We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed Creek Street and Dolly's” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Creek Street

Creek Street
Book In Advance
More Info
$49.00*
and up
Ketchikan Duck Tour
Ranked #4 of 56 things to do in Ketchikan
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Once a red-light district, now an arts and crafts shopping area.
Ft Lauderdale
Level Contributor
52 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Enjoyed Creek Street and Dolly's”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2012

Quaint small street, cute shops, lots of "photo ops". The shops here seemed to have a lot more local/Alaska/Native crafts, products as opposed to the generic, made in China junk in the shops by the pier.

Dollys House is $5 admission, self guided tour, really funny and interesting, Dolly was a famous lady of the night in Ketchikan. It shows a lot of old fashioned items and you can't miss her "shower curtain" decor LOL

The Fox Lodge Tram was out of order the day I was there so that was kind of disappointing.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Sharecruises
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,391 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    497
    657
    219
    13
    5
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Carlsbad, California
Level Contributor
38 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Charming little shopping walk...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2012

Lots of interesting shops and finds. There was a little chowder shop where I was going to buy one but the cook was smoking while handling food so I decided not to. I really loved the charm this place offer, but I found that many store owners weren't as friendly as other places I'd visited.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank FunJourney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eureka, California
Level Contributor
144 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
“Don't miss this. Very nice area of Ketchican.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2012

This was a very nice place to visit and uncrowded. Full of interesting shops. Just a short walk from the cruise ship dock. We took the funicular ($2 ea.) and walked down the trail. A very nice walk, though lots of steps. Dolly's house was crowded so we skipped that.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Hayduke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Travellee3
Level Contributor
78 reviews
44 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Fun with shopping”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2012

While there were 4 ships in port at the same time, we still managed to enjoy the shopping and walking around. We just stuck to less of the tourist stores and more of the unique ones and had a great time. No salmon like we saw on my last visit but still fun.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank TravelLee3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lagrange, NY
Level Contributor
326 reviews
85 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Loved Creek Street, The Red Light District!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2012

Located in the heart of Ketchikan, this adorable street is as Alaskan as you can get. Full of history set along side of a creek, all of the homes and businesses are up on piers and are so picturesque. What a beautiful self guided tour of the city. While we were walking along the creek there were kayakers coming through with harbor seals swimming under them. Beautiful!
If you have the time rent the electric car for $40.00 an hour and go up the hill to the salmon hatchery where you will see not only salmon in all stages but eagles and an owl that have been rescued. Did you know that bald eagles can live for 50 years? Neat!

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank cerveza930
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Creek Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing