We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sadly Disappointed”
Review of Tower Rock Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kenai
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tower Rock Lodge
Ranked #2 of 18 Specialty Lodging in Kenai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 8, 2012

I have never written a review before however I feel strongly enough about my experience at the Tower Rock Lodge that I felt I should, particularly given that I had largely chosen the TRL based on the positive reviews on this site.

The lodge is located in a lovely spot and the cabins are kind of cute however they are not very comfortable to stay in. The accomodations were very basic with really uncomfortable bunkbeds and terribly stinky running water (not drinkable and barely suitable to shower in). We had trouble with heating the cabin and we heard several other guests with the same complaint. Adequate bedding was not provided.

The food, which we had believed would be "gourmet", was totally inadequate particulary as we would be fishing all day. One breakfast consisted of a single 6" pancake cut into quarters so it looked nice...that's it. Nothing else. Another was french toast made with a single thin slice of white bread and nothing else. One poor lady came to breakfast a little late and was told they were out of breakfast so she had to eat a yoghurt cup. For lunch, we were given a cooler with two sandwiches for four people (though this may have been a mixup as other days we had a sandwich each). Dinner did improve for one night when a group showed up which appeared to know the owners (appetizers and a fairly decent meal) but then went back to inadequate after they left. It got so bad, some guests were going into town to eat.

On the positive side, the guides were awesome. They were very friendly and always polite. We didn't catch a lot of fish as there weren't many to be caught but we tried hard that's for sure.

I am very dissappointed that our experience was not more positive.....perhaps it was just a bad week at TRL. In summary, I would not recommend this lodge as it was not up to standard especially given the premium price we paid.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Eaglespirit2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TowerRockLodge, Director of Sales at Tower Rock Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2012

This is the first negative review Tower Rock Lodge has had in over twenty years, so “we obviously will take it seriously, but we will also keep it in context.” I suggested to Mark and Mike that we take this review with a grain of salt, a slice of lemon and a shot of tequila but the boys believe a fish stinks from the head down so.... Our water is tested regularly for purity, taste and smell and always meets the highest standards of quality for the state of Alaska. Here at Tower Rock Lodge “That’s not good enough!” Our facility maintenance engineer is looking into retrofitting our existing filter package with a charcoal filter. Truth be told, whether you are from Alberta, Los Angeles or any where in between, we appreciate folks taking a shower.


Tower Rock Lodges existing protocol requires the chefs and staff to mill about our dinning hall and ask if every thing is acceptable and if they would like some more, before clearing the tables. There is no reason for anyone to leave hungry. Be it one pancake or fifty, ask and you shall receive.


From time to time we’ve considered serving hamburgers and fries, beans and weenies or pizza to our guests. We came to the unanimous decision, it ain’t gonna happen. We will continue flying in five star chefs from around the globe, who will continue serving lifestyles of the rich and famous gourmet cuisine that is unmatched by any lodge. While we poke fun at the other lodges dancing around rapping “Can’t touch this” “Thats not good enough!” If ocean fresh seafood is on the menu one night but you don’t like fish, just say so and we’ll slap a steak on for you. If pizza is what you need, simply ask and we will send someone into town and pick one up for you.


Finally, all of Tower Rocks deluxe cabins are equipped with gas fired heaters. The cabin Evilspirit 2 stayed in has a lovely glass front fire place heater. While the review didn’t say it was our fault, she is blaming us so.... Our new procedure requires all guests upon arrival and introduction to their cabin be instructed on how to adjust the temperature. You’ve heard it before so say it with me now, at Tower Rock Lodge “Thats not good enough!” Every cabin will have, on stand by, electric blankets. Just say the word and we’ll have your bed plugged in and preheated before you get back from fishing.


While we run our lodge with a great deal of light hearted humor and angst, we take our services very serious. Here at Tower Rock Lodge hospitality means making all of our guests feel at home, even if we wish some were. When it’s all said and done we have to work hard here because, we’re pretty sure no one else would have us.


On a side note, if you have a particular cabin you know you want or dates that you must have, book now! Tower Rock has never been busier in preseason bookings.


Warm buns and full bellies,

Mike Griffin
Director of Marketing
Tower Rock Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (158)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

129 - 135 of 158 reviews

Reviewed July 8, 2012

Hard to add to all the great reviews here, but they are for real. What makes Tower Rock Lodge a great place to stay is the people who run it and work there - all of them. Mark and Mike are create organizers and entertainers, but it goes well beyond that. The guides, and all the lodge staff are great. Everything is organized, smooth and easy. Food's great, service is very personal, and the fishing is great, what else do you need? One snake skin shoe? They have that. Would go back any time.

Room Tip: Don't over think your room, you won't be in it very long. Our cabin was perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Matt J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2012

My husband and I had the opportunity to join a group of friends for a weeks vacation at Tower Rock. We have always wanted to experience Alaska and this was amazing. Sarah provided us with all of the information we needed to be prepared. With her help we had a perfectly planned itinerary, with time to spare. Mike and Mark were always on hand to make us feel welcome, they had daily weather and fishing reports so we could adjust if necessary. The food was true gourmet. The entire team at Tower Rock made our experience completely seamless. I cant wait to go back!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Becky29445
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2012

This lodge was wonderful. The facilities were nice and clean. The people were excellent, friendly and helpful. The meals were amazing!

Room Tip: Speak with Sarah Poynter. She is wonderful, friendly and informative. She will coordinate your acc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Denise M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2012

The name is very appropriate, Tower Rock Lodge, and it does "Rock" all because of the great people who work there. Once you meet Mike and Mark (twins) who run the place you'll know you are in special hands for the week. The coordination of events along with the superb meals at scheduled times is super. And take every effort to give 100% service to their guests.

When we arrived at the lodge on Sunday @ 11AM we were scheduled for Halibut fishing in Ninilchik at 1PM. Mike carefully gave us instructions on where to go with a detailed map and what to expect. He also made sure we had lunch before we left for the extensive fishing, which was a fantastic seafood chowder made by Mark. The Lodge also gave us a cooler full of refreshments, snacks and sandwiches and thank God we had them!! Long story made short, we successfully caught 80lbs of Halibut and arrived back at the Lodge a lengthy ten hours later at 10PM. Phoned ahead to inform Mike of our successful journey and he assured us he would have dinner ready for use -- and he did!! Wow, didn't expect that. A great meal was supplied with a good glass of wine to go along with our great fishing stories and pictures.

If you want an all inclusive trip and the time of your life then consider this location, and if possible see if you can stay in the Rock House. About 200 yards form the Kenai River!!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2012

The entire crew - Mike and Mark - Sarah and the others could make a rain-day a sunny-day in a minute. Mike kept us moving and laughing and fishing all day long. Landed some new friends and shared experiences with all. Service was great even when we needed to leave for Homer at 4:30 am. Best vacation spot on the planet.

Room Tip: Stayed in the Lodge - wonderful experience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2012

Great variety of fishing available, Best guides on the planet, Super food, Outstanding value and very friendly hosts. I'd highly recommend.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank glenn344
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kenai hotels
0.6 mi away
Salmon Catcher Lodge
Salmon Catcher Lodge
#4 of 18 in Kenai
73 reviews
6.4 mi away
Alaska SeaScape Lodge
Alaska SeaScape Lodge
#5 of 18 in Kenai
16 reviews
3.2 mi away
Diamond M Ranch Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Aspen Extended Stay Suites
5.1 mi away
Kenai Airport Hotel
Kenai Airport Hotel
#2 of 5 in Kenai
46 reviews
4.7 mi away
Quality Inn Kenai
Quality Inn Kenai
#4 of 5 in Kenai
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tower Rock Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tower Rock Lodge

Address: 38156 Woods Dr, Kenai, AK 99611-5930
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alaska > Kenai
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 18 Specialty Lodging in Kenai
Price Range: $190 - $300 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tower Rock is an ORVIS Endorsed Lodge that posses the best value and variety for the ultimate Alaskan fishing adventure. Kick back and enjoy fly-fishing for big rainbows and dolly's or join forces with the bears for ocean-fresh salmon in a float-plane. Fish for the infamous Kenai King Salmon or perhaps coax a 350lb. halibut to your barbecue! We are a full service lodge with the finest dining and accommodations on the Kenai River! We look forward to seeing you soon up here in the great state of Alaska! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tower Rock Lodge Kenai, Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing