We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Vacation Of A Lifetime So Do It Twice”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kenai
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Jimmie Jack's Alaska Lodge
Ranked #3 of 18 Specialty Lodging in Kenai
Certificate of Excellence
Pontiac, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Vacation Of A Lifetime So Do It Twice”
Reviewed January 28, 2013

21 years it took me to get my wife away from a beach vacation! She loved it so much were going back. Alaska is an adventure and Jimmie Jacks was the first leg of this journey. Great people to stay with and fish with. Friendly, knowledgable, relaxing and fun with wilderness at your doorstep. A family oriented group of folks who care if you return! From the rookies to the seasoned fisherman these people can take care of your adventure. Plenty of options to add to your trip through Jimmie Jack as well.

Room Tip: We stayed in the miners cabin for privacy and the feel of staying in the woods. Moose came right by...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    137
    16
    7
    7
    5
See reviews for
62
29
17
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lyme, New Hampshire
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2012

I came to Alaska for the first time to go fishing and booked at Jimmie Jack's. When I got there, I was pleasantly surprised as the dirt road off Kalifornsky had me a little worried. When I got to the lodge, I was greeted by Jordan who showed me where my room was. There was an info packet there for me explaining everything I needed to know.
When I went out on the river, my guide, Jacob, was very patient with me as I had never used a fly rod and we were fishing for rainbow and dolly vardens on the Kenai. The weather was rather dismal, but the fishing was great! The day we fished for silvers, we didnt catch anything. But Jacob took us for a cruise down the river toward the inlet. Saw 10 bald eagles on the riverbank at one point. Well worth the side trip. The next to last day the river rose a foot between the time we went out and came back in 6 hours later. I wasnt disappointed as the lodge had no control over the weather! The lodge is located overlooking Cook Inlet and there were some gorgeous sunsets.
Jordan cooked great breakfasts and packed good hearty lunches for us. The only caveat was that I didnt tell them before I came that I dont eat eggs and am rather particular about what I eat. I am sure that she would have prepared me oatmeal every morning (my usual breakfast for the lasst 40 years!!)
My last day there the park ranger had closed our put in and we had to travel 10 miles up the Sterling and put in at Skilak lake. However, the fishing was the best of the week and the weather beautiful. All told the trip was well worth the money and I will go back there again next spring (if not to work, just to spend a week fishing!!)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank iamguiseppi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fairfield
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2012

I would use their services again next year,,,very good and customer focused guide service in kenai alaska. good for excelent and beginners. Very patient in explaining the beauty of the rivers, the fishing equipment. Not like some other guides in the area. if you want to catch limits and big quality fish use them... its hard to do your own fishing in the kenai and kasilof rivers you need an experienced guide

Room Tip: very good with the family or group...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ariel_nievera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seal Beach, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2012

My college buddies and I get together once a year for a fishing trip. This year we went to Kenai, Ak. for a 3 day trip with Jimmie Jack. The fishing guides and staff were excellent. The accomodations were nice. As for fishing our guides worked hard to find the best fishing spots on the river. Needless to say I caught my limit of Silvers. I would say overall the trip was great. The one down side is their web site is not updated. I would like to see pictures of the lodge with sleeping accomodations and the current fish counts.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JimmiJack, Owner at Jimmie Jack's Alaska Lodge, responded to this review, September 2, 2012
Arnold, our team says they enjoyed your group very much! Thanks for choosing us, and I hope we can take you fishing in the future for another "Big Fish" Trophy trip! Having a trophy is a great idea!
Yes, we will be sure and post more photos of the accommodations. The Alaska Department of Fish and Game does not count silvers entering the Kenai River, so there is no data. However, we are going to look into posting our boat reports on the blog next year. Thanks for the great time, and great ideas. You guys are fishy!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Escalon, California
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2012

Have made several trips over the years to the Kenai River, having stayed at other top rated lodges. From the start of planning my father/son trip, Jimmie Jack quickly answered all my emails and/or phone calls promptly. Package prices on trips are very competitive and personally feel exceed what other lodges charge. Guides are simply the best!!! All are incredibly knowledgeable of the river, patient instructors to those of us who need help on fishing techniques, and friendly. With all the extra work that is required with sockeye fishing verses king fishing, it is obvious that these guys love what they do! Lodge facilities are immaculately maintained and rooms comfortable. The gals that make all happen and cook for everyone are just as great as the guides. We were taken care of very very well. Looking back now, choosing Jimmie Jack was the right choice and would/will return!

Room Tip: Communicate what you are wanting/hoping for because they have several different options available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CJ4UNME
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Bend, Wisconsin, United States
1 review
Reviewed July 25, 2012

On July 22 ,2012 me ( Lewy) and my future son-in-law (Chris) fished with Catdaddy and limited out in 2 hours My family and I came to Anchorage for a wedding and we tried to book a fishing trip with no success. we arrived in Alaska on the 19th@ 1:30 am and meet my new brother in-law later that day, told him I wanted to go fishing,and the next day he called me and told me to call JIMMIE JACK'S. They fit us in on sunday with Catdaddy@7:00am.Catdaddy is truly a professional and a nice guy.12 sockeye in 2 hours, then clean the fish,and Catdaddy still had time to make it to church that sunday. We left Alaska @ midnight that night. We had a GREAT time. Thanks to Catdaddy and the rest of the staff @ JIMMIE JACK FISHING. see you on my next trip to Alaska

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 9, 2012

For One-Week-Package we enjoy the welcoming atmosphere, decent accommodation, perfect equipment and motivated guiding at Jimmie Jack.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colonius2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kenai
4.1 mi away
Aspen Extended Stay Suites
6.9 mi away
Kenai River Lodge
Kenai River Lodge
#4 of 8 in Soldotna
78 reviews
4.3 mi away
Kenai Airport Hotel
Kenai Airport Hotel
#2 of 5 in Kenai
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Alaska SeaScape Lodge
Alaska SeaScape Lodge
#6 of 18 in Kenai
6 reviews
3.1 mi away
Diamond M Ranch Resort
7.2 mi away
Alaska Fishing Lodge - Soldotna Bed and Breakfast Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jimmie Jack's Alaska Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jimmie Jack's Alaska Lodge

Property: Jimmie Jack's Alaska Lodge
Address: 36065 Reef Dr, Kenai, AK 99611
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alaska > Kenai
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 18 Specialty Lodging in Kenai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jimmie Jack’s Alaska Fishing Lodge - Over 10,000 Happy Guests Served Since 1995 - Day Charters to 7-Night Lodge Packages - BOOK ONLINE NOW! King Salmon – Silver Salmon – Sockeye Salmon - Halibut – Rainbow Trout. Excellent Customer Service Since 1995 - 45 Years of Guide Experience Combined - Safest and Most Modern Boats on the Water - Great Food and Accommodations – Top of the Line Equipment – Unparalleled Scenery -Private and Small Group Trips – Beginner to Advanced Anglers – Family Trips – Alaska Travel Industry Association – Kenai River Professional Guide Association (Board of Directors) – Kenai River Sportfishing Association - Kenai River Guide Academy - Fully Insured – U.S. Coast Guard Licensed –State of Alaska Permitted - Featured on North to Alaska with Larry Csonka – Daily KRSM Fishing Report – KTUU News Fishing Report – Coastal Angler Magazine Fishing Forecast. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Jimmie Jack's Alaska Lodge Kenai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing