We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Highlight of our Alaska Trip!!!!!”

Explore Alaska Charters, LLC
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Owner description: Saltwater Fishing Charters - Full Day trips for Salmon & Halibut, 1/2 Day Saltwater Charters for Cruise Ship Passengers, Fly Out Fly Fishing Trips in Misty Fjords National Monument, Self Guided Fishing Boat Rentals, and Private Beach House Lodging with a Private Dock
Miami Lakes, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Highlight of our Alaska Trip!!!!!”
Reviewed July 26, 2013

Our Fly -out Fly Fish tour was by far the highlight of our Alaska Trip. Captain Rick is the best guide we have had in our years of fishing. Explore Alaska Charters and Steve and his family from Sea Wind Aviation is a MUST do in Ketchikan. Awesome Trip! See you again next July!!!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Isela S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    0
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Captain Rick Rocks!”
Reviewed July 25, 2013 via mobile

Look no further for the best captain in Ketchikan! I've been on many boats with many captains and Rick is the best so far. Awesome trip. Got us some big Halibut.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Aapumpwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“"So much more than just fishing"”
Reviewed April 28, 2013

The fishing is incredible!! For the past 7 yrs my friends and I have traveled to Ketchikan to go fishing with Rick and Bonnie Collins, owners of Explore Alaska Charters. Rick has great local knowledge and always puts us on fish. We usually spend 2 or 3 days fishing with Rick and the remainder fishing in one of his rental boats. Each year we bring home 100+ pounds of salmon/halibut. Most years we catch all the fish we want to bring home in the first 3 to 4 days and spend the rest of the trip exploring and fly fishing for trout/salmon.
If you like seafood this your dream place. We catch fresh crab, shrimp, salmon, halibut, cod, etc.. The rental cabins are immaculate and have everything you need to prepare great meals. If you don't want to cook you can always take your rental boat over to Ketchikan for a great meal at Annabelle's, a local restaurant with great seafood.
From watching a bald eagle snatch a salmon out of a seal's mouth, to having a pod of killer whales swim twenty yards from the boat, this Alaska experience has everything you could want. But the best part is the Collins family! They are incredible people who work very hard to make your vacation a terrific experience.
My only reservation in writing this review is that if too many people come, I may have a hard time booking my spot.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jqcole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redmond, Washington, United States
1 review
“Late June in Ketchikan”
Reviewed February 28, 2013

Me and my dad thought we would try out renting our own boat and cabin in Ketchikan and go fishing. We were up in Ketchikan for about 4 days last june and loved it so much we have already made another reservation to return this year. We went king and halibut fishing and did fairly well considering it was our first self guided trip in Alaska. So much fun and the 3 bedroom cabin was way better then any accommodations I have stayed at in town before. Well worth a try even if you are not going to fish.

Seth H

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Seth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, Washington
1 review
“Fishing in Ketchikan”
Reviewed January 24, 2013

We have always had an amazing experience with Rick and Explore Alaska Charters. Rick makes you feel like on of his own family or friends when you charter with him. He has such passion to do everything to make your trip with him the best it can be. We have went with Rick for several years and will continue to go with him. His personality is so upbeat and he goes out of his way to please his clients.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank sandra z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Explore Alaska Charters, LLC also viewed

 

Been to Explore Alaska Charters, LLC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing