We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing food”
Review of Alaska Fish House

Alaska Fish House
Ranked #2 of 72 Restaurants in Ketchikan
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Description: The Alaska Fish House is easily Ketchikan's first choice for fresh Alaskan seafood. Visit us at the end of Main Street, just a short walk from the cruise ship docks. Enjoy gourmet seafood dining next to the most historic fishing fleet in Ketchikan. Try a complimentary sample of our delicious smoked salmon corn bread while ordering from our menu featuring alder-grilled salmon, halibut & chips, crab, and our famous smoked salmon chowder. Ship home the same smoked salmon that we feature on our menu.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing food”
Reviewed September 9, 2013

I was working on a cruise ship which docked in Ketchikan every Wednesday for four months and every Wednesday without fail I went to the Alaska Fish House. We came across it on the way to the lumberjack show and decided to stop for lunch, we never got to the show. The service is impeccable, very friendly and informative staff who really are there to help. The food blew me away, on those sunny yet cold days it was the ultimate comfort to sit in the window seat eating the chowder and salmon corn bread which literally melts in the mouth.
I cannot recommend this restaurant enough, it is enough reason for me to go back to Alaska!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DBrown308
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

647 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    363
    208
    56
    14
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Fresh fish in a convenient location”
Reviewed September 7, 2013

Alaska Fish House is located in the middle of tourist district, just steps away from the cruise ship pier. That fact alone could account for the perpetual line at the place. But Alaska Fish House seems to draw more than tourists. More than one local recommended it to us when we asked for lunch suggestions.

The specialty is fish and chips (breaded fish with fries), and they do it with halibut, cod and salmon; all locally caught and prepared. Additionally, they offer up fish sandwiches and tacos, and chowder.

Service is no frills: order at the counter, grab a soft drink out of the cooler and wait for your name to be called. The dining area, which is crowded, is nicely decorated and offers a great view of the harbor.

The locals didn't steer us wrong. The Alaska Fish House is, indeed, a great spot for a good meal in Ketchikan.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Robert R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn,new york
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Yummy Fish and Chips”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Locals recommended Fish House for their fish and chips. Did not disappoint. Fresh, crispy and delicious. Make sure to get the halibut. Right on the harbor, close to the shopping and cruise ships. Great place to get out of the rain and grab a quick bite.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank blogginBetty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great place to grab take out”
Reviewed August 31, 2013

We stopped by the Alaska Fish house before boarding back on the Westerdam. We got halibut and salmon burgers as well as smoked salmon chowder and at it back on the ship as we pulled out of Ketchikan- the flavors were great- especially the salmon chowder.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Pedidoc123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Delicious chowder”
Reviewed August 30, 2013

Excellent chowder although the cornbread was a little dry. Fun place to watch the harbor. For a tourist spot, this was a very pleasant surprise.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Btsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alaska Fish House also viewed

 

Been to Alaska Fish House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing