We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Flight worth taking”

Misty Fjords National Monument
Book In Advance
More Info
$239.00*
and up
Misty Fjords Flightseeing Tour
Ranked #1 of 56 things to do in Ketchikan
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This huge wilderness area includes hundreds of rivers and streams fed by melting glaciers each spring.
Redmond, Washington
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Flight worth taking”
Reviewed September 22, 2012

Beautiful scenery. Floatplane landed in the Misty Fjord area, we were able to get out of the plane, made it all the more impressive.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank jasminecats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

575 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    465
    75
    20
    8
    7
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oviedo, Florida
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great Way to See Some Real Alaska With Limited Time”
Reviewed September 20, 2012

We took the Allen Marine Tour of Misty Fjords from Ketchikan late May 2012. I would definitely recommend this as a shore excursion for a cruise ship passenger. The high speed catamaran provides a fairly smooth ride and allows you to get up into areas a "big boat" can't reach. We saw numerous bald eagles, sea lions, humpbacks, and of course, too many waterfalls to count. The cruise has a naturalist on board to help identify and explain many of the sights, and on our cruise, there was an Intuit gentleman demonstrating how he carved whale baleen. It was fascinating, and for us a great, close up, introduction to the Alaskan scenery, (they even provided binoculars). I would recommend for families and older travelers, but definitely bring rain gear!

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
6 Thank Jim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canyon Lake, Texas
Level Contributor
91 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Beauty Overload!!! We saw the Misty Fjords by Seaplane!”
Reviewed September 18, 2012

I have to say, by the time we hit Ketchikan on our Inside Passage cruise, we were truly on Beauty Overload! Nice town, nice people... the misty fjords by seaplane??? Extraordinary. We went out in a small plane, there were about six of us, besides the pilot and copilot. It was amazing. Again, saw open wild country, forests, glaciers, waterfalls, mountain goats outside the windows, and then? our pilot landed us in a fjord, and let us out onto the pontoon of the plane! It was still, it was silent, it was AMAZING. High sided cliffs above us, and the beautiful green water around us. It was an amazing wilderness experience, and worth every penny we paid to go. If we get back to Alaska, we will do it again!!! We booked this through the Cruise line... I have the name at home... if you need it, message me, and I will look it up. The office staff left something to be desired, but the pilot and copilot and tour? They were GREAT!

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Sheila M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san diego
Level Contributor
244 reviews
112 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Bring rain gear!”
Reviewed September 9, 2012

This is an awesome trip! We went with Allen Marine tours and had a great time. From the smooth boat ride to the incredible waterfalls, it was great! We saw Orcas, Humpbacks & Bald Eagles too! Don't let a little rain stop you, it makes the waterfalls better and I was given a soft rag for my camera.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank airbrush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ketchikan, Alaska
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Allen Marine tour of Misty Fjords”
Reviewed September 8, 2012

The cost of the 4.5hr trip was right about $175. We went at 7:30am and had purposely booked the tour on a good day. Having been in Ketchikan for about a week, we knew that you had to have a clear day to view the glorious majestic scenery. We were greeted by the staff in front of the Christmas Store in AK, and directed to the catamaran. All of the staff were super friendly and helpful. Throughout the tour, we were served several snacks: a delicious pastry, as well as a choice of chowder or chili later, and even samples of salmon and local jelly. There were hot beverages available also. The captain went beyond his duty of commanding the boat and assisted me multiple times throughout the tour. It was a wonderful and amazing trip. I would have loved to see more wildlife and waterfalls, but one can never predict wildlife viewings. We were too far away to see the eagles and seals up close, but one can make out the shapes if you tried hard enough. I really wanted to see a whale, but no luck that day. Unfortunately, it had been sunny for the past few days prior to my tour, so most of the waterfalls had dried up. Regardless, the fjord was breathtaking. It was definitely a worthwhile trip (despite the price tag)!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank KetChic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Misty Fjords National Monument also viewed

 

Been to Misty Fjords National Monument? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing