We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful accommodations!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ketchikan
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Anchor Inn by the Sea
Ranked #2 of 18 Ketchikan B&B and Inns
Mendocino
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful accommodations!”
Reviewed June 3, 2013

Our first taste of Alaska and we want more! Such a beautiful spot just south of Ketchikan. Peaceful and lovely....watch whales, seals, eagles and boats go by. Well equipped suite with everything you would want. Cooked most of our meals in and didn't miss anything from home! A rental car is a must to explore the 30 miles of island byways. Lots to see and do. Ketchikan itself is bustling when the Cruise boats dock. But when they leave it's a quiet and charming little town. Strongly recommend Anchor Inn for couples, family, or friends! Owners, Mary and Greg are great!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BettyMendocino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
11
Solo
0
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mexico City
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2013

Impeccably clean, totally new, just a few feet from a gorgeous beach with magnificent views from all suites, this Inn is a great place to stay.
There are all kind of niceties from spices to saran wrap and a fully equipped kitchen. This place is very quiet, all you hear is the gentle roar of the ocean if you step on the balcony, otherwise, the interior is warm, cozy and inviting.
It is located about 10 minutes easy driving from downtown on a beautiful road.
Very safe and private, the suites are in the lower floor of the building. The owners are always ready to help. There is total privacy with separate access and easy parking.
Highly recommended.

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent, they differ in size, distribution and price only.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mdommdom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Oregon
1 review
Reviewed April 16, 2013

I could not believe how perfect this spot was. As I arrived and walked into this gorgeous room with an amazing view of the bay/channel. It has a great living room to sit and enjoy with a large window out to the water. You can see islands and wildlife. Although I did not have a whale sighting, I know they were out there when I wasn't looking. There is a flat screen TV if you get tired of looking at the view out of the window, but I never did. It was great to have a kitchen where I could make some meals too.

The bedroom is great too. A very comfortable bed helped me sleep like a baby. Mary, the owner, stopped down to say hi and see if I needed anything. She is a great lady who is ready to take care of you at any time. We had a pleasant conversation and she even brought me something for my migraine that took me out of commission for the morning.

It sits on the south end of town and is not in the touristy area, but you can quickly get to everything you need. There is a great cove just a little south of there where I saw sea otters playing around during low tide. The is also a "beach" just a short walk north of there called Rotary park.

The only thing that could possibly have made this a better place for me to stay is if my wife had been with me. It's a perfect get away place.

I can not recommend this place enough. You MUST stay there!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank erikwithak777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poway, California
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2012

What a great find! The owners Greg,Mary (and dog Murray) were wonderful and very accommodating.
My husband and I arrived in Ketchikan from a week camping trip around 10 AM. When I called Mary she told us the room was not yet vacated and had to be cleaned. We did not have our rental car until the next day (my mistake). Mary came and picked us up at the boat dock showed us Herring Cove (bear watching) and Saxman Totem Park before heading to the Anchor Inn. The room was
just about ready so we relaxed on the deck admiring the beautiful view of the channel. We rented the Orca Suite which is just perfect for a couple. With a full kitchen, bedroom,bath and living room with a
HUGE picture window....what more could one want? Also Mary makes "killer" halibut enchiladas...ask for the recipe. Yum...

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DoradoQueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ketchikan hotels
6.5 mi away
The Landing Hotel
The Landing Hotel
#1 of 10 in Ketchikan
363 reviews
4.4 mi away
Inn at Creek Street
Inn at Creek Street
#2 of 10 in Ketchikan
322 reviews
4.5 mi away
Cape Fox Lodge
Cape Fox Lodge
#4 of 10 in Ketchikan
242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Gilmore Hotel
Gilmore Hotel
#7 of 10 in Ketchikan
157 reviews
8.1 mi away
Rodeway Inn Edgewater
Rodeway Inn Edgewater
#6 of 10 in Ketchikan
107 reviews
6.6 mi away
My Place Hotel-Ketchikan, AK
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anchor Inn by the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anchor Inn by the Sea

Property: Anchor Inn by the Sea
Address: 4672 S Tongass Hwy, Ketchikan, AK 99901-9637
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alaska > Ketchikan
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Ketchikan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Anchor Inn By The Sea Ketchikan, Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing