We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing Place/Amazing People”

Explore Alaska Charters, LLC
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Owner description: Saltwater Fishing Charters - Full Day trips for Salmon & Halibut, 1/2 Day Saltwater Charters for Cruise Ship Passengers, Fly Out Fly Fishing Trips in Misty Fjords National Monument, Self Guided Fishing Boat Rentals, and Private Beach House Lodging with a Private Dock
Glendale
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing Place/Amazing People”
Reviewed August 23, 2012

This place has it all. My buddies and I have been staying here for the past 5 years and will be back in 2013. Both Rick and his wife Bonnie are the greatest hosts and owners you could ask for. We have stayed in both their two and three bedroom homes which are immaculate and well maintained. We also like to do our own thing meaning we also rent one of Rick's 22ft boats and go fishing and crabbing without a captain or guide. This past season while the salmon fishing was a bit slow we got into some big Halibut one of which was over 100lbs which we released. If your looking for a fishing experience of a lifetime you can't go wrong here. You can either hire Rick to take you out on his charter boat or like us rent one of his two boats and guide yourselves.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank geraldjac123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    0
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bozeman, Montana, United States
1 review
“Ketchikan Fishing Bonanza!!!”
Reviewed August 22, 2012

We just returned from a great week of vacation in Alaska. Four adults and one 12 year old started day one with an awsome salmon and halibut trip on Rick Collins' charter. The rest of the week we were self guided on Ricks 22' Hewscraft and stayed in his rental house on Pennock Island. This was truly a trip of a lifetime for all of us. If you do go be sure to have Rick tell you about the elusive "Giant Flounder."

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Edward K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frisco, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Fishing trip was even better than I imagined!”
Reviewed July 17, 2012

My husband and I have always wanted to go fishing in Alaska and our trip with Rick and his amazing deckhand was fantastic! We only had enough time for a 4 hour trip, but the time was well spent. In 4 hours Rick had us in a great fishing area where we were able to catch 12 fish and ended up being able to ship 9 of them back to Texas (one wasn't the right size and two mysteriously jumped off my line as I was about to haul them in!). The day was great and we would highly recommend fishing with Rick. We just received our 31 pounds of fillets and are thrilled with our haul in such a short time. Thanks Rick and we will definitely tell others about you!!! Tell Andy we said hi... we could see he is going to be a great fisherman too!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Racine, Wisconsin
1 review
“5 Years in a row with Explore Alaska Charters, the BEST!!”
Reviewed June 12, 2012

We are a group sportsmen from Wisconsin who have vacationed wirh Explore Alaska Charters for the last 5 years. Stayed in new 3 Bedroom cabin that has the most outstanding view of Ketchikan! Coffee in morning watching eagles, whales, cruise boats docking, fishermen cruising by.....that's just from the deck! We enjoy fishing, crabbing, site seeing, whale watching, crab boiling, salmon fishing, from the 22 ft Hewescraft. Highly recommend Explore Alaska Charters, first class accommodations, equipment, people!!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Lablover007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rick C, Owner at Explore Alaska Charters, LLC, responded to this review, June 19, 2012
Thank you very much for your review! Feedback from our clients is vital, as our ultimate goal is to assure that all clients have a memorable trip. Your business is very important to us and we look forward to seeing you every May! Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, Maine
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Time in Ketchikan”
Reviewed May 29, 2012

My Wife and I recently traveled to Ketchikan and wanted to do some Salmon Fishing. We were lucky enough to connect with Rick Collins a local charter Captain. Rick was number 1 in getting us on to the fish in the short time we had. Rick knows the waters, is concerned with safety and is patient and informative. This was our first time fishing in Ketchikan and look forward to many more adventures with Captain Rick.
Forget the overpriced cruise ship fishing excursions. Contact Rick and you will be glad you did. Just be ready to catch fish. Can't wait to try the fly in trout fishing.

Ray and Carol May 20, 2012

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank 1fooler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Explore Alaska Charters, LLC also viewed

 

Been to Explore Alaska Charters, LLC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing