We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Scenic Cruising in Ketchikan”

Lighthouse,Totems, & Eagles Excursions Day Tours
Certificate of Excellence
Cambridge
Level Contributor
318 reviews
103 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Scenic Cruising in Ketchikan”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

The tour gives you what it says. A cruise around the Ketchikan area taking in a small island with a lighthouse, a cruise past the totem pole centre and regular views of Bald Eagles. There is a regular commentary and complimentary drinks, try the hot chocolate. Those with good camera's will get very good eagle shots, at the right time of year; which this was , as they now have young to feed.
Overall I would say it is one of the better trips in the area. Three hours was just about right, we had an overcast and dry day, however Ketchikan is notorious for wet weather and I would not have liked to have been out in really damp conditions, so I would advise booking in port.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Cotonboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    224
    38
    12
    4
    10
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montgomery AL
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lighthouse, Totems, & Eagles Excursion”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013

Enjoyed the excursion with Capt Rob and his crew. Capt Rob's commentary kept things interesting while watching for bald eagles, seal lions, and other potential wildlife. Boat was comfortable and we were served hot chocolate during the chilly trip. Never been that close to wildlife and it was interesting to see them in their natural habitat. Followed up with an e-mail question to him after we got home because we couldn't remember the birds (Pigeon Guillimots) and received a quick response and picture.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank TJ_Retired_2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
54 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Fun, informative, scenic ... this excursion is worth it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2013

Captain Rob and his crew really make this excursion a memorable event! We booked this excursion add-on from our NCL cruise. I thought it was a pretty good price before the tour, but even more so after the tour ... what fun! Well worth it!

We saw a ton of eagles ... more realistically around 20 eagles, but where I'm from that is a lot! Captain Rob is great at directing you where to look to see the eagles. His knowledge of the area (historical & current) is impeccable and his sense of humor is a treat. Outside viewing on the upper deck really is the place to be for the best viewing. In Alaska, especially Ketchikan, expect rain ... it wasn't pouring, it was more of a misty type day ... I'm glad I wore a coat that had a hood on it.

As we paused at the Totem Bight State Park to hear stories of the legendary tribe and totems. The entire tour was filled with stories of the areas we passed ... there was never a dull moment.

We went the entire way around the island that is the home of Guard Island lighthouse while listening to the captain's narration of the history of the lighthouse, as well as stories of the lighthouse through the ages.

Shortly after viewing the lighthouse, we saw Bald Eagles swooping to the water for food and Harbor Seals lounging on the rocks.

Truly a memorable day during our Alaskan adventure ... one I would visit again!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank karensue921
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elora, Canada
Level Contributor
234 reviews
49 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 398 helpful votes
“Captain Rob”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

I think we lost count of the eagles on this tour. Lots of things to check out. We were able to get fairly close to some Harbor Seals as well. Captain Rob has a great personality and is very knowledgeable of the area. A nice little cruise although a bit pricey, but they all are for us tourists.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank rnr636
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
1 review
“Most memorable Experience in Ketchikan”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

We would highly recommend this tour. The captain and his crew are very knowledgeable and know exactly where to direct people's attention to spot the wildlife. We could have hung out a lot longer than the duration of the tour if only to enjoy the scenery and listen to Captain Rob's stories and jokes.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank vafonso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lighthouse,Totems, & Eagles Excursions Day Tours also viewed

 

Been to Lighthouse,Totems, & Eagles Excursions Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing