We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of SeaWind Aviation

SeaWind Aviation
Book In Advance
More Info
$239.00*
and up
Flightseeing and Crab Feast
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: SeaWind Aviation is located at 1809 Tongass Ave, Ketchikan, Ak 99901. Our dock office is located behind OceanView Restaurant, and can be accessed by the E.C. Phillips parking lot.
Sussex Inlet, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

Took the Misty Fjords tour whilst in dock on a cruise. Loved it, loved it! The family run business has a great vibe about it. Friendly and professional. The flight was sensational and my husband and I still talk in wonder about the "infinity" lake high up in the mountains and the waterfall falling from it. Landing on the lake and taking in the beauty of the area was an experience we won't forget. In fact it's my dream now to come and stay in one those little remote cabins by the lake. I couldn't imagine a more unique holiday!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank jenni_nsw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    214
    4
    2
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“"Beautiful Alaska"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2013

We really enjoyed our flight on the float plane. It seemed like a dreary day but after we got up in the air it cleared up beautifully. The views were incredible. Rolf, our pilot, was wonderful. He was very informative about the area and gave us an amazing tour around the mountains and into the valley where we landed in a beautiful lake. Leslie, who set up the tour was so sweet and met us at the port to take us to the plane. If you are prone to motion sickness I would recommend taking something for that before you go up in the air. I am glad we splurged on this excursion as it was worth it seeing Alaska from above and within. It really is the only way to see these areas as there are no roads for cars where we went. I would highly recommend SeaWind Aviation.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank JMJ3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, CA
Level Contributor
234 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 447 helpful votes
“Don't miss this!!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013

Words cannot do justice to this great tour and great family business!!

From first contact via phone, Lesley Kamm was fantastic in every way: gracious, patient, fun, accommodating, extremely helpful. Finding her in person at the cruise dock was like meeting an old friend. Nothing seems to faze her.
Steve, the company's owner, was our pilot. Again, nothing but positives: with the perfect amount and tone of narration, he is also very aware and attuned to the comfort of his passengers. My grandson had a bit of "motion sickness" and Steve--the understanding father of three --couldn't have been nicer or more helpful. (If you are prone to motion sickness/nausea, DO sit up front with the pilot, or pre-medicate with 25 mg meclizine/bonine.)

The plane trip itself...OMG!!!!! We had perfect weather, landed on a lake ( a bear hid from us at the lakeshore) saw mountain goats frolicking in the snow on a mountain peak. (Steve's experienced "eagle"eyes spotted them, camouflaged against the snow.) What a privilege to see Misty Fjords' incredible beauty like this, with a skilled pilot taking us to the perfect spots from above! Speaking of wildlife--bald eagles love to hang out at Seawind's dockside office.

All six of our three generation family agreed: this was a phenomenal experience in our favorite port during the Inside Passage Cruise! Don't miss it!

Note: Seawind staff --probably Lesley--picks you up, and will shuttle you back to the ship, or wherever you want. They recommended a nearby gallery and coffee shop owned by a marvelous local artist. It is in the quite side of town, and is called The Point. Going here added to our day. The Point staff will shuttle you (free) back to the ship or Creek Street (great local shopping area) or wherever, after ascertaining your interests

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank calinurse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best excursion in Ketchikan, AK”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

Family operated business, from the moment my family and I were picked up by Seawind Aviation we knew we were in great hands. Leslie, Steve and the rest of their staff do a phenomenal job taking care of their customers. The flight seeing in Ketchikan is absolutely priceless, all six of us had window seats and the flight was absolutely breathtaking. Pilot always checking on everyone through out the duration of the flight which was still a very smooth flying experience. It's a must do in Ketchikan, not only because of the views but also because of the customer service.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank GPcali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
55 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“The kids rate this #1 of things that they did in Alaska!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

After we recently returned from our Alaskan trip, I asked our kids (ages 13 & 17) what they liked best about the week long cruise and by far, they said they enjoyed our seaplane excursion into the Misty Fjords with SeaWind Aviation. We had a great experience with Leslie in the office and Steve as our pilot. Because there could be several ships in port on the day when you arrive, make sure that you tell Leslie which ship you are on so that she's not waiting at the wrong dock!!

Steve knows his stuff and the things that he pointed out for us were truly breathtaking. It's almost surreal what you are looking at. If you get claustophobia or car sick, this may not be the best adventure for you. I felt a little queasy at times (maybe because the trip was right after breakfast?!?!) because you do make turns and minor dips in the plane.

We would definetly recommend using SeaWind to anyone who asks.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank STLATL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed SeaWind Aviation also viewed

 

Been to SeaWind Aviation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing