We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Trip and Fun Fishing”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kenai
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Jimmie Jack's Alaska Lodge
Ranked #4 of 18 Specialty Lodging in Kenai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 23, 2013

This was my first fishing trip to Alaska and after extensive research, and recommendations from locals, I chose Jimmie Jack's. Really enjoyed the variety of fishing throughout the week. This included silver salmon on the Kenai river, 2 days of Halibut on Cook Inlet and 2 combination trips out of Seward, and a Fly Out on the Kenai river. What a blast, ready to go back! I planned a couple extra days at the end of the week for contingency planning and/or to book additional fishing. Strongly recommend you do the same, as weather conditions dictate your activity.

Captain Art Miller on the Big Iron and Captain Frank Sanders on the Unforgiven provided experiences that were fun, exciting, and successful. Lots of fish and lots of laughs.

Can not say thank you enough to Colleen for making the lodge feel like home. She is a wonderful person and her cooking was most enjoyable. I appreciate all her effort and the efforts of the Jimmie Jack staff for making my trip a complete success.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JimmiJack, Owner at Jimmie Jack's Alaska Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2013

Thank you for your great review. This makes our job even more fulfilling when we read about how successful your visit was with us. I am glad you did our research and found us up to your standards. It is great to hear that our captain’s provided such fun and successful experiences. Yes, we like to give you the variety of fishing that the Kenai Peninsula offers: Seward Combo Trips, Halibut fishing, and Kenai River Salmon Charters. It is also great to hear that you are ready to come back. Come back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (188)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

120 - 126 of 188 reviews

Reviewed September 23, 2013

A National Geographic Trip.
Friendly guides & great fishing schedule.
We liked every moment & kept on telling all our friends this is the one.
Thank you very much all Jimmie Jack's team.
You'll be always in our minds.







Room Tip: The Lodge was great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank THAIER2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JimmiJack, Owner at Jimmie Jack's Alaska Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to give us a nice review and what a great comment, “A National Geographic Trip” Yes, Alaska is a great place to experience the Great Outdoors. We are also glad you found our guides friendly and that we created a great fishing schedule for you. To read, “That we will always be in your minds”, is a great honor. We hope you will consider visiting us sooner than later. And, yes, please keep telling your friends to come visit us too!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

This was my second trip to Jimmie Jack's, I've enjoyed great fishing both years. The guides and service have been excellent. I really like the variety of fishing that is offered. This past year I I was able to do both trout and silvers on the Kenai along with an exceptional trip to Seward for ling cod, rock fish and halibut. I am already planning a return trip for next year.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patrick W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

I have lived and fished throughout Alaska for 30 years and finally decided to book an all-inclusive trip to the Kenai River area. After researching the many services available, I decided on Jimmie Jacks. Of importance to me was the accommodations, guides and the fishing equipment (not wanting to lug my own gear).
Upon arrival, my customized schedule was printed out and waiting, as was my comfortable room in the lodge. The camp's cook and chief bottle washer, Colleen was there to greet my party of 6 and to answer any questions. Throughout our 6 day stay, she was pleasant, cheery and helpful. As a cook, I couldn't have asked for better.
On our first day of fishing, we all awoke to a hearty breakfast and packed lunches ready for us. All we had to do was drive to the landing and meet the guide. Yes, we had to supply our own transportation and this was the only inconvenience we encountered. Throughout our stay, the guide(s) were friendly, knowledgeable and had top of the line gear and boats. At the end of each 8 hr trip, our guides expertly filleted our catch and all we had to do was drop it off at the processor nearby the lodge. There it was labeled with our name(s), washed, vacuum sealed and then flash frozen. On the day of our flight home, all we had to do was drop by and pick up our fish which was packed in an airline approved, insulated shipping box that we checked as normal baggage. Through a complicated return flight (yes, that happens frequently when travelling to/from Alaska) we finally were able to get our fish into our home freezer after 36 hrs and it was still frozen. You should make sure that your return flight is more direct than ours. Booking well in advance may help with that.
Over all, our experience was great. One can do the camping, B & B or RV route but for pure convenience and lack of worry, I heartily recommend Jimmie Jack's.
William Bangham

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank William B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2013

Cabins could be nicer and cleaner with a little money and effort.
Staff could not have been nicer.
Would have been nice for Jimmy to do a meet and greet and tell us about the area and fishing.
The guides were above average. The breakfasts and lunches were above average.

Room Tip: Ask for the cabin in advance. You might also want to know in advance how far you will be traveling e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank Michael F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013

This was me and my husband's 1st trip and we enjoyed it VERY much. We loved the staff, they were very friendly and liked to listen to us and get to know us. Colleen was always there to help/listen when you needed something. Our guide Justin has a passion for fishing and it showed when he took us out. We couldn't have asked for a better time, other than to have gotten more and bigger fish, but all in all we had a Blast!!!! We would come back in a heart beat, when/if we get the time and money to do so!!! Thanks again for our GREAT 1st trip to Alaska!!
Thomas and Kari from Minnesota

Room Tip: Review the site first and check everything out. Bring necessary gear and be prepared for a fun time...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kari V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Our group had a great experience and very little complaints. We wished the salmon fishing had been a little better but the time of year was a big factor. We loved all the staff at jimmie jack's and all of the guides were knowledgeable and friendly. we especially enjoyed Justin as our guide. He was always very excited to be fishing and you could tell that he had a passion for the sport. He was very knowledgeable and we always caught some fish with him. Collen was also very good. Her breakfast was always on time and tasty and she packed a good sack lunch. She was very pleasant to all the guests and was always interested in their stories and experiences. She made everyone feel welcome and at home. Overall, Our party of 6 enjoyed their stay and would do it again, if we could afford it.
Kerby & Patti

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Patti573
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kenai hotels
0.4 mi away
Alaska SeaScape Lodge
Alaska SeaScape Lodge
#5 of 18 in Kenai
16 reviews
4.1 mi away
Aspen Extended Stay Suites
4.3 mi away
Kenai Airport Hotel
Kenai Airport Hotel
#2 of 5 in Kenai
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Salmon Catcher Lodge
Salmon Catcher Lodge
#2 of 18 in Kenai
73 reviews
5.7 mi away
AllSeasons Bed & Breakfast
4.3 mi away
Quality Inn Kenai
Quality Inn Kenai
#5 of 5 in Kenai
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jimmie Jack's Alaska Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jimmie Jack's Alaska Lodge

Address: 36065 Reef Dr, Kenai, AK 99611-8767
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alaska > Kenai
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 18 Specialty Lodging in Kenai
Price Range: $120 - $240 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jimmie Jack’s Alaska Fishing Lodge - Over 10,000 Happy Guests Served Since 1995 - Day Charters to 7-Night Lodge Packages - BOOK ONLINE NOW! King Salmon – Silver Salmon – Sockeye Salmon - Halibut – Rainbow Trout. Excellent Customer Service Since 1995 - 45 Years of Guide Experience Combined - Safest and Most Modern Boats on the Water - Great Food and Accommodations – Top of the Line Equipment – Unparalleled Scenery -Private and Small Group Trips – Beginner to Advanced Anglers – Family Trips – Alaska Travel Industry Association – Kenai River Professional Guide Association (Board of Directors) – Kenai River Sportfishing Association - Kenai River Guide Academy - Fully Insured – U.S. Coast Guard Licensed –State of Alaska Permitted - Featured on North to Alaska with Larry Csonka – Daily KRSM Fishing Report – KTUU News Fishing Report – Coastal Angler Magazine Fishing Forecast. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Jimmie Jack's Alaska Lodge Kenai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing