We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful attraction”

Totem Bight State Historical Park
Book In Advance
More Info
$56.00*
and up
Totem Bight and Ketchikan City Tour
Ranked #3 of 56 things to do in Ketchikan
Certificate of Excellence
Simi Valley, California
Level Contributor
70 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Wonderful attraction”
Reviewed September 27, 2013

We took the Public Bus from the Cruise Terminal for only .50. The bus takes you all the way to the South and then we got off at Totem Bight State Park. If you sit up front you can ask the bus driver for information. We saw a Bald Eagle in a nest.
They were waiting for us when we got off of the bus with the map. Hot chocolate etc. For a donation. The park is free. The cruise ships had their buses there. You can "listen" in to their tour guide although we didn't It was the Silver Line bus.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank YoungSeniorCruiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

673 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    371
    246
    46
    8
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, TN
Level Contributor
31 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great place”
Reviewed September 25, 2013

Beautiful place, very well maintained. The visitor center lady was so sweet and really full of information

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank pattypoo1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Babbitt, Minnesota
Level Contributor
59 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great Park for Free”
Reviewed September 21, 2013

Our cruise ship offered this park tour for $45 per person, two-three hour trip. We did not book through the ship as we were undecided. Upon arriving in port we asked the local security person for ideas in Ketchikan. He recommend we get on the north bound buss which stopped at the park. What a great ride, views, and only $.50 one way for seniors. We were greeted at the park by one of their staff members where we were given a short talk and brochure about the park. What a wonderful afternoon we had. It takes about an hour to walk through the park and read all the information. Our total cost for two was only the bus fare of $2.00 round trip.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank gary c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati
Level Contributor
24 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Moving exhibit in gorgeous location”
Reviewed September 18, 2013

This has to be the smallest state park in Alaska, but it's well worth the trip out of town (via Silver Line bus or car or cab) to experience it. About 15 totem poles, set along a winding path, right along the water, with a helpful explanation of the meaning of each. Peaceful and inspirational.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank BarbaraJ13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
195 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“Give yourself some time”
Reviewed September 17, 2013

Take your time strolling through Totem Bight State Park, there is so much to enjoy - a walking trail that takes you through giant cedars, totem poles, buildings,the shoreline to explore, either on the beach or from the viewing platform with telescope. The tranquility needs to be felt, the slower pace with so much nature and history around you. This is a special place.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Pamela J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Totem Bight State Historical Park also viewed

 

Been to Totem Bight State Historical Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing