We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An awesome stay”
Review of The Landing Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Landing Hotel
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Ketchikan
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“An awesome stay”
Reviewed September 24, 2011

This is a very nice hotel, maybe a little pricey. It was the end of the tourist season

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank boocharlie2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
akhotel, General Manager at The Landing Hotel, responded to this review, September 27, 2011
We are happy to hear you had an awesome stay with us. We were disappointed to hear you felt we were a little too pricey for your accommodations. We do offer some discounted rates when it is close to the end of the season; so is often worthwill to contact management to see if that is possible. Thank you again for taking the time to review our property on Tripadvisor. We hope to see you in Ketchikan again in the future.
Linda Peters, G.M.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

363 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    202
    128
    23
    5
    5
See reviews for
56
80
21
156
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alberta
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 20, 2011

Ask for a room in the north (new) complex - much larger than those in the main hotel. Totally comfortable beds. Easy pleasant walk to downtown. Grocery & liquor store 1 block away. Great front desk staff - most accommodating. Food is average for a chain hotel. Manager/owner is a most gracious host. Would stay there again in a heart-beat!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rick i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
akhotel, General Manager at The Landing Hotel, responded to this review, September 22, 2011
We would like to thank you for taking the time to review our property on Trip Advisor. We are so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and would plan to stay with us again if in Ketchikan. Thank you for recognizing our front desk staff as accommodating. We feel very fortunate to have a great staff at our property. We sincerly hope we will see you back in Ketchikan soon.
Linda Peters, G.M.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix
Level 6 Contributor
269 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2011

I was born and raised in Ketchikan - but it had been years since I had been there. This was the perfect location- across the street from the ferry terminal that services the airport, as well as from the Alaska Marine Highway system.

We had a delux king room, overlooking Tongass Narrows. The room was nice size for us- had a refrigerator (allowing our toddler a good supply of milk). When we called room service for milk and wine- they were fast, friendly, and didn't scalp us with the price.

If going to Ketchikan- this is a place to rest, relax, and have room. It is a few miles from downtown- and that can be a plus!

Room Tip: Ask for an executive King Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
akhotel, General Manager at The Landing Hotel, responded to this review, September 22, 2011
We are happy to hear you enjoyed your return visit to Ketchikan. Thank you for review your stay on Trip Advisor. We like to hear that our staff was fast and efficient for your room service. We love to see that families come to our facility and relax. Our property is very family oriented. Please come back for a visit to Ketchikan again soon.
Linda Peters, G.M.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maitland, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
98 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2011

We spent two nights at the Landing on September 9th and 10th. We arrived off the ferry late and checked in to find that they had us in a handicap room although we had made the reservation in the Spring and certainly had not requested a handicap room. The room was extremely hot and apparently had not been aired in some time. The clerk did not tell us he had put us in a handicap room and after spending time walking a mile from the designated parking, i did not feel like changing. But I should have. The sheets are like plastic and i don't know if this is per handicap or not, but it matter not as the room as not tended to the next day although we had vacated by 11AM and did not return until after 7PM. As we checked out early the next morning, i attempted to get a cup of coffee from the lobby and was advised that i should wait until the restaurant opened. Noticing my body language, the clerk retrieved a cup of coffee from the "back". Supposedly this property is a Best Western plus and the decor would indicate they are trying, but the operations need some serious attention. For anyone staying there be prepared to manage your services.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Edward W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
akhotel, General Manager at The Landing Hotel, responded to this review, September 15, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to review our property on Tripadvisor. We were very upset that you did not have a pleasant stay with us. I am unsure why you were placed into a handicap room, unless it was the last room we had available to rent that day when you arrived. We do have waterproof mattress pads on all our beds in the hotel not just the handicap rooms; but they are of the quality of normal mattress pads with a thin pastic lining on the bottom closest to the mattress. They should not feel like sleeping on plastic. I have spoken with the housekeeping Dept. concerning your comments and asked them to make sure the mattress pad was not damaged or defective in some way to cause you to feel this way. I also am not sure why you did not recieve housekeeping services during your stay. We would certainly have accommodate the error immediately if we had known there was a problem. We do pride ourselves in being a Best Western Plus hotel and our AAA rating is very important to us. We stride to provide a superior customer service and are very disappointed when we do not succeed in doing so. We do have coffee pots with coffee and tea available in the rooms, but our staff is always happy to accommodate our guests in every way possible even when the restaurant is not open.
We would love to hear further from you so we may make things right with your recent stay. Please contact me.
Sincerely,
Linda Peters, G.M.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grapevine, Texas USA
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 8, 2011

We had a great time at the Landing Hotel in Ketchikan. The Executive Suite had a balcony overlooking float planes, cruise ships and the ferry system. Food was good at both the restaurant and pub. The van drivers took you anywhere you wanted to go and pick you up. Had a little trouble with getting the room cleaned but nothing we couldn't handle. Would highly recommend the hotel. Everyone was friendly and helpful with our questions.

Room Tip: Executive suites have the best views but probably are the noisest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bmdhodes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
akhotel, General Manager at The Landing Hotel, responded to this review, September 15, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to review our property on Tripadvisor. We are happy to hear you enjoyed the Executive King Suite. They are my favorite rooms in the hotel as well. We are also happy to hear you enjoyed the drivers and they were helpful to you. We are disappointed to hear you had difficulties getting your room cleaned. I will definetly check into this further. We were running a full hotel during your stay and they may have been running later in the day with the stay overs and concentrating on the check out rooms to have them ready as soon as possible for the new check in arrivals.
We sincerely hope you will make another visit to Ketchikan in the near future and give us an opportunity to service your hospitality needs.
Best Regards,
Linda Peters, G.M.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pocomoke City, Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2011

My husband and I wanted a late lunch before boarding the ferry to POW Island, so we went to the Landing Restaurant. The menu featured several selections of halibut. I ordered two pieces of fried halibut. They were thick, well prepared, and came with a good dipping "sauce". The chocolate peanut pie was delicious. I spotted a display of huge sweet rolls and requested one to take with me. Our server promised to fine a soft one. She did, and it was tasty. This server was quick and personable.
Two weeks later, we went back for another late lunch before catching the water taxi to the airport. The halibut was just as good as I'd hoped. I requested another sweet roll but our server said they weren't fresh. This server was a bit "scattered" and our service was very slow. We requested water three times before we got it, and the hostess had to come and get our credit card for payment. However, this is a convienient place to eat when you are in the area.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank curysue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
akhotel, General Manager at The Landing Hotel, responded to this review, September 6, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We appreciate your comments concerning our halibut and peanut butter pie. We are sorry to hear about the inconsistency you experienced with your service. All our service staff have been with us for some time and we find these type of service unexceptable for our establishment. We will definetly have a conversation with all our servers concerning service, so this is will not happen to any other customers in the future. Thank you again for taking the time; as without this knowledge we can not improve to make things better.
We sincerely hope you will plan another visit to Ketchikan and we are able to assist with your hospitality needs.
Best Regards,
Linda Peters
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Magalia, Ca.
1 review
Reviewed August 29, 2011

The staff is very friendly.
The room was spacious and clean. Housekeeping staff were very helpful and friendly.
Having two restaurants and a pub on site is great.
The shuttle service makes staying a bit out of the heart of town worthwhile. Taking a cab to and from downtown or tours would be costly and not convenient. The shuttle drivers are friendly and knowledgeable of Ketchikan (Willie rocks!).

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Manny B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
akhotel, General Manager at The Landing Hotel, responded to this review, August 31, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. You are right! Willie does rock! He has been with us many years and we love him. He really takes good care of our guests as do all our staff. We are pleased to see you enjoyed our many amenities and are so happy to hear you would stay with us again in the futher. Hope you will make that soon. Thank you again for your time.
Linda Peters, G.M.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ketchikan hotels
2.2 mi away
Inn at Creek Street
Inn at Creek Street
#2 of 10 in Ketchikan
322 reviews
2.2 mi away
Cape Fox Lodge
Cape Fox Lodge
#4 of 10 in Ketchikan
242 reviews
1.5 mi away
Rodeway Inn Edgewater
Rodeway Inn Edgewater
#6 of 10 in Ketchikan
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Gilmore Hotel
Gilmore Hotel
#7 of 10 in Ketchikan
157 reviews
0.1 mi away
My Place Hotel-Ketchikan, AK
2.0 mi away
Waterfall Resort Alaska
Waterfall Resort Alaska
#3 of 10 in Ketchikan
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Landing Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Landing Hotel

Property: The Landing Hotel
Address: 3434 Tongass Ave, Ketchikan, AK 99901-5633 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Landing Hotel)
Location: United States > Alaska > Ketchikan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Ketchikan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Landing Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This beautiful hotel is your first stop traveling via Alaska Airlines, Alaska Marine Highway or the Inter Island Ferry. The Landing Hotel also houses the two most popular local restaurants in Ketchikan; The Landing Restaurant and Jeremiah's Pub serving breakfast all day, lunch and dinner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Landing Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Ketchikan
Ketchikan Best Western
The Landing Hotel Ketchikan, Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing