We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My Ketchikan home away from home”
Review of The Landing Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Landing Hotel
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Ketchikan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 17, 2014

Convenient location. Close to both the state and inter-island ferry docks, and a variety of dining options. If you chose to order room service try the Cobb Salad, it's amazing. Rooms are always well cleaned and should you need anything the front desk personal are very helpful.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sunscreen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
akhotel, General Manager at The Landing Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 19, 2014

Dear Alaska T,
Thank you for your review of our property. We are happy to hear you feel this is your home away from home. Your choice of the Cobb Salad is a great one. It is also one of my favorite salads on the menu. Thank you for your comments concerning our housekeeping and front desk staff. Our location is a perfect place for those travelers by either air or the Alaska Marine Hwy. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Ketchikan. Thank you again for taking the time to do a review of our property. We greatly appreciate it.
Linda Peters, G.M.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (383)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

268 - 274 of 383 reviews

Reviewed May 9, 2014

Stayed here just one night on our way up to Juneau along the inner passage. The room was very comfortable, roomy and bright. Great beds. Staff were pleasant and helpful in getting information on a rental car. Decided to use the hotel shuttle instead to get into Ketchikan for a quick look around. The shuttle driver was wonderful and went out of his way to get us where we needed to be and pick us up later on. Food was good, great onion rings! Overall a good place to stay.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RoomZoom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
akhotel, General Manager at The Landing Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2014

Dear Room Zoom,
Thank you for reviewing our property on Tripadvisor. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and our staff was accommodating to your needs. Our shuttle drivers are very happy to take you to any spot within the city limits at your convenience and we are glad you made use of this great amenity we offer. We will be sure to inform our staff of your comments. We do hope you enjoyed the rest of your trip in Alaska and that you will be back to see us in the near future. Thank you again for your time and your comments.
Best Regards, Linda Peters, G.M.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2014

For business or travel in Ketchikan Alaska I have found the Best Western to be a excellent value with fair prices, good food, Great location, attentive professional service, very comfortable clean rooms with a relaxing atmosphere, always have had an excellent experience. I highly recommend this Hotel!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
akhotel, General Manager at The Landing Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2014

Dear Mark M,
Thank you for taking the time to do a review of our property on Tripadvisor. We appreciate the comments you made concerning our facility. We are happy to hear you enjoy your stays with us and also enjoy our restaurants. Thank you for recommending our hotel to other business and leisure travelers. We look forward to your next visit to Ketchikan. Thank you again for your review. Linda Peters, G.M.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2014

I travel a lot for work and have stayed at most of the hotels in Ketchikan - the Best Western Landing is the best. Most comfortable rooms, good room service, and the Landing Restaurant and Jeremiah's pub fit my needs. Only place to stay in Ketchikan.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
1  Thank Rosie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
akhotel, General Manager at The Landing Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2014

Dear Rosie B:
We appreciate your taking the time from your busy schedule to write a review of our property. We are happy to hear that you have enjoyed both the Landing Restaurant and Jeremiah's Pub. They both offer something for every guest. Our staff tries to make your room dining as accommodating as if you were dining in the restaurant. We are happy to hear they achieved that feeling with you. We do hope you will travel our way again soon. We look forward to your next visit. Thank you again for your comments.
Sincerely,
Linda Peters, G.M.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2014

stay here all the time, close to all ferries, airport, has a restaurant, has shuttle service to anywhere you want to go, always booked in the summer months with tourist, staff at hotel and restaurant are helpful

Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank Theresa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
akhotel, General Manager at The Landing Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2014

Dear Theresa W.
Thank you for your review of our property. We appreciate your kind words about our friendly and helpful staff. We try very hard to make our guests feel like they are at their "Home away from Home". Thank you for your loyalty to our hotel when in Ketchikan. Again, thank you for your comments. We look forward to seeing you at our property again in the very near future.
Best Regards,
Linda Peters, G.M.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2014

When staying at the BW Landing Plus remember to stay in the new building's. They have both wired internet and wi-fi available. Large rooms and no hint of smoke in the rooms. Modern facilities. Friendly staff. The Landing Restaurant has an awesome breakfast and Jeremiahs Bar/Lounge has very cold beer.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Robert W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
akhotel, General Manager at The Landing Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2014

Dear Robert W:
Your choice of the new building which we called the North Court building does accommodate both hard wire and wifi internet access. Our entire property has free wifi service; rooms as well as the public areas. The North Court rooms are more spacious and all our rooms are non-smoking as well as our restaurant and lounge. We appreciate that you visited both the Landing Restaurant and our Jeremiah's Pub.
Thank you for your comments on our staff and our facilities. We hope that you will make another visit to Ketchikan in the near future and visit us again.
Best Regards,
Linda Peters, G.M.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2014

I have stayed at The Landing every month since September of 2013 for work and have never been disappointed. The quality of the rooms is top notch and the staff is great. The shuttle drivers are personable and give you a tour as they deliver you to your destination.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Linda F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
akhotel, General Manager at The Landing Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2014

Dear Linda F:
Thank you for completing a review on Tripadvisor. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed you stays with us at the Landing. We do pride ourselves in our caring and friendly staff. All our shuttle drivers have been with us many years and they do enjoy talking about their city. The courtesy shutlle is one of our many amenities we offer at the Landing. The shuttle is available from 6am-10pm to take you anywhere within the city limits. It is on a first come first serve basis. Even though the van is very busy; they seem to be able to accommodate all our guests needs. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Ketchikan.
Linda Peters, G.M.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ketchikan hotels
2.2 mi away
Inn at Creek Street
Inn at Creek Street
#1 of 10 in Ketchikan
348 reviews
2.2 mi away
Cape Fox Lodge
Cape Fox Lodge
#5 of 10 in Ketchikan
268 reviews
1.5 mi away
Rodeway Inn Edgewater
Rodeway Inn Edgewater
#6 of 10 in Ketchikan
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
My Place Hotel-Ketchikan, AK
1.9 mi away
Gilmore Hotel
Gilmore Hotel
#8 of 10 in Ketchikan
173 reviews
2.1 mi away
Waterfall Resort Alaska
Waterfall Resort Alaska
#3 of 10 in Ketchikan
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Landing Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Landing Hotel

Address: 3434 Tongass Avenue, Ketchikan, AK 99901-5633 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Landing Hotel)
Location: United States > Alaska > Ketchikan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Ketchikan
Price Range: $168 - $314 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Landing Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This beautiful hotel is your first stop traveling via Alaska Airlines, Alaska Marine Highway or the Inter Island Ferry. The Landing Hotel also houses the two most popular local restaurants in Ketchikan; The Landing Restaurant and Jeremiah's Pub serving breakfast all day, lunch and dinner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Landing Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Ketchikan
Ketchikan Best Western
The Landing Hotel Ketchikan, Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing