We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“You don't need to try if you're busy” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Alaskan Surf Halibut & Chips - CLOSED

Alaskan Surf Halibut & Chips
2813 Tongass Avenue, 2813 Tongass, Ketchikan, AK 99901
907-225-2813
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Large groups, Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Takeout
Description: Alaskan Surf fans, bad news good news. Bad news we will not be on the cruise ship dock this year. We finally out grew it. Good news is the number #1 destination food choice is relocating to the inside of Bar Harbor Restaurant. there we will have an extended menu adding such things as crab,fish tacos and grilled fish. We will also be serving beer and wine. easily reach by walking,at Berth 4 by the cruise ships. looking forward to seeing my friends this year.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
95 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“You don't need to try if you're busy”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

Having placed on the harbor side, I expected a decent fresh seafood with budget price. Price was bit high, food was pretty much Mediocre. I'm sure that they're using fresh Halibuts, but the fish and chips that they made out of it is just too normal. Not bad, but not surprising.

Dear fellow tripadvisor reviewers. 5 star is to be marked on a restaurant if this is a much go place; a food that represents that city or town.

Thanks,

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kunhyuk K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    3
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Calgary
Level Contributor
292 reviews
198 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“great fish”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

Stopped by as the shack was closing however we were offered service and ordered one Halibut and chips...the Halibut was very tasty..

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank grassislander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Halibut Burgers!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Have always liked Halibut, but had never tried a Halibut Burger. The freshest, lightest, yummiest fish burger ever!

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Tammy O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level Contributor
315 reviews
171 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Great fish and chips and chowder.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2011

When our ship stopped at Ketchikan eating at the Alaskan Surf was on our to do list, based on the reviews we read. We were not disappointed. The fish and chips were tasty, not heavy (we even received an extra piece because we mentioned TripAdvisor). I LOVE New England clam chowder and there's was great. We had a sunny, warm day and sat on the dockside picnic table enjoying our food. NOTE: This is a small structure with take-out only. It is located on the dock. When you get off the ships it will be towards the right almost across the street from the "Welcome to Ketchikan" sign on Front Street.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank W-Hartford_CT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, Florida
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“An absolute MUST DO while in Ketchikan!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2011

I'm a sucker for good fish & chips... I'm an even bigger sucker for good clam chowder... so when I heard about Alaskan Surf being "the best" by the locals, I knew I had to try it. They are in this little shack right on the cruise dock, literally steps away from the gang plank of our ship, and they're making some of the best food I've ever eaten, anywhere! The fish & chips were beer battered so lightly that the halibut was the star of the show... fantastic! I read another reviewer say that the fries were a letdown... NOT SO! They were crisy and wonderful, not greasy at all. For me, though, the clam chowder could have been the only thing on the menu. I had a small cup of it with my fish & chips, and I was SO full afterward, but that didn't stop me from going back and buying TWO LARGE ORDERS of the chowder to take back on the boat with me. Trust me, their chowder was the best I've ever had, bar none. The prices were very, very reasonable, especially after seeing the crazy prices some of the other restaurants were charging. Honestly, though, I would have paid twice as much for that meal, it was just amazing.

When in Ketchikan, they are a must do, above all else. Take a break from the cruise food and enjoy the freshest most amazing meal of your trip. As another reviewer noted... we had gorgeous sunny weather while we enjoyed our meal on the picnic tables... but even if it's pouring rain, stop long enough to grab a bag full of yummy goodness to take back on the ship with you.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
7 Thank Snowball1220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alaskan Surf Halibut & Chips also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing