We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gateway to Alaska”
Review of The Landing Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Landing Hotel
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Ketchikan
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, WA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Gateway to Alaska”
Reviewed February 15, 2013

What better place to begin your Alaskan adventure? The Best Western Plus Landing Hotel offers great service, a warm and welcoming environment, and easy access to the historic downtown of Ketchikan, the Inter-Island Ferry (a great way to visit Prince of Wales Island), float plane tours, charters boats for fishing excursions and much more. .

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beth T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
akhotel, General Manager at The Landing Hotel, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We are happy to hear you feel we are the place to begin your Alaska Adventure. Thank you for your kind words about our staff. We do pride ourselves in very caring,helpful, friendly service. Our location as you stated across from the ferry terminals is great for the arrivals and departures to Ketchikan on the Alaska Marine Ferry and the IFA ferry to Prince of Wales. We appreciate your comments. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Ketchikan.
Linda Peters
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

359 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    199
    127
    23
    5
    5
See reviews for
54
80
21
155
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2013

I travel to Ketchikan frequently and have stayed here many times. It's a very busy hotel, but generally clean & comfortable. The rooms closest to the front desk can be smoky, or noisy due to early morning garbage collection, so avoid those. Gym is good, restaurant good (service better than Alaskan standard), location good for airport & ferry & bus or shuttle downtown. Front desk staff very pleasant & professional.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms closest to restaurant/front desk
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PsgAKtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
akhotel, General Manager at The Landing Hotel, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
We appreciate your taking the time to do a review of our property on Tripadvisor. We value your comments and use them to improve our service for our future guests. Our rooms near the lobby and restaurant are the oldest in the hotel and although they have been updated recently they do have some noise issues.Our East Wing and North Court rooms are much larger and away from the traffic areas. We appreciate your comments about our service and our clean rooms. We pride ourselves in making sure both of these are above and beyond the expectations of our guests. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Ketchikan. Thank you again for your review.
Linda Peters, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2013

We have stayed at this hotel many times and have ALWAYS enjoyed it .. the staff is wonderful, very friendly and always helpfull! and ... Best Western has the BEST beds in the country! I have a bad back and this is the ONLY hotel I will stay at .. unless I don't have a choice .. I will drive for miles looking for a BW hotel! Their rooms are large, always clean & well taken care of ... they have a free shuttle service, the ferry system to the airport is close and a restaurant/cocktail lounge is on site.

Room Tip: ALL rooms in new tower (which is where we always stay) .. are GREAT!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank puttputt62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
akhotel, General Manager at The Landing Hotel, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
We appreciate your taking time to review our property on trip advisor. We also appreciate your loyalty to the Best Western brand. We are happy to hear you enjoy our stays with us and that we have furnished you with some valuable amenities with our beds and shuttle van. We look forward to your next visit with us. Linda Peters, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coffman Cove, Alaska
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed December 4, 2012

GREAT STAFF, very nice rooms and in a perfect location for easy access to the ferry systems, airport, grocery store and a drug store. The staff was very friendly, knowledgeable and efficient; what an asset the girls at the front desk, Franny and Mylene, are to this hotel. I was treated as if they had known me for years. The hotel has a downstairs restaurant as well as an upstairs Lounge/Pub and the staff and service was excellent in both areas. My room was wonderful, clean, well equipped and very roomy. I had the opportunity to view other rooms and they also looked very nice. To me, staying in a hotel isn't all about the room, it is how I am treated by the staff. I can't say enough good things about all of the staff I had the pleasure of dealing with during my stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lindainccak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
akhotel, General Manager at The Landing Hotel, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our property on TripAdvisor. We are happy to hear that our staff treated you with friendly and were helpful to your needs. Franny and Mylene have been with us many years and we would be lost without them. They do a great job for us and they so much enjoy the interaction with the guests. We appreciate you recognizing them with such kind words. Our hotel as well as the Best Western brand has taken the cleanliness of our rooms very seriously with the ultimate clean program and we are glad you noticed. We look forward to seeing you again at the Best Western PLUS Landing when you are in Ketchikan. Have a great Holiday Season.
Linda Peters, G.M.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ada, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
93 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

Beautiful rooms, clean, roomy and very nice and efficient staff. We stayed here twice while coming and going to POW. Very convenient to the ferry terminal and also the airport ferry. LOVED the free shuttle around town with the friendly and helpful drivers. The restaurants attached to the hotel were very nice (pricey but as was mentioned in another review ... that is Alaska). Highly recommend this hotel!

Room Tip: The newer building has an elevator ... big help when traveling with a lot of luggage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
akhotel, General Manager at The Landing Hotel, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to do a review of our property on Tripadvisor. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us while traveling to POW. As you mentioned the newer building does have an elevator as well as larger, spacious rooms. Although our East Wing also has an elevator and we have some very nice two room suites in that section. Our restaurants both offer a large variety of meals and are comparable in price to Seattle, Wash. We hope you had a great trip home and hope you will return to Ketchikan again soon.
Linda Peters, G.M.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ostermundigen, Switzerland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2012

, near the airport, there is a real good address, the Landing, large, clean, quiet rooms, perfect service, including a free taxi-shuttle service to/from every place, friendly staff. look for a room in the new part.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jean-Pierre G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
akhotel, General Manager at The Landing Hotel, responded to this review, September 22, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our property. We are happy to hear you enjoyed the convenience of our location and our shuttle service as well as our staff.
We do hope you will give us another opportunity in the future to service your hospitatlity needs.
Thank you for your review.
Linda Peters
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ketchikan hotels
2.2 mi away
Inn at Creek Street
Inn at Creek Street
#2 of 10 in Ketchikan
310 reviews
2.2 mi away
Cape Fox Lodge
Cape Fox Lodge
#3 of 10 in Ketchikan
233 reviews
1.5 mi away
Rodeway Inn Edgewater
Rodeway Inn Edgewater
#6 of 10 in Ketchikan
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Gilmore Hotel
Gilmore Hotel
#7 of 10 in Ketchikan
157 reviews
0.1 mi away
My Place Hotel-Ketchikan, AK
2.0 mi away
Waterfall Resort Alaska
Waterfall Resort Alaska
#4 of 10 in Ketchikan
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Landing Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Landing Hotel

Property: The Landing Hotel
Address: 3434 Tongass Ave, Ketchikan, AK 99901-5633 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Landing Hotel)
Location: United States > Alaska > Ketchikan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Ketchikan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Landing Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This beautiful hotel is your first stop traveling via Alaska Airlines, Alaska Marine Highway or the Inter Island Ferry. The Landing Hotel also houses the two most popular local restaurants in Ketchikan; The Landing Restaurant and Jeremiah's Pub serving breakfast all day, lunch and dinner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, Priceline, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Landing Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Ketchikan
Ketchikan Best Western
The Landing Hotel Ketchikan, Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing