We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awsome Fishing Adventure”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ketchikan
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Chinook Shores Lodge
Mililani, Hawaii
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Awsome Fishing Adventure”
Reviewed September 23, 2013

I took my dad and younger brother to Chinook Shores in early September 2013 and we had a great time fishing there. They have one of the best self guided packages which includes use of a 20 foot boat and tackle included. The late Silver salmon run was great and we had the freedom to go fishing for them anytime we wanted to. It only takes about 5 minutes to the fishing grounds from the lodge! Very convenient! The accomodations were awesome as the chalets were very roomy with all of the comforts of home. The chalets also have a washer and dryer in each of them so you can travel light and bring the minimum amount of clothing. What blew me away was the water front view from the balcony. Nothing like having a beer while looking at a priceless view after a long day of fishing. The owner Jeff is one of the most friendliest guys around and his small staff are always helpful. The lodge only takes a small amount of clients per week so you will never feel lost in a crowd. During your entire stay, you will just feel relaxed and have the freedom to do whatever you want and at your own pace.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Roger T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
6
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Meridian, Ca.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 15, 2013

I met Jeff at a Sportsmen Expo in California and spoke with many other fishing lodges in the area and found that Chinook Shores offered the "BEST "package. From that point forward I knew this was the place that I wanted to take my mom, dad and wife. Jeff is very outgoing, friendly and willing to accommodate your needs from self guided to guided fishing trips. The views from your porch over looking the bay are stunning with wildlife viewing at its finest. You feel like you are at a remote lodge even thought Ketchikan is only minutes away. I would recommend this to any group of guys or family that wanted an adventure of a life time.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aaron H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2013

This Alaska fishing lodge is beautiful, comfortable and amazing. It's a great way for anglers to enjoy fishing for King Salmon in Southeast Alaska. If you don't like the fish for King salmon, Coho salmon and halibut, enjoy the view and watch bald eagles and humpback whales.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nadrafied
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eureka, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 12, 2013

I have been going up to Chinook Shores for six years. Jeff does an awesome job of making sure you will have a great experience. The lodging, boats and equipment are all first class. If you don't feel comfortable driving your own boat, his charter boat is a great option. Last fall we had a memorable time catching halibut, silver salmon, and had a chance to view whales bubble netting all around our boat.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KIY_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2012

Chinook Shores Lodge is a place I'd like to take a group of friends or even business associates for a retreat. The accommodations are second to none and located on some of the best fishing grounds around Southeastern Alaska's community of Ketchikan. There's something for everyone. If you're not that into fishing, the wildlife viewing is spectacular -- whales, seals and eagles can be seen "up close and personal." And, there's even zip-lining, kayaking/bicycle rentals and excellent hiking trails nearby.

Room Tip: The beach houses (or chalets) offer all of the comforts of home -- fully furnished, secluded, beachf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nadrafied
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Orchard, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2012

We just returned from a week at Chinook Shores. What a beautiful place and great people to stay with! We were up close and personal with eagles, whales and maybe more importantly..Salmon and Halibut. My husband has stayed here a few times with his fishing buddies and told me it was great, but I wanted to see it for myself! My first trip fishing in Alaska and I was impressed! (I also caught a 75 lb. Halibut...WOW!)

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PortOrchardposting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2012

My wife and I have been going to Ketchikan for fishing for 15 years staying at various lodges, until we found Chinook shores, now we don't have to go anywhere else. We found our Alaska home. Jeff, sister Heidi, and brother in law Allan feel like family to us. Fishing is incredible, and if you need help the staff is more than willing to help you out. This fishing experience is truly one stop shopping. John and Janet

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Wiley123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ketchikan hotels
10.9 mi away
Cape Fox Lodge
Cape Fox Lodge
#4 of 10 in Ketchikan
250 reviews
9.1 mi away
The Landing Hotel
The Landing Hotel
#1 of 10 in Ketchikan
375 reviews
1.9 mi away
Salmon Falls Resort
Salmon Falls Resort
#1 of 14 in Ketchikan
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.8 mi away
Waterfall Resort Alaska
Waterfall Resort Alaska
#3 of 10 in Ketchikan
65 reviews
6.5 mi away
Black Bear Inn
Black Bear Inn
#1 of 18 in Ketchikan
147 reviews
10.9 mi away
Inn at Creek Street
Inn at Creek Street
#2 of 10 in Ketchikan
331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chinook Shores Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chinook Shores Lodge

Property: Chinook Shores Lodge
Address: 119 Potter Rd, P.O. Box 6555, Ketchikan, AK 99901-8950
Location: United States > Alaska > Ketchikan
Amenities:
Beach
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 14 Specialty Lodging in Ketchikan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chinook Shores Lodge is located 15 miles north of Ketchikan International Airport in Southeast Alaska. Accommodations include private waterfront 3-bedroom 1-bath beach houses (that sleep up to six people) with full amenities, private dock access, self-guided fishing boats, Alaska charter fishing, quality controlled fish processing and fish packaging services. Stay here and rent one of our 20' aluminum boats for fishing or wildlife viewing. Or, make reservations for a guided fishing adventure and try your hand at catching wild Alaska salmon and halibut. Don't like fishing, no problem. Our lodge is located to great hiking within the Tongass National Forest, and there are many historical and Native American cultural sites nearby. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Chinook Shores Lodge Ketchikan, Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing