We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“True Alaskan Hospitality in Ketchikan”

Alderhouse Bed and Breakfast
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ketchikan
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Alderhouse Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #9 of 18 Ketchikan B&B and Inns
Denver, CO
1 review
“True Alaskan Hospitality in Ketchikan”
Reviewed June 18, 2012

Alyce Bethel is a superb inkeeper, with her three-room B&B in the beautiful town of Ketchikan.

She and husband Mike have a lovely and very comfortable home on a hill overlooking the harbor. The decor is a great mix of antiques, Alaskan historical items and fabulous art by Tlingket and Haida craftspeople.

Breakfasts are excellent--so good you might miss an excursion, lingering over coffee and fascinating conversation with Alyce and other guests.

We stayed for three great nights at Alderhouse and recommend it highly.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
15
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bay view
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2012

Great hostess, great food, great location. Clean, comfortable and beautifully furnished. Would definitely stay here again. Highly recommend - you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WARMSPRINGSROAD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wallace, Nebraska
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2011

It can be difficult to find a B&B to accomodate three couples but not a problem at the Alderhouse B & B. Not only three couples but four people who were up early to fish. Alyce had muffins, coffee, and to-go snacks ready for us. The girls not fishing were treated to an extra special breakfast. The house is absolutely beautiful and so clean. Alyce has quilts on display, and being a quilter myself, can't think of a better way to make a place say "home". No question where we plan to stay when returning to Ketchikan!!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Diane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ft. Sask
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2011

You will be hard pressed to find a B & B better than this. The attention to detail and service is in a class of its own. Excellent breakfast (No muffins in a zip-lock bag here).

Five minutes from the ferry, and a fifteen to twenty minute walk to downtown.

S&BR

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2011

It was a pleasure to stay at this B&B which is one of the best that we have stayed at.
The breakfast was very tasty and imaginative and served in bright, airy and beautifully furnished surroundings.
It’s a little bit out of town, but in a very tour ship oriented town that is not a bad thing especially if you have a car.
Alyce was extremely helpful with information regarding parking downtown and places to eat etc.
We had long and amusing chats about our mutual travel experiences which we always find helpful in planning our future trips.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NormanND
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Rock, Arkansas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2011

I don't know how Alyce keeps the place do spic 'n span, but she does. Her tasty breakfasts are artfully produced, but not weird. And the gathering room, complete with gas fireplace and a view, is a lovely place to spend early mornings, late evenings, and anytime in between. Tip: Although we could have gotten around without a car from this location, we really appreciated having rented one.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelingjupiter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Griffin, Georgia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2011

In the dozens of B&Bs my wife and I have enjoyed, the best are well hosted. I selected Alderhouse for our first trip with our pre-teen grandchildren based on internet information and my follow-up call to Alyce. Her charm and helpfulness suggested we would be in good hands. We were. The accommdations are comfortable and each breakfast was a culinary adventure (toned down for the kids' pickiness). But the best part was Alyce's care, guidance and hospitality. Fot those of you with mobility challenges, the stairs are steep. For the rest, say "Hi" for us!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pagur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ketchikan hotels
2.1 mi away
Inn at Creek Street
Inn at Creek Street
#2 of 10 in Ketchikan
311 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Landing Hotel
The Landing Hotel
#1 of 10 in Ketchikan
359 reviews
1.9 mi away
Gilmore Hotel
Gilmore Hotel
#7 of 10 in Ketchikan
157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Rodeway Inn Edgewater
Rodeway Inn Edgewater
#6 of 10 in Ketchikan
105 reviews
2.1 mi away
Cape Fox Lodge
Cape Fox Lodge
#3 of 10 in Ketchikan
233 reviews
0.2 mi away
My Place Hotel-Ketchikan, AK
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alderhouse Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alderhouse Bed and Breakfast

Property: Alderhouse Bed and Breakfast
Address: 420 Alder St, Ketchikan, AK 99901-5552
Location: United States > Alaska > Ketchikan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Ketchikan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sparkling clean, comfortable and cozy rooms, each with ensuite shower bathroom. Lounge with comfortable seating, including recliners; relax or catch up on your emails in this spacious room while enjoying the scenery overlooking the Tongass Narrows or enjoy the deck space outdoors. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Alderhouse Bed And Breakfast Ketchikan, Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing