We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Short visit”

Tongass Historical Museum
Ranked #26 of 56 things to do in Ketchikan
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Short visit”
Reviewed September 27, 2012

I remember the reasonable $2 admission and some of the artifacts, photos, and display of beads, but I'd recommend passing on this museum if you are pressed for time.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank sallyyamada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    43
    15
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Impressive”
Reviewed July 12, 2012

We were very impressed with this museum that was very well laid out and constructed displaying indigenous and natural history of the area. Appreciated the friendly staff.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank 492David
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“An interesting display of Ketchikan history and artifacts!”
Reviewed June 15, 2012 via mobile

Definitely worth the time and small entry fee! A nice peaceful exhibit at the library overlooking the creek. Be sure to check out the creek views at the back of the library!

Helpful?
2 Thank Plgauthier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
115 reviews
52 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Meh...”
Reviewed June 8, 2012

We blew through in about ten minutes. It is very small, and to us as 'locals' didn't have a lot of appeal. The Alaskan State Museum in Juneau is much more interesting historically, while Tongass seems to be more about recent history and the local industries like fishing and logging. It was ok, but there were a couple of old broken displays that should have been removed, and I just didn't get the feeling that the staff were really trying because of it.
Ketchikan is a really interesting place, and personally I learned a lot more by visiting Creek Street, and just taking the time to stroll around town a little and absorb the sights than looking at old fishing and logging gear in a glass display.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Elwood_Seattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alaska
Level Contributor
61 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Take The Time!”
Reviewed March 6, 2012

The Tongass Historical Museum is one of my favorite places. I wish the staff had the room to display all the bits and pieces of Ketchikan's history they have----you know there are treasures packed away because they don't have enough space. The staff is thoroughly knowledgeable, their displays are clearly the result of much thought and experience, and they're always friendly. If you are the kind of person who wants to know something about the places you visit other than where the best restaurants are and where the shopping is, you will be glad you stopped here. A $2 fee is dead cheap for the opportunity to support a local, year-round museum.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank AkOne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tongass Historical Museum also viewed

 

Been to Tongass Historical Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing