We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing crab - all you can eat”

George Inlet Crab Feast
Ranked #1 of 67 Restaurants in Ketchikan
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: You have it listed in your forum
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Amazing crab - all you can eat”
Reviewed July 13, 2013

George Inlet lodge is about a half-hour drive from the port. Pretty scenery on the coast road.

We booked in advance through catchcrabs.com and they handled the pickup at the port - bring your phone because the pier is a big area and lots of walking traffic. Give them a call when you're on the dock. We booked individually rather than pay 3x, what the cruise charges.

From the dock we saw a couple of Killer Whales transiting and a baby breaching. You can take a boat ride or float plane to/from the restaurant - we elected to ride in the van.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank SDAdventure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

487 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    423
    44
    11
    8
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Buffalo, New York, United States
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing Wilderness Experience and Crab Feast!”
Reviewed July 7, 2013

This was truly outstanding. Our boat guides were informative and funny. Then, we got to the lodge and the crab delicious...plus they just kept bringing out more and more! And if that wasn't enough, the blueberry cheesecake was amazing! Thank you all for a wonderful excursion in Ketchikan!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Patrick I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denton, Texas
Level Contributor
49 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“So good, we're doing it again this year”
Reviewed June 17, 2013 via mobile

Our guide on the boat was adorable, and I now know how to tell a he-crab from a she-crab. The 79 steps are a little daunting, but fear not ... fantastic, sweet, tasty, perfectly cooked crab await your labors. The staff are charming, prompt, and did I mention the crab is utterly wonderful? It's a rather spendy shore excursion from most of the cruise ships, but did I mention the crab is sooo delicious? It's an experience unique to Alaska and Ketchikan -- you'll never replicate this day anywhere else.
One very nice and unexpected surprise -- the wind blew off my husband's ballcap while we were on the boat, and we couldn't retrieve it. When we got to the restaurant, our guide replaced it with one of their own. It says, "I caught crabs at George Inlet." He will never wear it in public ever again.
Lovely people, great food, a great experience, gorgeous scenery. We look forward to returning, spendy or not. Hey, George Inlet folks, we'll be back on August 8, 2013!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank Anne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prescott, Arizona
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Yes, you can go back and it's still great!”
Reviewed June 9, 2013

In 2006, we went to George Inlet for the crab feast with two other couples on a cruise. Staff was great, very helpful..how DO you crack those things open?? The crab was SO yummy! Memories of this place surfaced on our latest Alaska cruise. We wondered if it would be as good as we remembered? And the answer is a resounding yes! Great staff, Wonderful crab, atmosphere is the best. This little gem is tucked back into the forest and we hope it stays around for a long long time so we can go back and have more delicious crab. That reviewer who wanted to get their hands dirty sorting crabs like on that tv show must not know that dungeness don't live in the high seas, preferring the inlets around of coastal Alaska. The boat tour is fun and informative and is a must before you start to chow down on the crab. We'll be back!!
And the best part is they will ship to you. You don't have to wait years for another trip.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Sandra S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm
Level Contributor
60 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great crab”
Reviewed June 5, 2013

One of the best crab ever eaten. Also nice you got a chance to eat as much as you could during about 1 hour. The sallad and cheesecake were also to our fully satisfaction

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Mid_aged_couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed George Inlet Crab Feast also viewed

 

Been to George Inlet Crab Feast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing