We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Overpriced, and did not live up to wedsite!!!” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Waterfall Resort Alaska

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Waterfall Resort Alaska
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Ketchikan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Overpriced, and did not live up to wedsite!!!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2014

Combat fishing at its best!!! The website does a great job of promoting but what they do not tell you is you will be tripping over engine case the whole tome your fishing because it takes up the whole deck, You will have to fight sea lions daily for your fish, and constantly move around the 30 other boats in the tight space. Along with a very in personable captain who is sick and does he what he wants and not what you do as the paying customer. Over a poor experience, once they have your money they could care less!!! I have been to other resorts in Alaska. This was by far the worst!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Connieingram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WaterfallGroup, Director of Marketing at Waterfall Resort Alaska, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Thanks for letting us know about your trip. We actually do care very much about the experience of our guests, and we take it to heart when we learn someone isn't happy. Admittedly, there's not much we can do about sea lions or other anglers in public waters (both of whom are there because that's where the fish are). But if we miss the boat on delivering our usual legendary standard of service, that's something we can learn from and improve. We hope you'll allow us the opportunity to show what we can do at our best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    10
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
12
4
1
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Italy
Level Contributor
83 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2014

This is a specialized resort for fishing enthusiasts. Everything they do is first class.

1. The area is pristine and gorgeous. The flight to the resort on the float plane may be worth the entire trip by itself. The island and the grounds great. Whales, otters, eagles...every moment is a "National Geographic" moment. Didn't see the bears, but hopefully on the next trip.
2. Fishing is phenomenal. We limited out on everything in a 4 day trip. The resort did a perfect job of butchering and vacuum packing the fish, and I was able to get it home (at the time I lived on the US East Coast) so it was still frozen (I overnighted in Seattle and put it in the frozen storage at SEATAC overnight). Fishing guides are second to none.
3. Food is really good.
4. The bartender is competent and the bar is a nice place to get some drinks. Although by that time, you're so tired from a day of fishing you'll probably retire early.

I'm going to go back....

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank laltro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WaterfallGroup, Director of Marketing at Waterfall Resort Alaska, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
Thanks for the rave review, laltro! We feel pretty lucky to have been entrusted with the care of this historic, legendary location. The fishing, the wildlife, and especially the chance to share great times with guests like you make for the best summers ever. Looking forward to seeing you back on the water here soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redding, California
Level Contributor
45 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2014

This resort, while perhaps needing a little TLC, is in an incredible location.
A few days here helps the stress fall away, and the bonus is you get to return home with enough fish to keep supermarket visits at bay for a few months.
The wildlife, if you take the time to explore a little, is incredible.
Deer, bears, bald eagles, whales... and I even spotted a mink.
Food it top notch. The staff who took care of us were great.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank T P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WaterfallGroup, Director of Marketing at Waterfall Resort Alaska, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Thanks for the review, TP! Admittedly it's not always easy maintaining a 100-year old historic property in the middle of the Alaskan wilderness (for example, a storm blew the whole roof off one of the big warehouses last winter!). But we believe our guests deserve the best and we'll keep working to achieve that. We're really happy the fishing, wildlife, food and the serenity of our 52 ocean-front acres all worked together to let you relax and have fun, and we hope to see you back on the water soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston TX
Level Contributor
39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

This was my second trip to Waterfall where we enjoyed every minute. Waterfall Resort is a first class operation. Another reviewer mentioned this being a "Bucket List" destination for sports fishermen, and I want to weigh in and say that this should be a Bucket List destination for anyone physically able to fish. The fishing is amazing. The scenery is majestic. The food and service is fabulous. The staff and accommodations are top notch. We will be back!! You should go!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GEMWorking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WaterfallGroup, Marketing Manager at Waterfall Resort Alaska, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
We really appreciate great feedback like this - it lets us know what we're doing right! We believe matching a legendary location like ours with a simple dedication to the best all-inclusive hospitality is the not-so-secret reason why we've hosted over 60,000 guests in our time, making Waterfall Resort the most popular fishing lodge in Alaska. Looking forward to welcoming you back next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
129 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013

This was my fourth trip to Waterfall Resort. The rooms are nice and the food is first class and the fishing is great. They pack you a lunch with sandwiches cookies fried chicken chips soda beer or anything you want. Herman our guide was excellent and he seemed to really enjoy taking us out. I have had some so so guides so we were pleased to get lucky and get Herman. At dinner you get salmon and halibut prime rib and filets and salads and oysters and shrimp salad bar ice cream cakes. You can really eat as much as you want. there is also a bar. wine comes with dinner. I came home with 90 pounds of fish packed and frozen. This is my number one pick for Alaska fishing. If you enjoy fishing and fine food you can't go wrong.

Room Tip: I stay in the Egg house suites
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CaliforniaDon1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WaterfallGroup, Marketing Manager at Waterfall Resort Alaska, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Don, thanks for kind words about Waterfall Resort! We understand that folks come here first and foremost for the legendary sport fishing, but we believe a real all-inclusive hospitality experience means lots of hearty food to keep you going, a good night's sleep after a busy day on the water, and warm friendly service around the clock. Great tip on upgrading the Egg House suites! Hope to see you back on the water again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, Nebraska
Level Contributor
90 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2013

Spent 4 days fishing at this resort and it was wonderful. For any Sports Fisherman this has to be on your bucket list, the fishing here is incredible, thanks to our guide Kerry I caught a 28 lb King Salmon, a 35 lb Ling Cod, a 30 lb halibut and a 16 lb red snapper and about 30 silver salmon and black sea bass. The cottages are quaint and nice, you spend no time in them other than sleeping. They put on a buffet style breakfast and dinner each day and the Lagoon Saloon with Ron their bartender is a great place to end the day. The scenery is incredible surrounding this place and if you take the 1 mile walk up to the waterfalls you will encounter a friendly family of black bears. All and all this is just a great place to enjoy a fishing vacation.

Room Tip: You can select a 2 bed cottage or a condo that sleeps about 6
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KevinBromagen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WaterfallGroup, Marketing Manager at Waterfall Resort Alaska, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Kevin, great to hear you had such a good time fishing at Waterfall Resort this summer! Sounds like you experienced first hand why the sport fishing here is so legendary. And you're right, with the Resort's 52 waterfront acres of Tongass National Forest, flourishing wildlife, our own namesake waterfall, and of course the Lagoon Saloon, there's just as much fun to be had off the water too. Hope to see you back again next season!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyler, Texas
Level Contributor
44 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

NEVER having fished, much less deep sea fished, I was excited and nervous about this trip to
one of the most beautiful and remote places I have ever been. My friends and I were assigned
to a small fishing boat crewed by a seasoned guide and fisherman who reminded me of a character from a Hemingway novel. Nick did everything to help us but reel those magnificent
salmons and halibuts in. There is no other way to fish but the Waterfall way - as soon as the reel
drops, the fish bite. Next to skydiving, this was the most exciting time I have ever had. At the end of the day when all the boats are in and the 5 star dinner is served in the beautiful dining room, awards are announced for the largest catches in several categories. I got one for the first fish caught EVER! This is the only place to retreat to for this type of experience.

Helen Smith, Hawkins, TX

Room Tip: All cabins are excellent as they all face the mountains and the ocean. There are no loud guests be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HelenC07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WaterfallGroup, Marketing Manager at Waterfall Resort Alaska, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Helen, thanks so much for sharing your enthusiasm for Waterfall Resort! We can't really take credit for being located by some of the most legendary sport fishing spots in Alaska. But we do take pride in matching that up with an expertise in our crew and service so anglers of any skill level can enjoy the time of their lives. We hope to welcome you back on the water again next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ketchikan hotels
0.1 mi away
Cape Fox Lodge
Cape Fox Lodge
#3 of 11 in Ketchikan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
0.2 mi away
Inn at Creek Street
Inn at Creek Street
#2 of 11 in Ketchikan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Landing Hotel
The Landing Hotel
#1 of 11 in Ketchikan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Rodeway Inn
Rodeway Inn
#5 of 11 in Ketchikan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
0.1 mi away
Gilmore Hotel
Gilmore Hotel
#8 of 11 in Ketchikan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
4.7 mi away
Black Bear Inn
Black Bear Inn
#1 of 18 in Ketchikan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waterfall Resort Alaska? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterfall Resort Alaska

Property: Waterfall Resort Alaska
Address: 320 Dock St Ste 222, Ketchikan, AK 99901
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alaska > Ketchikan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Ketchikan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Waterfall Resort Alaska 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Having hosted more than 60,000 guests, Waterfall Resort is the most popular fishing lodge in Alaska. Located by Southeast Alaska's famous Inside Passage near Ketchikan, just 90 minutes from Seattle, Waterfall Resort makes the spectacular wilderness of Alaska easy to access. Built in 1912, the historic record-breaking Alaskan salmon cannery on 52 acres of breathtaking coastal wilderness now serves as the location for the all inclusive sport fishing lodge, Waterfall Resort. The fish keep coming back every year, and so do our guests. Waterfall Resort delivers an all inclusive Alaska vacation, where our expert service takes care of all the details. Experienced guides accompany you on 25' heated cabin cruisers custom built for comfort, supporting anglers of all skill levels. We provide all the fishing equipment and gear, and we even process your catch for you back on shore so you can take your frozen fish home. Guests typically return with an average of 70 lbs of fillets! Waterfall Resort is situated in SE Alaska on the west coast of Prince of Wales Island, benefiting from ocean upwelling and nutrient rich waters that attract King Salmon, Silver Salmon, Halibut, Ling Cod and many more. This destination is a short scenic float plane ride over Alaska's Inside Passage from Ketchikan, which is only 90 minutes from Seattle. We host our own Alaska Airlines agent on site to make return flights and baggage check a snap. Easy travel means the resort is also ideal for hosting Corporate groups and events. Come join the legendary sport fishing fun at Waterfall Resort! Catch the Adventure! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz and Expedia so you can book your Waterfall Resort Alaska reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waterfall Hotel Ketchikan
Waterfall Resort Alaska Ketchikan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing