We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best meal we had in 10 days touring south central Alaska”

Louie's Steak & Seafood
Ranked #1 of 34 Restaurants in Kenai
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Families with children, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Peachtree City, Georgia
Level Contributor
228 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
“Best meal we had in 10 days touring south central Alaska”
Reviewed August 22, 2013

We spent 10 days touring Alaska and this was the best meal we had the entire trip. Kenai is a pretty little Alaskan town with lots of choices for meals. We used Kenai as a base and spent 3 days here. Louies was by far the best meal we had the entire trip. We spent 2 nights in the Denali area; 2 nights in downtown Anchorage, 1 on the Homer Spit; and 2 nights in Cooper Landing. We had the Alaskan King Crab Legs and the Halibut Oscar both were very good. The crab legs were outstanding. The staff were efficient and friendly. Service good. The restaurant is in an older motel but was well located on the main Kenai Spur Rd with plenty of parking. The motif had more mounted Alaskan animals than I've seen in other locations probably as many as the local visitor's center in Soldotna. There will probably be a wait for diner but it is definitely worth the wait.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bbeerbower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

344 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    173
    108
    40
    12
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Roswell, Georgia
Level Contributor
70 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Best of the Kenai”
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Great atmosphere: dark wood and dead animals. All big and stuffed. A guys golf trip kind of place with guns & rods. All that plus wonderful food. Portions huge. Gad the chowder and split the sauted captains plate.Enough for two

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Joe R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
midwest
Level Contributor
58 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Best restaurant in Kenai”
Reviewed August 14, 2013

We have been to Louie's on 2 trips to Alaska. It's pricey but delicious. Service is good. A tip though- get there for dinner before 6:00pm if you can or you will wait.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank whoa3050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stevensville, montana
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A great place!”
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Our fishing trip in 2010 we had a wonderful breakfast there. Our recent fishing trip we ate dinner there and still wonderful. The food is great as well as service and atmosphere.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank bigcreek95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada, United States
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good Halibut, Slow Service”
Reviewed July 20, 2013

The salmon were running so the restaurant was full. We had to wait to get a table - Understandable. But then we waited for water (several times). Waited for food. Waited for the check. Waited for the waitress to take the payment. The food was good though. A bit pricy, but that too was expected.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mathew P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Louie's Steak & Seafood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing