We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“just okay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Inn at Creek Street
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Ketchikan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 31, 2014

The room was okay for our stay- I wouldn't want to stay longer due to the uncomfortable bed which ended up giving both of us back pain and poor sleep.The service was a bit hit and miss with emails taking a while to answer and the request for a transfer from the ferry completely ignored. However the room was clean and the girl at check-in was friendly and the location is convenient to the facilities in town- I would recommend hiring a car if you are there longer than a day as there were a number of walks out of town worth doing.

Room Tip: We were in a loft room- these are located on the creek away from main street and quite private from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ranster1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ketch-a-gal, Owner at Inn at Creek Street, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2014

Dear ranster1,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review and to post all the images of the room. From the images, I can tell which room you were in and, good news...this month we are outfitting our rooms with new, wonderfully comfortable, luxurious mattresses! As you mentioned, this is a great unit for longer stays and in-room cooking...and there is a barbeque on the deck for fresh salmon! We apologize for missing you at the ferry. We try our hardest to accommodate our guests’ travel needs and only on a rare occasion do we mess up. Incidentally, we always recommend that our guests use our highly-rated local transit system rather than go to the expense of renting a car. For most shopping, nature hikes and sightseeing adventures, the hotel is perfectly suited to go by foot. For longer hikes outside of the Downtown area, the bus provides comfortable, low-cost, dependable transportation to the network of national forest hiking trails and heritage sites we are so fortunate to have.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (347)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

162 - 168 of 347 reviews

Reviewed January 20, 2014

Location location, hot spot with live music and a crowd at their O'Brian's Pub and sports bar. Of course a great stop for the cruise crowd in the summer, good food and special coffee, but the independent traveler can enjoy the view, a commercial boat harbor w/pleasure craft too, access to a Jazz Club just a block away, and historic rooms that reflect the early 20th century ambiance of Creek Street next door. Access to public transportation that will take you to the Totem Parks both North and South is handy and one can also walk to City Park, The Totem Heritage Center and a thriving salmon creek. Can't say enough about the winter mood, romantic and filled with live music. The dance floor is small but doesn't stop anyone.

Room Tip: Get earplugs (weekend music and light traffic) and a room with a view, or pick the quiet side and e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AKmaryida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ketch-a-gal, Public Relations Manager at Inn at Creek Street, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2014

AKmaryida,
Thank you so much for your thoughtful review. We love this place and all it has to offer and we’re so glad that you do too!
Cheers,
Renee McL, Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2013

This little hotel is near the main tourist area and cruise ship docks, but the few blocks take you to an area more like the Ketchikan of an earlier day. The hotel is small and without all the amenities of the big hotels and motels, but it makes up for that by being clean, comfortable and interesting! It is much like it might have been in the 1920s updated with modern facilities. The stairway from desk to rooms is small and steep, but as the desk person noted, it is authentic for the era. The hotel offers assistance with luggage if needed. The view from our room was the small boat harbor just across the street and a salmon creek full of jumping salmon on their way to spawn. Great restaurant attached too.

Room Tip: choose a room overlooking the water
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Larry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ketch-a-gal, Public Relations Manager at Inn at Creek Street, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2013

Dear Larry B.

Thank you for taking the time to write your review of our property. The fabulous location - with Ketchikan Creek & Creek Street, Thomas Basin (small boat harbor), the musuem and Discovery Center and so much more right outside the doors- is a favorite aspect of many of our guests. Our rich history is a favorite as well! And, though there is a set of stairs leading to the back door that have a normal step height, our "historically correct" staircase definitely adds to the charm and authenticity. Thank you again for recommending us to other travelers to Ketchikan. We're glad you enjoyed your stay and the beautiful view out your window! We hope you will be able to come visit again.

Cheers,
Renee McL., Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2013

Sorry for the delay on this review. We stayed at the Inn at Creek Street July 18-21, 2013. We chose a room overlooking the creek. It was more of a small apartment with a dining room/kitchen, bathroom, living area downstairs and a sleeping loft above. Was great to leave our room and be in the middle of the Creek Street historical district. Watching the tide surge each day and animals that came with it were fascinating. We were picked promptly at the ferry terminal across from the airport and were also taken back to the Alaska Ferry terminal at the end of the visit. Their location makes it easy to see the various sights in Ketchikan. Had a great time in O'Briens Pub with live music on Friday. If we returned to Ketchikan I would definitely stay no where else.

Room Tip: The hotel has many stairs and is a challenge to those with any problems getting around. We chose ou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank flyingsinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ketch-a-gal, Public Relations Manager at Inn at Creek Street, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2014

Flyingsinger,
No need to apologize, we really appreciate that you took the time to write a review. We are so glad you enjoyed a Loft Suite. I always enjoy the creek below your deck, whether it’s rushing over the rocks at low tide or filling with salt water and sea creatures (my favorites are the seals). I’m so glad you enjoyed it too! We look forward to having you as our guests again the next time you come to town.
Thank you,
Renee McL, Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2013

Inn at Creek St and New York Hotel has a number of advantages. Central location, friendly and helpful staff and Cafe on site. If you have limited time this is the place to stay. However, it is an older property which is clean but not 5 stars. Transport to and from the ferry is a real plus.

Room Tip: Avoid a room over the Cafe--if you are an early morning flight; the Cafe closes at 10pm.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lorraine2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ketch-a-gal, Public Relations Manager at Inn at Creek Street, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2014

Lorraine2010,
Thank you so much for your thoughtful review. We are glad you enjoyed your visit! Our location is uniquely fabulous: providing quick and easy access to the great things Ketchikan has to offer. Shops, museums, restaurants, amazing views, nature, wildlife and more are right outside our doors.
Cheers,
Renee McL, Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

We just stayed in The Wharf at the Inn at Creek Street. It is right in the middle of Newtown with lots of great places to walk to which we loved. But the Wharf is in a very old building with a creepy run down entry (very sketchy at night). We stayed there with 4 adults and 2 children and there were enough places to sleep, with only 1 bathroom. The kitchen was great to have, and new TVs were a nice touch. The bed in the back bedroom was very uncomfortable and very squeaky. It was relatively quiet, even with the bar downstairs, except for Friday, which was karaoke night, which went late. The entry has a steep staircase, so please be careful. It would have been nice to have nice large windows to enjoy the view, but they were pretty tall and could not be seen from any of the seating areas. But the price was downright cheap for 6 people.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank megaroma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ketch-a-gal, Public Relations Manager at Inn at Creek Street, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2014

Megaroma,
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. You are right-- the Wharf Vacation Rental is a great value for families and groups. The kitchen, living rooms, bedrooms, bathroom, and walk-in shower room are all spacious and the view is amazing! We also strive to provide a great night of sleep and are therefore replacing the mattress in the back bedroom. Thanks for your input.
Cheers,
Renee McL, Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

An absolutely perfect location. Can walk to everything in Ketchikan. THE BEST ! The hotel staff picked us up from the ferry landing (across from the airport) and were most hospitable. The staff made our stay quite enjoyable before going out to a lodge for a few days of salmon fishing.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CPR1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ketch-a-gal, Public Relations Manager at Inn at Creek Street, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2014

CPR1956-
Thank you so much for your kind words. Our staff works hard to please and it’s nice to see their efforts are truly appreciated. We hope you caught some big fish out at the lodge and will visit us again on your next trip through town.
Cheers,
Renee McL, Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ketchikan hotels
2.2 mi away
The Landing Hotel
The Landing Hotel
#2 of 10 in Ketchikan
382 reviews
0 mi away
Cape Fox Lodge
Cape Fox Lodge
#5 of 10 in Ketchikan
265 reviews
3.7 mi away
Rodeway Inn Edgewater
Rodeway Inn Edgewater
#6 of 10 in Ketchikan
113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Gilmore Hotel
Gilmore Hotel
#8 of 10 in Ketchikan
173 reviews
2.3 mi away
My Place Hotel-Ketchikan, AK
0.1 mi away
Waterfall Resort Alaska
Waterfall Resort Alaska
#3 of 10 in Ketchikan
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at Creek Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Creek Street

Address: 207 Stedman St, Guest Services is located in the ground floor of the Bayside Hotel, Ketchikan, AK 99901-6523
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alaska > Ketchikan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Ketchikan
Price Range: $100 - $139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Inn at Creek Street 2.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay on the Creek! The Inn at Creek Street is a collection of tastefully restored historic properties including eight rooms in the New York Hotel, ten in the Bayside Hotel, three units in the Creekside Lofts, Preacher's House, June's Place, the Star Room, the Wharf, and Harborview. Located in the heart of downtown, each unit is located along where Ketchikan's notable Creek Street and Thomas-Stedman Street national historic districts join. Most units have small kitchens and kitchenettes and all have modern amenities. Rooms overlook Ketchikan Creek and Thomas Basin with frequent wildlife sightings by guests (including seals, salmon, and birds). For an authentic Alaskan experience with a touch of history, great customer service, and the most conveniently located property, look no further than the Inn at Creek Street! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Inn at Creek Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Creek Street Ketchikan, Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing