We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was good, as usual!"”
Review of The Landing Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Landing Hotel
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Ketchikan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 25, 2011

Everything was wonderful but the price! Summer rates are sky high.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Super8KetchikanGuest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (382)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

356 - 362 of 382 reviews

Reviewed August 25, 2011

My husband and I stayed at BW Plus Landing unexpectedly for 10 days because of his sudden illness. Our room was large, attractively furnished, and very comfortable with the added plus of a micro wave and a fridge. The entire Staff could not have been more helpful and accommodating. The hotel's van runs free of charge all day and so we were driven to doctor's appointments, to the center of town and to various sightseeing drop-offs which was a very convenient service. A faxed, condensed issue of the NY Times was available every day, the Business Center has two computers for free internet access, there is a fine self-service laundry and the restaurant was very good. Linda Peters does a superb job of managing the hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LovesToTravelOften
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
akhotel, General Manager at The Landing Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2011

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. Also, thank you for your kind words about hotel our staff and myself. We sincerely hope your trip home was uneventful and all is going well with your husband. We are glad to hear you enjoyed the Times Fax. It is a great little piece to get the highlights of the happenings around the country. Please plan another visit to Ketchikan and join us again when you can enjoy the time better.
Wishing you Well!
Linda Peters, G.M>

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2011

The motel is right across the street from the Alaska Ferry and about 1.5 miles from downtown, but they have a shuttle that is very helpful and almost always available. The hotel itself was very compfortable, though the pillows need a little work - but I am picky! The star of the stay was the restaurant! GREAT dinner with very reasonable prices and a very good breakfast. There are a lot of locals that eat hear and everyone goes away smiling. My partner also really appreciated the number of beers on tap.

The price was high for the room, but I would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: There are lots of stairs, though there is an elevator if you go outside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Curtis S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
akhotel, General Manager at The Landing Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2011

Thank you for taking the time to review our property on Tripadvisor. We are happy to hear you enjoy our restaurant and lounge. We were sorry to hear you did not feel the pillow was to your liking. On your next visit be sure to check out our pillow menu. You may find something there that may meet your needs. We hope to see you in Ketchikan again soon.
Thanks again,
Linda Peters, G.M.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2011

Work brings me to Ketchikan four times a year and I always stay at The Landing. It's the people a the front desk and in the restaurant who make it a relaxing place. What I like most about The Landing is that it is Alaska: friendly, down to earth, welcoming, and accepting. Good people. Good place.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ross F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
akhotel, General Manager at The Landing Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2011

We appreciate your taking the time to do a review of our property. It is nice to hear that you enjoy our staff and they are making you feel at home. We are very proud of them and have many staff members that have been with us a long time (some over 20 years). We hope to see you in Ketchikan again soon.
Thank You!
Linda Peters
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2011

This hotel suits my needs just fine. That being said, if you are visiting Ketchikan as a tourist or don’t have much time in town, I’d probably stay somewhere closer to the old-town near where the cruise ships dock. There’s nothing wrong with this hotel, it’s just not located in the “touristy” part of town and if you want restaurants or shops within walking distance, you’re out of luck. If you’re here for work (with a rental car) or flying out on a float plane, then it’s certainly not a bad choice as it is close to the ferry for the airport (airport is across the inlet from town) and float docks and is a decent place to spend a couple of nights. The TV’s here are ancient but the rest of the property hides its age well, and the staff is friendly. Overall the place is clean and quiet and I have no real complaints after staying here a couple of times.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nimes011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
akhotel, General Manager at The Landing Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2011

Thank you for taking the time to do a review of our property. We are currently looking at adding all new 37-40" flat screen tV's to our property. We should start this project this fall. All our suites in the newer North Court building have the flat screen tv's; so ask for one of these rooms when making your next reservations. We sincerely hope you will visit Ketchikan again soon and give us another opportunity to service your hospitality needs.
Best Regards,
Linda Peters
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2011

My first time to Ketchikan, my travel person booked me here, and I was impressed! The staff was polite and courteous, the restaurant food was great, and I upgraded to a room w/ a fireplace and a king bed, that was exceptionally clean, and comfortable to where I could relax on my trip. The hotel is conveniently located between the airport and downtown. I "highly" recommend this hotel to anyone traveling to the Ketchikan area!

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AKGIRL411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
akhotel, General Manager at The Landing Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 29, 2011

We are so happy to hear you enjoyed your first visit to Ketchikan in our hotel. Our Executive King suites with the fireplace and overlooking the Tongass Narrows is a great way to see the water activites in Ketchikan with the float planes and water vessels going all day. You made a great choice to upgrade to that room. We sincerely hope you will make a return visit to Ketchikan soon. Thank you for taking the time to share your stay with TripAdvisor.
Linda Peters
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2011

We stayed one night and were so pleased with the location, right across from the Alaska Ferry Terminal, the cleanliness, the room size and ammenities along with the excellent customer service. Their Pub and restaurant provided great food and service. This is the place to stay in Ketchikan. Courtesy shuttle is also available.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bsty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
akhotel, General Manager at The Landing Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2011

Thank you for taking time to review our property on TripAdvisor. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope you can return to Ketchikan in the near future and spend a few more days to give us a chance to serve your hospitality needs again.
Linda Peters
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ketchikan hotels
2.2 mi away
Inn at Creek Street
Inn at Creek Street
#1 of 10 in Ketchikan
347 reviews
2.2 mi away
Cape Fox Lodge
Cape Fox Lodge
#5 of 10 in Ketchikan
265 reviews
1.5 mi away
Rodeway Inn Edgewater
Rodeway Inn Edgewater
#6 of 10 in Ketchikan
113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
My Place Hotel-Ketchikan, AK
1.9 mi away
Gilmore Hotel
Gilmore Hotel
#8 of 10 in Ketchikan
173 reviews
2.1 mi away
Waterfall Resort Alaska
Waterfall Resort Alaska
#3 of 10 in Ketchikan
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Landing Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Landing Hotel

Address: 3434 Tongass Avenue, Ketchikan, AK 99901-5633 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Landing Hotel)
Location: United States > Alaska > Ketchikan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Ketchikan
Price Range: $180 - $314 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Landing Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This beautiful hotel is your first stop traveling via Alaska Airlines, Alaska Marine Highway or the Inter Island Ferry. The Landing Hotel also houses the two most popular local restaurants in Ketchikan; The Landing Restaurant and Jeremiah's Pub serving breakfast all day, lunch and dinner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone and Cancelon so you can book your The Landing Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Ketchikan
Ketchikan Best Western
The Landing Hotel Ketchikan, Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing