We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Your tax dollars at work!”

Southeast Alaska Discovery Center
Ranked #18 of 58 things to do in Ketchikan
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: The Southeast Alaska Discovery Center is the gateway to the Tongass National Forest. Located just one block from the cruise ship docks in downtown Ketchikan, you can explore the amazing ecology of the coastal rainforest, connect with the rich cultures of the region's native peoples, enjoy Junior Ranger activities with your kids and experience Alaska's rainforest from the comfort of our theatre through an 18-minute, high-definition film.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Bathroom facilities, Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Mesa, AZ
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
54 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Your tax dollars at work!”
Reviewed May 26, 2012

Wow, just wow! This facility is like no other that I have seen. Very well done. Several government agencies have joined together to present the land, the wildlife, the marine life, the people, and the various industries from the perspective of the people who live and work there. Simply stunning displays.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank kmesaaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    107
    65
    6
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Alaska
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Well Worth The Visit”
Reviewed January 28, 2012

The Discovery Center is an interactive museum designed to teach people about the natural history, cultural history, and geological history of Southeastern Alaska. It's operated by the U.S. Forest Service and guides are available to answer questions and assist visitors. I would consider it a must-see if one is visiting Ketchikan, whether you're traveling alone, with children, or with seniors. The displays are well-designed, the videos and recordings are interesting and feature local people with first-hand knowledge of the area, and there is a really fine bookstore to browse through with an excellent selection of Alaskan books, maps, charts, and other information. The cost to enter is pretty low---I think it was seven or eight dollars the last time I checked---and the experience you receive in return is pretty great.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
7 Thank AkOne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
88 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“A must see.”
Reviewed December 27, 2011

We visited the center in august 2010.
The exhibits and displays are neat.
This disovery center has great work of art, an interesting movie,some impressive historical photographs, magnificent totem poles and more...
We've learn a lot about the ecosystems and the culture of the area.
Superb mini-museum!

The bookstore is also not to be missed.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank NG_Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Worth the visit”
Reviewed October 1, 2011

I was pleasantly surprised when I entered the center. Lots of information, and very like a mini-museum. I thought it a smart way to engage the general public in the surrounding natural area and native history. Pick up some maps, ask some questions, and have a nice stroll.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank MagnusLincoln
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Southeast Alaska Discovery Center also viewed

 

Been to Southeast Alaska Discovery Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing