and lore that paints a picture about the island. Good conversation, very clean and comfortable accommodations, warm, friendly. We felt right at home.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JTrunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2012

Jim and Nancy's warm hospitality took very good care of me on my first stay at the Black Bear Inn. A beautiful room awaited me and with the lovely common living area I had all the comforts of home.Cozy fireplaces to warm up by and read. A wonderful inn with luxurious appointments and very generous hosts. I look forward to returning again and again as I pass through Ketchikan. Thank you!

Room Tip: All rooms are beautiful. I stayed in the Raven's nest which was lovely with a very comfortable q...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank okiannie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ketchikan hotels
4.8 mi away
Inn at Creek Street
Inn at Creek Street
#2 of 10 in Ketchikan
311 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Landing Hotel
The Landing Hotel
#1 of 10 in Ketchikan
359 reviews
4.8 mi away
Cape Fox Lodge
Cape Fox Lodge
#3 of 10 in Ketchikan
233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Rodeway Inn Edgewater
Rodeway Inn Edgewater
#6 of 10 in Ketchikan
105 reviews
4.6 mi away
Gilmore Hotel
Gilmore Hotel
#7 of 10 in Ketchikan
157 reviews
2.7 mi away
My Place Hotel-Ketchikan, AK
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Black Bear Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Bear Inn

Property: Black Bear Inn
Address: 5528 N Tongass Hwy, Ketchikan, AK 99901-9008
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alaska > Ketchikan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Ketchikan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Black Bear Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegant waterfront Bed and Breakfast and 2 vacation Rentals built for guests who want privacy and expect the finest furnishings and amenities. Rent one of the 3 B&B suites, the whole house as a Vacation Rental, the one bedroom luxury Vacation Rental Apartment or the 2 bedroom Vacation Rental Cabin. No minimum stay required in the B&B. A 2 night minimum stay is required in the Vacation Rentals. All of the Bedrooms in the Inn have private closed in porches and entrances overlooking the ocean, large baths, fireplaces, refrigerators, cable TV, and free high speed wireless. The Inn Can accommodate up to 16. There are beautiful gardens, viewing decks and a Covered Spa and Summer Kitchen on the waters edge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Black Bear Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Black Bear Hotel Ketchikan
Black Bear Inn Ketchikan, Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing