We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Alaska you dreamed about!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kasilof
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Crooked Creek Retreat & Outfitters
Ranked #1 of 5 Kasilof B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed June 13, 2012

Although we were to be in Alaska on business this trip, we made the relaxing drive from Anchorage to Kasilof to enjoy Crooked Creek Retreat, instead of a hotel. The lodge is ideally positioned on the Kenia Penninsula, near the famous fishing grounds of Soldotna, Homer, Anchor Point and a short trek (and beautiful drive) over to Seward. When you pull into the drive, you will notice the amount of care and attention that Auntie Dorothy, family and staff have made, on behalf of those that are lucky enough (or had the keen insight to book multiple times!) to stay at the lodge. Arrive early or arrive late, something is always waiting for you, snacks, dinner, horseshoes, fire pit, the sound of Crooked Creek, amazaing deck space or even just watching a local moose graze with her young calves. Did I forget the fishing, well that is all taken care of as well! Halibut, Salmon, Trout on the many rivers and the ocean so tell Auntie what you like and she will arrange it, if you want to try something for the first time like a fly-out to view bears or an up close look at glaciers, let her know that too. The fishing guides and lodge staff will truly take great care of you. Oh the FOOD, well you must try that for yourself! The one-stop shop with customized packagages for your stay on the Kenai Peninsula is a true "retreat" just a few miles past Soldotna, accross the Kasilof River and on the banks of Crooked Creek!

Room Tip: you can't beat the Lodge Room, unless I am in town...that is always mine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank robert h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (77)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

41 - 47 of 77 reviews

Reviewed December 27, 2011

A small group of us stayed here for the Tustumena Sled Dog Race is January of 2010 and we all thought it was great! "Aunt" Dorothy was a very welcoming on our arrival and wanted to make sure everything was just perfect for us. We had a very large bedroom downstairs and I couldn't believe it when I walked in to the bathroom and there were robes! Wow. Clean linens every day and a very comfy bed. Hot tub outside... she even had extra tooth brushes as one of our crew forgot theirs. There was coffee, tea and water available at all times and the food was excellent! It was the first time that I tried Eggs Benedict and she got me hooked! All meals were excellent! Very friendly, warm atmosphere... would definitely love to visit again - perhaps in the summer next time so as to do a bit of fishing. Go visit and say Hi to Aunt Dorothy and her dog Clyde. :)

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carrie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2011

We very much enjoyed our recent trip to Alaska, largely in part to the wonderful lodging. It is very well appointed Log Lodge with comfortable, clean rooms. We had the Moose room with a balcony off the back and it was perfect for us! Robert the chef is great! We will be returning next year to see the whole gang again including the wonderful owner Dorothy and her dog Clyde. Thanks guys for a great experience.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lttharder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2011

I was sent to Alaska for business but being an avid fisherman I wanted to get on the Kenai. A week before my trip I started researching places to stay understanding that with such a late booking I would likely not be staying in the greastest of places. I couldn't have been more wrong. I contacted Crooked Creek Retreat via email to see if a space was available and I got a response within an hour. Then I called Dorothy and booked to my two nights and a full day guided trip on the kenai.

Accomodations- 5 stars - The Lodge is perfect. The architecture fits perfectly on the slope overlooking Crooked Creek. The rooms are large with oversized windows and attached bathrooms. The bed was very comfortable.

Dining- 5 stars - The onsite chef created some wonderful dishes and was overly accomodating to the guests' dietary needs.

Fishing - 5 stars - The lodge has Guides onsite that allows for guest input regarding the upcoming fishing excursions. My trip included spending the morning for Kings and the afternoon for reds. I hooked into and landed my king within two hours on the Kenai and then spent the afternoon filling up my cooler with Reds. The fish was then sent to a local processor to be bagged iced and boxed. I brought the fish home on the airline as my second checked bag.

My trip did not include Halibut but based on what I heard from other guests and seeing the fish that were caught it was excellent.

If you are heading to the Kenai for first time or have been coming for years, Crooked Creek is the place for your Retreat.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Curtirv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2011

My son chose Alaska for his 10th year birthday trip. We arrived the 25th of June and stayed a week. Halibut was hanging and other guests were enjoying the day they had on the "salt". Ocean from where I come from. Greeted by Aunt Dorothy and welcomed with open arms.

Fishing was the purpose of the trip and we were not disappointed. My son was treated like one of the guys and was looked after by all the guides. He caught Halibut, sockeye, hooked and I helped him land a 57lb King and rainbows. We were on the Kenia, Kasilof, the salt and a neat fly-out for a full morning. Saw bears, moose, more eagles than you can imagine, whales , sea otters and unbelievable scenery.

Our accomodations were great, with nothing lacking for a father and son trip. Great beds, clean linens each day, plenty of room, etc.

Breakfast was quick continental each morning and great lunches were provided and consumed. Dinners were great. From halibut and cream sauce to country fried steak it was all good. Especially, the beer battered halibut and sweet potato fries.

Room Tip: Central location for all activities. We rented a truck and were able to get to all activities in les...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lovetofish048
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2011

We loved our entire experience. Crooked Creek Lodge is beautiful with an amazing attention to detail of decor . You will find "Aunt" Dorothy to be an incredibly smart hostess (please know she is an ex Judge!!) and can arrange anything you want to do with all of her great contacts in the Kenai. Russell Fishing, with Dustin as the skiipper , took us to great Halibut fishing. I'm a wimp and yet released 12 Halibut looking for larger fish!! EZ Limit helped us limit out on King Salmon in the Kasilof River..... what an amazing fishing experience. My husband, who has been fishing for over 40 years, commented on the professionalism of the guides on both the Kasilof and Cook Inlet (fresh and salt water) . We shipped 100 lbs. of fish back to the states and thus far our meals have been out of this world. When we left we felt we had new members of our family and will definitely be back to experience more that Crooked Creek Resort has to offer.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CampingEnthusiast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2011

Terrific place to stay. The rooms, the view and the people make it a comfortable place to relax after a day of fishing. Dustin, our guide, has put me on fish every time I have been with him. If there is a better place to stay on that side of the Kenai I'd like to know.

Room Tip: Not a bad room in the house, you will enjoy!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DanJackso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kasilof
21.6 mi away
Kenai River Lodge
Kenai River Lodge
#4 of 8 in Soldotna
83 reviews
21.5 mi away
Alaska Fishing Lodge - Soldotna Bed and Breakfast Lodge
18.6 mi away
Salmon Catcher Lodge
Salmon Catcher Lodge
#4 of 18 in Kenai
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
33.4 mi away
Ocean Bluff Bed and Breakfast
34.5 mi away
Gallery Lodge
Gallery Lodge
#4 of 5 in Kasilof
28 reviews
23.0 mi away
Alaska SeaScape Lodge
Alaska SeaScape Lodge
#5 of 18 in Kenai
15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crooked Creek Retreat & Outfitters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crooked Creek Retreat & Outfitters

Address: 59325 Sterling Hwy, PO Box 1190, Kasilof, AK 99610-9627
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alaska > Kasilof
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Kasilof
Price Range: $150 - $310 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our fishing lodge is full service, from your room to your fishing experience, we are a complete outfitter. We have earned a Cabela's Outdoor Adventure Lodge and Sportsman's News Platinum Outfitter designation. The lodge is on Crooked Creek far away from the other lodges in town, yet conveniently located for Salt Water and River fishing. King Salmon spawn in the creek and you can fish it after July 31st for trout, Silvers and in the late fall for Steelhead or you can watch Eagles catch Steelhead and trow them up on the bank. Service is our goal. Our staff guest ratio is 1 to 2. Everything is designed to make your Alaska trip one you will remember. During fishing season we offer all inclusive packages, 6 or 5 nights, with fishing adventures everyday, all meals, all fully guided trips, all gear, fish processing, fishing licenses and king stamps, short boots, hip boots, and rain gear. We have our own boats, we have only the best guides, all are fully licensed and ready to take you out on the Kasilof, Kenai, Ninlchik, Deep Creek, the Anchor and local lakes for Salmon, Trout. Steelhead, Arctic Char and Grayling. Your fishing trips include a Halibut trip on the Cook Inlet, a Fly Out across the Cook Inlet to the Alaska Peninsula, plus you will enjoy drift boat fishing on the Kasilof, power boats on the Kenai, or walk in for some great trout and Steelhead fishing. We also provide adventure packages that offer fjord cruises, kayaks, bear viewing that can be combined with fishing adventures. Guests enjoy meals with other guests and guides, hanging out at the fire pit, swinging in hammocks, relaxing in the hot tub, sight seeing, or watching wildlife from the decks. All rooms have private baths, spa robes, first class linens, and are fully appointed. You have available 24/7 cold beverages on the kitchen deck and in the breakfast loft there are snacks, coffee, teas, hot chocolate, and juice in the fridge. If you would like your fish cooked for you just ask, we will put it on the grill for an afternoon snack, or for dinner. All guests meet with the chef to discus and food preferences. The chef makes all of our bread, pastries, and all of our lunch meats are cooked in house, you will have options for fresh salmon, Halibut, and other Alaska seafood, as well as Prime Rib some great barbecue, and of course hot breakfast every morning. Of course you have available throughout the lodge Wifi, the great room has Sat TV, two of the rooms have kitchens and TV. There is always the Library loft for some great views or quiet relaxing with a book. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Crooked Creek Retreat & Outfitters Kasilof, Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing