We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Ketchikan
Post
Inbox
Search
Save
Review Highlights
almost everyone caught a fish!

The captain went out of his way to help us land a salmon. Being the end of season the fish were... read more

Reviewed November 6, 2019
Richard B
,
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Ketchikan Salmon Fishing with Ty

We really enjoyed our experience with Captain Ty! We opted to have salmon sent home, but I seem to... read more

Reviewed July 16, 2019
Anne B
Read all 83 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Ketchikan
from $311.69
More Info
from $191.80
More Info
from $249.99
More Info
from $230.77
More Info
Reviews (83)
Filter reviews
83 results
Traveler rating
56
8
5
5
9
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
56
8
5
5
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews knudson cove salmon fishing king salmon taking turns cruise ship holland america fish bites catch fish great afternoon cookies bucket list great trip rock fish beautiful scenery ty capt dock
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
56 - 61 of 83 reviews
Reviewed August 9, 2014

The scenery was beautiful and we caught 5 different kinds of fish! It's a beautiful way to spend the day.

Date of experience: August 2014
2  Thank annecybound2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2014

Friends of ours had also gone on a Princess cruise to Alaska and had a similar itinerary which included a day in Ketchikan. They recommended Baranof fishing and we arranged the day via calls and email, they met us at our cruise ship, and Scott took us out after supplying us with waders and the needed gear. Six of us caught four large halibut and two salmon. The salmon were not as big as 28 pounds so we could not keep them, but the Halibut were cleaned, packed aNd shipped back home for us and one was prepared and cooked up then and there which was fabulous. It was a bit pricey as was the shipping but all in all we felt it was worth it and Baranof was a good operation and is highly recommended. We went in early June and really lucked out with a beautiful day in the 60s and no rain. The town was cute to walk through also with some good shops.

Date of experience: June 2014
4  Thank j-sfromdenver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2014

We booked our Salmon fishing trip through the Disney cruise line. The folks they go through are absolutely fabulous. We boarded a bus with the most informative and hilarious bus driver who took us the 30 min or so to Knudson Cove.
While the bus driver gave us lots of great local information and history, the fishing guide on the bus also filled us in on everything we needed to know before heading off with our captains. She divided the whole bus perfectly into our small 4-6 people groups. Knowing we were a family of 4 that wanted a private experience, she was careful to place us in a four person boat.
Once at the marina we met Axel, our captain. Axel is a young local captain and very knowledgable. He was great with the kids and with the adults. Although we have never fished before he made sure we were comfortable doing as much or as little as we liked and listened to our needs. It was our trip. We wanted to do as much as possible on our own and so he patiently taught us how to do that. We caught 22 beautiful salmon as a family of 4. That's a lot of salmon that arrived at our door a few days later!
We saw lots of bald eagles along the way and bonded as a family.
Axel and the whole outfit at the marina made everything really easy for us. Everything we needed was provided, including Helly Rain Gear--- I just had my white (whoops) rain jacket from a marathon. It's great protection in my cozy lower 48 variety of rain, but hardly great for a fishing boat, and all of those fish scales, in Alaska. Usually the touches you appreciate are more luxurious, ya know? That's Alaska, and this fishing trip leaves us hungry for more.
Fishing licenses and King Salmon stamp were taken care of on the boat. It's $20 for each adult plus $10 for the stamp. We appreciated that they didn't recommend the stamp since the kids could each take one without a stamp. Not being peak of King season we weren't expected many, and as it turned out we caught 3, but all were too small to keep. Glad we were steered honestly in the right direction.
Axel had us out to the very last minute (as we desired) and once we helped him lay the fish out on the dock (he would have been happy to haul it all off the boat himself) the processing guy was right there to take care of the paperwork to get it processed an home. No fuss, just done.
My boys are 7 and 10. I will say the 7 yr old had a little trouble with the fishing once it got going. He caught his first fish, but as we proceeded to haul in a huge catch, I think the fish got to him. There is a fair amount of blood with those big hooks and the bonking of the fish for lights out. A very weak stomach may have an issue. But this is a great way to help kids appreciate where food comes from and the effort it takes to acquire food. My 10 yr old and I thanked each fish for its life and he can't wait to do more fishing!

Date of experience: July 2014
3  Thank BSach72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2014

We had a family of 5: grandma, mom and dad, and a 3 yr old and a 1 yr old on the "Paris Aurora". Capt. Tony was the best (energetic and knowledgeable). He entertained us with his fish stories, helped us in every way he could and was determined for us to catch a lot of salmon. We couldn't have enjoyed our morning more, we caught lots of fish, and he had a special treat for us on the way back in to shore. He also had a Scooby-Doo life jacket for the active 3 yr old. Fishing was one of the highlights of our Alaska vacation. He picked us up at the dock and returned us to the shopping district of Ketchikan per our request. We couldn't have had a safer or more fun trip. Highly recommend! Alice Snodgrass of Tempe, AZ

Date of experience: July 2014
2  Thank Alice S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2014

There is a large creek that flows through the town to the ocean. You will notice it as you survey a map of the waterfront. At the spot where the creek meets the ocean there is great fishing, all you need is some gear and spooner lures. Up the creek a little way, you will find the salmon hatchery and a little bit further on, the old brothel.

Since you can do all these things in the rain,you have a guarantee of a good time in Ketchikan.

Date of experience: July 2014
3  Thank Beverley C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews