We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Must Do in Ketchikan”

Bering Sea Crab Fishermen's Tour
Book on TripAdvisor
More Info
$179.00*
and up
Ketchikan Shore Excursion: Bering Sea Crab Fisherman's Tour
Ranked #1 of 95 Tours in Ketchikan
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Come aboard the "Aleutian Ballad" crabbing vessel as seen on season 2 of the Discovery Channel's "Deadliest Catch". Depart Ketchikan Alaska for a 3 hour trip to catch king crab, snow crab, octopus, fish, prawns and more. This tour also features some of the best eagle viewing on the planet. Share the allure and adventure that draw fishermen to the sea. Fishing legends that have worked the Bering Sea are your guides, some you may have seen on TV. The vessel has been retrofitted for guests comfort and fun, with a "live" tank on deck to allow for closer viewing of the wondrous creatures brought on board. Guests stay warm, dry and comfortable while we sail calm and protected waters. This is the REAL ALASKA and you won't want to miss it!
Dallas
Level Contributor
103 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 192 helpful votes
“A Must Do in Ketchikan”
Reviewed September 5, 2012

This was the best tour we did on our Alaskan Cruise vacation. If you are fascinated by "The Deadliest Catch" TV show, this will be a "must-see" tour. My husband, who has never seen the show, loved this tour.

This tour was hands-on, which was really exciting. The guides are fun and the boat was neat and clean. Our tour guides talked about their experiences as crab fisherman in Alaska. They bring up various types of crab pots and show how they pull them in; they show different types of crabs and fish AND we got to see a real octopus! They are happy to answer any questions.

We learned so much about the fish, flora and fauna of Alaska. You get to pick up and hold various sea creatures (crabs, starfish, etc). We got to see bald eagles dive for fish. This was so educational (in a super fun way). They have a very clean bathroom on board, serve hot tea, coffee and hot chocolate. You can also purchase souvenirs and Bering Sea clothing at the small gift shop.

Everyone on board was friendly and helpful. At the end you can take a photo with the tour guides. I would definitely recommend this tour for all ages. Fantastic!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
7 Thank Durwoody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,352 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,272
    58
    16
    5
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
East Liberty
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Boating tour in Ketchikan”
Reviewed September 3, 2012

Wonderful hands on learning experience. Got to see how they catch all kinds of crab, including Alaskan King Crab. Got to hold them, bring in the traps/ fishing line was fun. Saw whales and fed eagles who swooped by to pluck the fish (herirng) out of the water. Guides told stories of their travels, fishing and working. Very interesting for young and old.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank Marsha B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Joy, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
181 reviews
65 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“A Well Worthwhile Tour”
Reviewed August 30, 2012

To be honest, I wasn't anticipating a great tour. I was more than pleasantly surprised with what the crew did with it. they spent time talking about their experiences on the Bering Sea and fishing in general. they spent some time feeding some bald eagles who dived down to catch the fish. They also pulled up some pots with pre-caught fish. While a few of the other reviewers have complained about that, I understand why they do that. Nothing would be worse than bringing up empty pots.

But the real highlight was the humanity they brought to their profession, the time they spent answering questions and the time they spent helping people hold crabs and then posing for pictures for them. I can't say enough positive things about the crew.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank GolferKen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Kisco, New York
Level Contributor
102 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great experience”
Reviewed August 27, 2012 via mobile

This was our last excursion while on a cruise to Alaska and our last port. The tour guides did such a wonderful job. They were not rigid nor did they stick to a script and that's what made it so great. The bald eagles which were trained to take their bait fish were a nice surprise. Highly recommend. We had a 5 and 7 year old with us and they loved it too.

Helpful?
3 Thank Ironfamily140_6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
441 reviews
65 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 604 helpful votes
“All-Around Excellence”
Reviewed August 22, 2012

My wife and I went on this tour on August 18th and thoroughly enjoyed it. The 3 1/2 hours we spent on the boat with its wonderful crew will never be forgotten. We learned so much about the Alaskan fishing industry, its wildlife and people. We knew the life of a fisherman is dangerous, but it was brought home to us by the personal experiences related by the crew. The trip goes through coastal waters and we were introduced to different species of fish and crabs as well as a 70 lb. octopus. We were given opportunites to hold them and learn each of their characteristics. We saw seals, dolphins and bald eagles as we travelled. The boat itself has comfortable seating and I recommend sitting in the lower deck to see everything going on. Refreshments and immaculate bathrooms onboard. Lots of great photo ops. with all the wildlife, and the crew. This trip is great for adults and children.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Equity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bering Sea Crab Fishermen's Tour also viewed

 

Been to Bering Sea Crab Fishermen's Tour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing