We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best vacation we have ever taken!”
Review of Clover Pass Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ketchikan
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Clover Pass Resort
Covina, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best vacation we have ever taken!”
Reviewed April 15, 2014

My wife and I had never been to Alaska before, and had never fished for salmon and halibut. We went for the self guided package despite our inexperience. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Even though we are inexperienced at boating, we were successful in catching salmon and halibut all 4 days we fished. The food and overall experience was first class! We highly recommend Clover Pass to all who are serious about their fishing!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Russ S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    5
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
12
7
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Davis, CA
Level 5 Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2013

If you love to fish & I love to fish!!! This is the place to go!!! We've been twice (Aug. 2011 & 2012). We always had a blast & can't wait to go again in 2014!! Both times we returned home with oodles of salmon & halibut between the 2 of us. More than enough to last the year plus share some with family & friends!!
Our group consists of about 20 friends. We fish self-guided on the 20' Thunderjets for four days, then some of us add on a day of guided fishing to fill out our freezer with some halibut & cod.
We always see whales & eagles galore. One day were so many whales bubble feeding around the boat for hours on end, that our guide had to remind us we were there to fish. It was magical!! Like being in the middle of a National Geographic documentary!
We can't say enough about the food! Ron's an amazing chef! The food is delicious, abundant & served hot 3 times a day. You can pack a lunch to take on the water, but we prefer to come back mid-day to refresh the bait box & warm up with some yummy soup du jour. Also, don't come in late for dinner or you'll miss appetizers like Oysters Rockefeller, Spicy Barbeque shrimp, fried oysters...something different everyday.
Please keep in mind that this is a fishing camp, not a fancy lodge or resort. The rooms are comfy, cozy & clean. Perfect for relaxing after a long day on the water, but not geared for anyone who expects spa treatment.
The staff is always friendly & helpful from the folks that meet us a the airport to the office staff to the dock hands! Clover Pass provides everything we need: bait, tackle, boots, rain gear. They clean, flash freeze & pack the fish for the flight home.
Just can't wait to return next summer!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CaFriends
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ASEResorts, Owner at Clover Pass Resort, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
“Thanks for the kind words! We are happy that your trip was such a success and can’t wait to see you again next year! Hopefully the time between now and then will give you the opportunity to work off all of Ron’s cooking and to enjoy your catch with family and friends! Thanks again for your business. We’ll see you soon!”
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. George, Utah
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013

We had a great time at Clover Pass resort. They provided us with two guided days of silver salmon and halibut fishing. We also had two days of self -guided fishing on boats they provided. This allowed us to go to the Naha river where we could fish, hike, and have close encounters with black bear! All the fish we caught was cleaned, processed, frozen, and packaged for us to check on to the plane. All four of us have freezers full of fish! While we were there we had everything we needed especially food. Ron cooked the best meals and all the staff were very friendly and helpful. Even my 12 year old had a good time and memorable time with father, uncle and grandfather. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carl V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar City, Utah, United States
1 review
Reviewed July 15, 2013

First of all I wanted to tell you and the Clover Pass Staff THANK YOU for an Amazing time at the Clover Pass Resort!!! I had the best time someone could ask to have on a trip to Alaska, it was everything I had in mind plus some. Right from the get go we were met and greeted with Brent at the airport who gave us a good education of the area. Once we reached the Resort itself we met Heidi who booked us in and handed us off to Jesse who gave us a tour of the place and to our rooms, Jesse also gave us some good ideas of tackle to use and ideas of places to go. Monday morning started off with an excellent Breakfast from Ron the cook, might I say that Ron did an amazing job having a new menu of food everyday and every meal. The "BOYS" at the dock were more then helpful getting us the boat and getting us started on our way. Another special thanks to both Chance & Josh for going out with us on their days off and trying to catch some Halibut, I feel they deserve a RAISE!!! Every day we got up and had our personal little routine of breakfast, fishing, lunch, fishing, dinner, and last visiting with other guest to see what the day had brought for all. It rained just about everyday but we did not let that stop us from enjoying the fishing, between the cover on the boat and a little rain gear it would take more then some rain to stop us. One morning we went on a little tour and stopped off at the Silverking Lodge, what a nice place to stay. The staff there brought out some bread to feed the deer and sent us on the short walk up the Boardwalk through the forest. It was amazing to see how fast time went, we got there Sun night and the following Sat morning came so fast. I really appreciate the opportunity I had to visit the Clover Pass and go fishing with my Father and 2 Uncles. I had many hours to talk to my father and uncles about life and experiences they have all had, many were probably fish stories (not true) but it didn't matter because we all laughed and had a great time. I had an amazing time and would recommend to anyone to go fishing in Ketchikan Alaskan specifically at the Clover Pass Resort where you will be treated like family and receive first class service.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alonzo A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pensacola, Florida, United States
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed August 16, 2012

Clover Pass Resort provided the perfect setting for the most relaxing, enjoyable vacation I've ever had. Whether I was taking a jaunt into Ketchikan for a taste of town life or taking a skiff out to catch a few choice salmon, there is no place I would rather vacation. I cannot say enough wonderful things about the staff at Clover Pass. These are the nicest group of folks you'd ever want to meet, going above-and-beyond to make sure that your stay with them is the trip of lifetime. Thanks to Michael, Jess, Bob, Chef Ron, Jeremy, Russell, Ryder, Alex, Stetzen, Leah, Jen, McKenzie and many others for your hospitality to this Pensacola girl. I'm saving my pennies now for another great adventure next year and Clover Pass is the place I want to be!

Room Tip: All of the rooms are equally perfect. Remember, this is a fishing adventure, not the Waldorf. But, t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marymac64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho, United States
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2012

We just got back from Clover Pass Resort and took extended family and friends from Ohio, San Francisco, and Idaho. We had an amazing time.

This is a relaxed location, the staff are friendly, dedicated, work hard at all hours day and night, and make their visitors feel appreciated, accomodated, pampered and at home. It is very easy to travel to the resort from the airport in "Nowhere, Alaska." The staff make it easy!

The food is amazing. I would go back in a heart beat. And this year we caught three days of sunshine! The fishing was an amazing life/"bucket list" experience. I highly recommend Clover Pass Resort for all ages, all levels of experience in fishing, and for seasoned and unexperience travelers.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, Washington
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

M husband and I have stayed and fished from Clover Pass for 8 years or so. We ALWAYS have a great time. The staff and owners go out of their way to make our trip awesome. We have had wonderful fishing guides who also make our fishing experience one that we can only get in Alaska. This year we fished for 3 days and brought home close to 500 lbs of fish (that's 10 boxes!) between 4 of us. Now there is no guarantee on the catching part but every guide we have had in the past will find us something to catch and take home! Ron the cook does an outstanding job of providing a great variety of food. We enjoyed the nightly buffet of fresh sea food, steak, salad, desset........way easy to eat too much! We love Clover Pass and all it has to offer and we will be back next year.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gail W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ketchikan hotels
11.3 mi away
Inn at Creek Street
Inn at Creek Street
#2 of 10 in Ketchikan
322 reviews
9.5 mi away
The Landing Hotel
The Landing Hotel
#1 of 10 in Ketchikan
364 reviews
11.3 mi away
Cape Fox Lodge
Cape Fox Lodge
#4 of 10 in Ketchikan
244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 mi away
Rodeway Inn Edgewater
Rodeway Inn Edgewater
#6 of 10 in Ketchikan
107 reviews
11.2 mi away
Gilmore Hotel
Gilmore Hotel
#7 of 10 in Ketchikan
157 reviews
11.2 mi away
Waterfall Resort Alaska
Waterfall Resort Alaska
#3 of 10 in Ketchikan
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clover Pass Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clover Pass Resort

Property: Clover Pass Resort
Address: 708 N Point Higgins Rd, Ketchikan, AK 99901-9431
Location: United States > Alaska > Ketchikan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 13 Specialty Lodging in Ketchikan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
15 Miles to the North of Ketchikan, we combine comfort, style and value with amazing fishing to make the ultimate Alaska angling experience. We have 36 rooms adjacent to the beautiful Clover Passage with all its islands and some of the most beautiful sunsets you will ever see. Our rooms are located only yards away from the marina and fishing paradise, and will accommodate up to four people to keep you warm and cozy during your fishing adventure. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Clover Pass Resort Ketchikan, Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing