We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Misty Fjords/Last Side Trip” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Allen Marine Tours

Allen Marine Tours
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: *Misty Fjords & Wilderness Explorer - 4.5 hour Day Tour* Explore Misty Fjords, one of nature's most spectacular creations, while cruising in luxury aboard one of the fastest sightseeing vessels in Alaska. You'll stop to view an active bald eagle's nest, a Tlingit pictograph, and New Eddystone Rock; an immense volcanic spire rising from the emerald sea. Delight in the unhurried exploration of Rudyerd Bay and learn the natural history of the fjords while gliding quietly near 3,000-foot vertical cliffs and glistening waterfalls.
Useful Information: Food available for purchase, Wheelchair access, Bathroom facilities
Muskego, WI
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Misty Fjords/Last Side Trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

We arrived in Ketchikan mid-morning on Saturday 06/08/13 to solid rain....looking out our balcony over the city all I could think of was ugh! There was no way our combination rain/light jackets were going to hold up to this! Fortunately by the time we were allowed off the ship it had slowed to a mild "mist." We had a very short walk from our pier to the Allen Marine pier and our high speed catamaran. Fully enclosed with an outdoor viewing deck up one level. Our hosts were VERY knowledgeable and friendly. While seafood isn't our favorite, the video about the salmon industry as well as the samplings were quite enjoyable. We especially loved the vegetarian chili and actually wrote back for the recipe. The day turned out to be beautiful where we traveled to and many eagles nesting, fishing and soaring. We passed by the volcanic "plug" and got further into the channels than usual they told us as we were able to travel into what they called "God's pocket." We slowed /stopped to view interesting sights and were allowed sufficient photo time at those stops. We were VERY pleased with cost / value. And the sun was out when we arrived back in Ketchikan! Albeit still puddles everywhere....

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lee K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    19
    9
    4
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
97 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

I was disappointed that about three of the four hours of this excursion was spent on the boat to and from the Misty Fjords. We had no time left to see the rest of Ketchikan. While the crew did a nice job of keeping us active on the boat with their narration, serving sweet rolls, soup and salmon, I felt that this excursion was also very over-priced. It was also a very cloudy day when we went on this tour, so the sites we not as beautiful as I'm sure they can be in the sunshine. I know that the weather isn't the fault of Allen Marine, but it did of course affect our experience.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank KentBert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greeley, Colorado
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best narrative of Alaska with breath taking views”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013

The best part of this tour was our narrator - I am sorry I cannot remember her name. The entire crew are native Alaskan's. She was so incredibly knowledgeable. NO script. She talked about glacier history, mineral deposits, vegetation, birds and other wild life though out Alaska - not just in the Fjords. She talked about culture and lifestyles. Living on an island like Ketchikan has some real challenges. It was an incredible morning and the entire crew was friendly. This was well worth the time and cost. The scenery is magnificent. The chowder, smoked salmon sample and hot beverages were complimentary.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank mcm624
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
48 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Yuo have to see it with your own eyes!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013

Alaska is beautiful and the reason for its beauty is because it has amazing out of the ordinary scenery and you cant find anywhere else. Misty Fjord will not disapoint your eyes, it is beautiful!!We took a total of 3 Allen Marine tours during our Alaska Cruise (Whale watching, Misty Fjord and Tracy Arm Fjord) and we were not dissapointed. This is a very well run company that knows what people go to Alaska for, and they deliver. They have naturalists on board of the vessels and these people not only know their stuff but love what they do. I am planning of going back to Alaska and I have no hesitation booking any future escursions with them.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank travel-manic215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsville
Level Contributor
302 reviews
104 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
“Loved the Misty Fjords!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013

We chose to take the Misty Fjords & Wilderness Explorer Cruise as our shore excursion the one day we were in Ketchikan. I would have been disappointed to miss this. Yes, it took us approx. 1 1/2 hrs. to get to the fjords from when we left our cruise ship, but it was so worth it. You are free to stay inside the boat as you navigate to the fjords, or you can step out onto the open deck. They provide binoculars for wildlife viewing. Food and beverages are available for purchase. It was very pleasant and very scenic. A well run operation.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank pasbuffalo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Allen Marine Tours also viewed

 

Been to Allen Marine Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing