We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Crab, Crab.....more Crab.....” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of George Inlet Crab Feast

George Inlet Crab Feast
Ranked #1 of 65 Restaurants in Ketchikan
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Scenic view, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: You have it listed in your forum
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Crab, Crab.....more Crab.....”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2014

My son said he has never gotten full eating crab..... that has changed now. We booked this tour through our cruise ship. Did a rainforest walk and then went to eat here. Eating here made the tour worth it. The atmosphere was great, hosts were fun, music lively. If you enjoy crab, you can not miss this experience!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank kellypeace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

480 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    418
    42
    11
    8
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Monica, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing Day!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2014

We booked this tour independent of the ship we were traveling on because we had experienced it before and kind of knew the ropes. There were 5 adults and 4 children. We were met at the dock right on time and driven to George Inlet by the owner for our amazing crab fest. Emily was our server and she did a wonderful job accomodating our appetite for crab! Once we finished our lunch, we were put on a boat with Capt. Gil and Heather for an amazing experience. Gil found his eagle friends high in the trees and lured them close to us with a call and some fish. We were able to watch these incredible creatures come in a swoop up fish right in front of us. Heather did an awesome job telling us the history of the area and showing us how crabs are caught. Everything about this tour was absolutely perfect!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RML924
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fernley, Nevada, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“One of the crabiest places ;-) www.getthecrabs.com”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2014

This unique place is south of Ketchikan, Alaska, on the George Inlet. Took a tour motorcoach from the cruise ship dock to George Inlet Lodge, descended 72 steps to the waterside, and boarded a vessel that took a group of roughly 30 out on the water. The guide Kiki was very upbeat and chipper, giving an outstanding narration of the environs and about crabbing. She selected two young boys to help pull in the crabpots, and gave us a really good demonstration on crabs! Minimum legal size to eat, for instance is 6.5 inches. We learned how to tell a male from a female: on their "undercarriage", look for 'the Washington Monument' for the males, the 'Capitol Dome' for the females! Back at the lodge we were given a brief instruction on how to "crack in" to the meat, and then we all crabbed out! A festive atmosphere prevailed, multiple parties seated together and made the experience even more enjoyable. A contest for the highest pile of shell was started, and the crab-crazy diners cracked, munched, and piled the shells way up high! The first prize went to the table having 72 inches, but in addition to the shells were plates, glasses, straws, etc. Soon enough it was time for cheesecake with Alaska blueberry topping, then a pleasant motorcoach ride back to the dock. The driver, not missing a beat, told crab jokes and bear stories all the way back to town...

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ray B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Lots of great crab”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2014

My wife and I went to the George Inlet Lodge as an excursion on our NCL Alaska cruise. After a short 30 minute bus trip we arrived at the lodge. It is about a 75 step walkway from the road down the hill to the lodge, if you can’t do that they provide a van for those who need it. Kim was our server and my wife had the most amazing crab, freshly caught, served warm, as much as you could possibly eat. She ate 4 whole large crabs. If you are not into crab, like me, they do have alternative meals that are very good. After the fest we flew on a seaplane back to Ketchikan. What a great flight.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank az s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holyhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Crab at its best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2014

This was a fanastic meal, the crab was out of this world and then the desert of cheesecake sent us into heaven. Thank you

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Goronwy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed George Inlet Crab Feast also viewed

 

Been to George Inlet Crab Feast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing