We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect end to an Alaskan Adventure” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Black Bear Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Black Bear Inn
Ranked #1 of 18 Ketchikan B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Perfect end to an Alaskan Adventure”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2012

We stayed at the Black Bear in late May having completed a small boat cruise from Juneau to Ketchikan. Jim and Nicole were the perfect hosts and the place was immaculate. Jim even dropped us off at a restaurant on our first evening as it was raining! We saw a pod of Orca pass by whilst we were having breakfast and a couple of eagles came and sat in the tree just outside our room. It was so nice to be staying outside the centre of Ketchikan althogh we were glad when Nicole suggested a hire car to see a little more of the place. We would certainly recommend this place!

Room Tip: I guess all of the rooms will be of a similar quality but we stayed on the first floor which had a b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MGBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    8
    4
    4
    2
See reviews for
17
71
9
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Boulder, CO
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2012

The Black Bear Inn is 2.5 miles north of the Ketchikan airport and a thousand miles from the hordes from the cruise ships. It's right on the water and very accessible. The protected outdoor hot tub is clean and set at 104 degrees (perfect). Nicole sets out breakfast fixings so you can do as you please. I had banana bread, juice, tea from 50 varieties, and scrambled eggs looking at water only 30 ft away. The rooms are large, nicely decorated, quiet and comfortable. Good beds and good showers. Now that I've stayed at the Black Bear, I don't need to keep experimenting in Ketchikan.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jim F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder
Level Contributor
54 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2012

Book time at the Black Bear Inn the next time you are in Ketchikan. Nicole and Jim made us feel like visiting friends. Both go out of their way to share local information and lore that paints a picture about the island. Good conversation, very clean and comfortable accommodations, warm, friendly. We felt right at home.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JTrunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2012

Jim and Nancy's warm hospitality took very good care of me on my first stay at the Black Bear Inn. A beautiful room awaited me and with the lovely common living area I had all the comforts of home.Cozy fireplaces to warm up by and read. A wonderful inn with luxurious appointments and very generous hosts. I look forward to returning again and again as I pass through Ketchikan. Thank you!

Room Tip: All rooms are beautiful. I stayed in the Raven's nest which was lovely with a very comfortable q...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank okiannie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wasilla, Alaska
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2012

Kurt and I stay at the Black Bear Inn 4/5 times a year and we have both experienced the Eagles Nest, the Bunk House many times and a B&B room. We both find the Black Bear Inn the most peacful, romantic, relaxing and really clean place to stay in Ketchikan. We have stayed at every hotel in Ketchikan and we keep returning to the Black Bear Inn because of reasonable price, spotless rooms, and the comforts the Black Bear Inn offers. Thank you Nicole and Jim for your hospitality. I have traveled in many countries and enjoy B&B's, the Black Bear Inn gets 5 stars from us.,

Room Tip: A romantic getaway for couples
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GypsySailor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2011

I really enjoyed my one night stay. I was in the bunk house. The view was wonderful, right on the water. And the hot tub was perfect. I will stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tosha2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brodhead, Wisconsin, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2011

We stayed at the Black bear Inn on our way to another destination in Alaska and found the eagles nest room to be comfortable, but the beds were pretty small and we were not offered breakfast either of the two mornings we stayed at the inn. The price was definately high for the services that were offered although the room was nice, it wasn't up to five star in quality in my opinion.The owner was informative about Alaskan information, but seemed like she wasn't really wanting to spend much time or energy dealing with my family. Altogether, a disappointing experience!

Room Tip: Not a good inn for a family with children.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank debfr_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Msdetail, Owner at Black Bear Inn, responded to this review, December 9, 2011
I am sorry to learn that you thought the Eagles Nest apartment was overpriced. You were charged half the summer rate and the same price you would have paid for a standard room for 2 in one of the hotels in Ketchikan this time of year. Being new to Alaska, you may not yet be aware of how expensive it is to live here. As you knew, in advance of your stay, there are two extended full size beds in the apartment’s bedroom. Since you said that your children were small, I assumed that the unit would be fine for you. The Eagles Nest apartment is a Vacation Rental, separate from the Inn and is not part of our B&B. Even so, we do stock its fully equipped kitchen with all the basic breakfast supplies plus lots of other ingredients needed for cooking.
I do hope that you did enjoyed the many amenities the apartment offers: The leather love seats, free standing fireplace, and the view of the ocean and mountains from the large picture windows in the Living Area, The full kitchen and dinning area for cooking and eating, The original Alaskan art on the walls and the handmade wool native rug on the floor in the bedroom, The access to free cable on the TV in the living room and the one in the bedroom, The Free Serious Radio and High speed wireless internet, The high quality wooden furniture throughout the apartment, The pillow top/memory foam mattresses and fine linens, and the private laundry room and covered sitting porch outside the apartment.
We try very hard, through our web site, to show future guests what we have to offer. When picking a place to stay it is always important to ask questions up front. We try to spend a lot of time talking with guests before they arrive. Our goal is to make sure that each guest that stays with us has selected the right accommodations for them. Sometimes this means referring them to another place in town, since what is really most important to Jim and me is that travelers who come to Alaska have a wonderful experience and enjoy our beautiful Island as much as we do.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ketchikan hotels
2.8 mi away
The Landing Hotel
The Landing Hotel
#1 of 11 in Ketchikan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 351 reviews
4.9 mi away
Inn at Creek Street
Inn at Creek Street
#2 of 11 in Ketchikan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
4.8 mi away
Cape Fox Lodge
Cape Fox Lodge
#3 of 11 in Ketchikan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Rodeway Inn
Rodeway Inn
#5 of 11 in Ketchikan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
4.6 mi away
Gilmore Hotel
Gilmore Hotel
#8 of 11 in Ketchikan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
2.7 mi away
My Place Hotel - Ketchikan
My Place Hotel - Ketchikan
#6 of 11 in Ketchikan
5.0 of 5 bubbles 5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Black Bear Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Bear Inn

Property: Black Bear Inn
Address: 5528 N Tongass Hwy, Ketchikan, AK 99901-9008
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alaska > Ketchikan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Ketchikan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Black Bear Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegant waterfront Bed and Breakfast and 2 vacation Rentals built for guests who want privacy and expect the finest furnishings and amenities. Rent one of the 3 B&B suites, the whole house as a Vacation Rental, the one bedroom luxury Vacation Rental Apartment or the 2 bedroom Vacation Rental Cabin. No minimum stay required in the B&B. A 2 night minimum stay is required in the Vacation Rentals. All of the Bedrooms in the Inn have private closed in porches and entrances overlooking the ocean, large baths, fireplaces, refrigerators, cable TV, and free high speed wireless. The Inn Can accommodate up to 16. There are beautiful gardens, viewing decks and a Covered Spa and Summer Kitchen on the waters edge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Black Bear Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Black Bear Hotel Ketchikan
Black Bear Inn Ketchikan, Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing