We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food was amazing, service a bit scattered”

Annabelle's Famous Keg and Chowder House
Ranked #4 of 69 Restaurants in Ketchikan
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Food was amazing, service a bit scattered”
Reviewed August 1, 2014

Annabelle's crab cake sandwich is probably one of the best sandwiches I have ever had! Ketchikan was our first stop on our inland passage cruise and our tour guide that morning recommended Annabelle's. I'm glad he did! As I said~ it was amazing. The service was a bit scattered but apparently they were down a person and when a cruise ship is in port I would imagine it gets a bit crazy. Overall very good!!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kristine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

778 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    273
    327
    116
    41
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lewistown, Montana
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“very yummy-great chowder”
Reviewed July 31, 2014

I had the halibut sandwich with seafood chowder. Both very good. People at my table really liked the shrimp tacos and the salmon chowder in a bread bowl. Service was good, nice atmosphere.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank misticbirdwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires
Level Contributor
44 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Family Lunch in ketchikan”
Reviewed July 28, 2014

I arrived with my to ketchikan in a cruise. After touring in Misty Fjords we went to Lunch to Annabelle's. We tasted a superb smoked salmón specially prepared by Melissa Who gave us a prefered treatment. If one day you go to Alaska and make a stop in this city I strongly recommend this resto and bar.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RianTripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
120 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Halibut overlooked, chowder was great”
Reviewed July 27, 2014 via mobile

We went for dinner based on reviews. Our waitperson was attentive and very pleasant. We had a cup of chowder before our meal and as it was excellent. You could see chunks of clam. The taste of the bacon was not overpowering but complimentary to the chowder. After our dinner we decided we should have gotten a bowl of chowder instead of our main course. We had charbroiled halibut. When it arrived it looked great. The char marks we're perfect, unfortunately the halibut was very overcooked. So much so that it was difficult to cut with a fork. It was very regrettable and very hard to salvage. The other entries included halibut tacos which tasted good and not overcooked and the buffalo chicken wrap which our grandson ate and enjoyed.

So the tip is; get the chowder.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank swj1051
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin
Level Contributor
67 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“A local recommending it is always a good sign!”
Reviewed July 26, 2014

We asked the local bus driver where we should eat lunch and he sent us to Annabelle's. I'm glad we listened! The chowders (we tried the salmon and Annabelle's) were great, and the bread they served was really hearty and delicious. I also enjoyed the crab cake sandwich. Food seemed pricy but I think that's just par for the course being a tourist town! Would definitely recommend.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dot15409
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Annabelle's Famous Keg and Chowder House also viewed

 

Been to Annabelle's Famous Keg and Chowder House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing