We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“everything is yummy”

Bar Harbor Restaurant
Ranked #4 of 72 Restaurants in Ketchikan
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $19 - $50
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
wasilla
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“everything is yummy”
Reviewed August 5, 2014

It can be hard to get in, so make sure you make a reservation. If you visit Ketchikan, eating here is a definite must. I usually have the halibut tacos, but I've never had a poor meal in this place.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank robyn363
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

296 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    193
    74
    17
    10
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lisbon, New York
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“One of the Finest Restaurants in Ketchikan”
Reviewed July 25, 2014

We enjoyed a wonderful meal at the Bar Harbor Restaurant on a recent recent trip to Ketchikan. The waitress was very attentive and answered all of our questions. The chef was one of the best and he even created a dish for my husband who just couldn't decide on what seafood to have for dinner. My husband liked the dish so much that he asked to speak with the chef and he came out to our table. We had a party of 6 and they tailored our meals as to each person's special likes or needs. The homemade desserts were out of this world and I strongly suggest that you leave room for these culinary delights. This Restaurant is a must do if you are in Ketchikan.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lovestotravel061
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Not be missed, Bar Harbor Restaurant ”
Reviewed July 24, 2014 via mobile

Best dinner in town and the desserts are a must. The service was amazing. You will need to make a reservation & if the weather is nice, ask for outside seating!

Helpful?
Thank Cassi W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Nice Food But They Charge for Bread and Tap Water”
Reviewed July 21, 2014

Sorry Bar Harbor, but I really don't like it when restaurants do this. Your food is "generously" priced, though tasty, but wanting us to pay for the tap water (you put on the table before we saw the menu) and wanting a fee for the "bread basket" (even with mussels!) was just too much. You have a beautiful room and nice outdoor setting, but nickel and diming customers is a quick way to lose friends.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Joezone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Big Sky, Montana
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Best Restaurant in Ketchikan”
Reviewed July 18, 2014

This is, by far, the best restaurant in Ketchikan. Everything is made from scratch with fabulous ingredients. There is also a very nice wine list. I would highly recommend eating here. But, make a reservation to be sure you get a table. It is a small restaurant, and if the weather is not conducive to eating outside, there is limited seating.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nancy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bar Harbor Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Bar Harbor Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing